SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Should you have problems with the DSM plugin, here's the place to look for help or report issues.

Re: SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Postby mfessler » 2012-08-31 15:45

Thank you Rudi, you helped me a lot!

I take this chance for a last short off topic question: :wink:
Are there any option to limit the login attempts?
Like "10 attempts and then lock the server for x minutes" or something else...

Thank you,
greetings

Martin
mfessler
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2012-08-30 19:17

Re: SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2012-08-31 21:14

Thats already in it.
After 4 times lock for 10 seconds then lock for 10 after each try.
Thuis limit brute forde attack to 1 per 10 second...
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5283
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Postby mfessler » 2012-09-04 11:28

Rudi De Vos wrote:Thats already in it.
After 4 times lock for 10 seconds then lock for 10 after each try.
Thuis limit brute forde attack to 1 per 10 second...

Yes but only when i dont use the SecureVNC Plugin.
With the Plugin i can infinite (?) try to login and only one attempt will be logged in the windows event log.
mfessler
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2012-08-30 19:17

Re: SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2012-09-04 11:50

Added to todo list.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5283
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Postby mfessler » 2012-09-04 12:20

Rudi De Vos wrote:Added to todo list.

:what?: ^^ 8)

Thanks!
mfessler
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2012-08-30 19:17

Re: SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Postby lwc » 2012-12-08 15:16

uVNC v1.1.8.0 is out and it already contains SecureVNCPlugin.dsm. But it's 412,920 bytes while the official site's version is 404,992 bytes. Both of them are supposedly v2.3.

So what's going on? BTW, the plugin's official site is currently down.
lwc
20
20
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 2006-08-08 11:00

Re: SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2012-12-12 13:00

Plugin was recompiled with another compiler.
Size depend on the compiler options and the way openssl libs were compiled.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5283
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Postby eliv » 2012-12-23 17:13

On Win7x64 I installed UltraVNC-x64-1.1.8.0 and put SecureVNCplugin-x64-2.3 to the folder of the program. And it does not work properly. Yes, it allows to generate server and client keys, and it seems, encryption works. But I want to make UltraVNC to not ask any passwords at all, and I do not know how. In the SecureVNCplugin configuration menu all items are gray (disabled), and it is impossible to choose any "Enabled ciphers", any "Enabled key lengths", "RSA", "Passphrase" etc. Only buttons for key generation, website, and closing are active. What should I do to make other options available? Thank you!
eliv
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2012-12-23 15:27

Re: SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Postby djh3ll » 2013-03-12 08:09

Hello guys,
im new to the forum.

I started using UltraVNC on my computers in this configuration:

UltraVNC 1.1.8.4 x64
(as server, not installed, just copied)
Windows 7 x64 SP1
(started as current user with/or without admin rights (UAC is off) as "C:\Program Files (x86)\UltraVNC\winvnc.exe" -ID:002004 -autoreconnect -connect repeater.company.com:5500 -run")
SecureVNCPlugin.dsm v2.3 x64bit , server key included

UltraVNC 1.1.8.4 x64
(as viewer)
Repeater standard 2010 (configure as service on Windows 2008 R2 x64, with ModeI )
SecureVNCPlugin.dsm v2.3 x64bit, client key included

Problem is, i have this server on 5 notebooks, on 3 its working as excepted, but on other 2 it will crash immediately after winvnc start.

This is error from log:
Code: Select all
Faulting application: winvnc.exe, verze: 1.1.8.0, časové razítko: 0x51101d0d
Name of faulting module: SecureVNCPlugin64.dsm_unloaded, verze: 0.0.0.0, časové razítko: 0x4cd79d19
Error code: 0xc0000005
Posun chyby: 0x000007feed7f1a5b
ID chybujícího procesu: 0x151c
Čas spuštění chybující aplikace: 0x01ce1ef2fa403ff7
Cesta k chybující aplikaci: C:\Program Files (x86)\UltraVNC\winvnc.exe
Cesta k chybujícímu modulu: SecureVNCPlugin64.dsm
ID zprávy: 432abc26-8ae6-11e2-a655-005056c00008


This is my winvnc.ini on servers:
Code: Select all
[ultravnc]
passwd=pass
passwd2=pass
[admin]
UseRegistry=0
MSLogonRequired=0
NewMSLogon=0
DebugMode=0
Avilog=0
path=C:\UltraVNC
kickrdp=0
service_commandline=
DebugLevel=8
DisableTrayIcon=1
LoopbackOnly=0
UseDSMPlugin=1
AllowLoopback=0
AuthRequired=1
ConnectPriority=0
DSMPlugin=SecureVNCPlugin64.dsm
AuthHosts=
AllowShutdown=1
AllowProperties=0
AllowEditClients=0
FileTransferEnabled=0
FTUserImpersonation=1
BlankMonitorEnabled=0
BlankInputsOnly=0
DefaultScale=1
CaptureAlphaBlending=0
BlackAlphaBlending=0
SocketConnect=1
HTTPConnect=0
XDMCPConnect=1
AutoPortSelect=1
PortNumber=0
HTTPPortNumber=0
IdleTimeout=0
RemoveWallpaper=0
RemoveAero=0
QuerySetting=0
QueryTimeout=0
QueryAccept=0
QueryIfNoLogon=0
primary=1
secondary=0
InputsEnabled=1
LockSetting=0
LocalInputsDisabled=0
EnableJapInput=0
FileTransferTimeout=30
[poll]
TurboMode=0
PollUnderCursor=1
PollForeground=1
PollFullScreen=1
OnlyPollConsole=0
OnlyPollOnEvent=0
EnableDriver=0
EnableHook=0
EnableVirtual=0
SingleWindow=0
SingleWindowName=



Anyone can help me please ?

Thanks,
Regards, John
djh3ll
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:54

Re: SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2013-03-12 11:02

C:\Program Files (x86)\UltraVNC\winvnc.exe --> 32bit
SecureVNCPlugin64.dsm --> 64bit
You are loading a 64bit dll by a 32bit application
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5283
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Postby djh3ll » 2013-03-12 12:14

Its just path where it is copied and started.. it means windows will automatically load 64 libraries ?

What if i should copied it to C:\UltraVNC ?
djh3ll
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:54

Re: SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2013-03-12 12:33

winvnc.exe ( 64bit version) This normal install in C:\Program Files\ and use the SecureVNCPlugin64.dsm
winvnc.exe (32bit version) This normal install in C:\Program Files (x86)\ and use the SecureVNCPlugin.dsm
What does the about tell, 32 or 64bit.

It doesn't matter where you copy it, you need to use the correct plugin.
If you want to use it as service it need to be in a secure folder ( program files..)
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5283
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Postby djh3ll » 2013-03-12 12:38

But i am using 64bit winvnc.exe and 64bit DSM plugin ... as i said in first post.
djh3ll
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:54

Re: SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2013-03-12 12:50

So you manual copied the winvnc.exe x64 in the x86 folder? This is confusing.
Please verify if the winvnc.exe about is indeed telling X64. ( or via file properties)

If both are indeed x64, does it also crash without the dsm ?
Download 1.1.8.4, and check if this fix things.

Does al your notebooks have the same OS ?
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5283
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Postby djh3ll » 2013-03-12 13:28

Yes, its 64bit (in file properties is VNC server for X64).
I put it in (x86) by mistake :)

All notebooks have same os, same SP, same hotfixes (controlled by domain).

I will try to copy there 32 bit version with 32bit version of DSM, and ill see.
djh3ll
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:54

Re: SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2013-03-12 14:58

Also try 1.1.8.4 ( latest download), there were some bugs in the first 1.1.8.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5283
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Postby djh3ll » 2013-03-13 12:16

Rudi De Vos wrote:Also try 1.1.8.4 ( latest download), there were some bugs in the first 1.1.8.


Rudi, i have 1.1.8.4 already. x64 is crashing in 60% of all cases..

I tried 32bit version and no crash yet ! :thumbs:
djh3ll
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:54

Re: SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2013-03-13 14:50

What the size of the x64dsm plugin you are using.
There are different versions, depending on the compiler that 's used to create it.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5283
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Postby djh3ll » 2013-03-15 13:58

500kB
djh3ll
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:54

Re: SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Postby R(i)SK » 2013-04-01 14:31

Just a quick question: I noticed by accident that the SecureVNC plugin on an Win 8 uvnc installation identifies itself as version 2.4.0.0. while an installation on a win 7 machine identifies as V.2.3.0.0. (both with uvnc 1.1.8.8).

Is that correct and why can't I install v.2.4.0.0 on win 7? Any win 8 specific changes or something like that?
R(i)SK
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2012-07-21 11:47

Re: SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Postby lwc » 2013-04-25 11:27

I also have a question - why does SecureVNCPlugin.dsm from uVNC's "addons setup package" 412,920 bytes while the official version (the one which has its own site) is 404,992 bytes?
Both of them state they're v2.3.
lwc
20
20
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 2006-08-08 11:00

Re: SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2013-04-25 17:56

Different compiler or compiler option.
Signing a file also add some extra bits.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5283
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Postby lwc » 2013-04-25 21:32

So which of them should be used?
lwc
20
20
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 2006-08-08 11:00

Re: SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Postby Girith » 2013-06-11 14:36

Hello,

It seems http://adamwalling.com/SecureVNC/ is unavailable. Where can I get the plugin?
Girith
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2013-06-11 13:57

Re: SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2013-06-11 14:48

The plugins are also in the addons you can download.
http://www.uvnc.com/downloads/ultravnc/ ... -1190.html
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5283
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Postby Girith » 2013-06-12 07:23

thanks

maybe the site admin should consider changing the download link on this page:
http://www.uvnc.com/downloads/encryptio ... ugins.html
Girith
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2013-06-11 13:57

Plugin crashing on Windows XP because ising FlsAlloc set of

Postby lgbb » 2013-09-28 13:15

Hello,

The SecureVNC plugin is crashing on Windows XP, because it depends of FlsAlloc API set from Kernel32.dll that is not supported on Windows XP, only in Windows Server 2003.
There is a chance to this dependecies get removed in a new version? I ask this because in the plugin web page, it says that plugin supports the Windows XP.

Thank you!
lgbb
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2013-09-28 13:09

Re: SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2013-09-30 15:33

The addon contain several dsm plugins and install the correct for your OS.
The win8 version doesn't work on XP as it is compiled with VS2012 with doesn't support XP.

Did you copied the plugin from a win8 OS ?
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5283
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Postby lgbb » 2013-09-30 17:23

Hum, so this is the problem. I will try and as soon as I get the results I'll post them here.
Thank you!
lgbb
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2013-09-28 13:09

Re: SecureVNC Plugin - AES, RSA, and more, for x86 and x64!

Postby White-Gandalf » 2013-10-28 05:54

The passphrase for the Plugin seems to be restricted to certain characters. A randomly free password generation (for example by password maker) is not usable. Certain special chars however work. Maybe there could be a hint included into the documentation about the permitted charset.

The exact charset permitted respectively not permitted is still unknown to me.
The error message in the case of characters out of range of the permitted charset is misleading:

server closed connection
- The server running as application

I spent two debugging session on the matter, what in the world the thing could be, which makes the server think it being run in application mode (what is simply nonsense). In the end it was the passphrase being correct but nonetheless obviously unreconizable.

To my surprise, when i do enter the passphrase in a DIFFERENT window, the copy and paste it into the login window of the viewer, the exact same passphrase that seconds before lead to the message...

server closed connection
- The server running as application

...does correctly establish the connection.
As soon as i try to enter the passphrase in the login dialog directly, the message is again that written above.

Thus, it seems that the login dialog prevents the input of some special characters.
White-Gandalf
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2013-10-28 05:12

PreviousNext

Return to DSM plugin

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron