invalid protocol - you've forgotten to select a dsm plugin

Should you have problems with the DSM plugin, here's the place to look for help or report issues.

invalid protocol - you've forgotten to select a dsm plugin

Postby dlpcpa » 2008-11-05 18:35

I successfully installed and established a connection using Ultra VNC on another user's machine that uses XP. He and I are both trying to connect to the same 3rd machine at another location. I have Vista. I downloaded 1.0.05 but I get the same error message every time. Connection failed - invalid protocol. You've forgotten to select a dsm plugin and their server uses a dsm plugin.

I have the DSM plugin in the right directory as well as rc4.key. I don't know if it's a port issue (I don't know how to fix this) or it's vista or what. Please help. I have burned so much time trying to figure out the problem, including time on phone with 3 different network people.

Donya Powell, CPA
dlpcpa
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2008-11-05 18:14

Re: invalid protocol - you've forgotten to select a dsm plug

Postby redge » 2008-11-05 22:14

UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: invalid protocol - you've forgotten to select a dsm plug

Postby daasuncion » 2009-01-07 23:17

Redge
Followed the above steps and still got the same error. My connection works as long as the DSM Plugin is not selected. As soon as I select this, I get the above error message.

OS: Server XPHome SP2 Viewer:XP Pro SP2
UVNC 1.0.5
rc4.key synch'd between server and viewer
connection: LAN
daasuncion
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2008-12-31 03:39

Re: invalid protocol - you've forgotten to select a dsm plug

Postby redge » 2009-01-08 00:24

is ultra vncviewer or and ultravnc server have read/write access ?

this required read/write access for dsmplugin,
I don't know is a bug or not.
Last edited by redge on 2009-01-08 00:24, edited 1 time in total.
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: invalid protocol - you've forgotten to select a dsm plug

Postby daasuncion » 2009-01-08 02:03

Not sure if of your question...
If you mean the viewer and/or server is initiated by a user that has read/write access, then the answer is Yes - it is initiated by a user that has Administrator access...
daasuncion
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2008-12-31 03:39

Re: invalid protocol - you've forgotten to select a dsm plug

Postby redge » 2009-01-10 13:18

daasuncion wrote:If you mean the viewer and/or server is initiated by a user that has read/write access, then the answer is Yes - it is initiated by a user that has Administrator access...

sorry, don't know where is your bottleneck.

how do you start your vncviewer ?
screen capture ?
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva


Return to DSM plugin

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests