connection failure invalid protocol..how to troubleshoot

Should you have problems with the DSM plugin, here's the place to look for help or report issues.

connection failure invalid protocol..how to troubleshoot

Postby stefaaxo@hotmail.com » 2010-12-03 02:04

connection failure invalid protocol
is there a way to troubleshoot / debug the problem ?

i tried several things with no success
i need to connect to a vnc server with my vnc viewer
i can from one computer but not from another.
I suspect there is something to do with Windows and all the fix applied.
- Windows Xp 3.02 SP3 does NOT work
- Windows Xp 2.17 S3 works

to be sure i used the same ultraVnc viewer on both machines from the 1.0.2 installable
UltraVNC-102-Setup.exe
and make sure that they used the same settings and MSRC4Plugin.dsm

i can shutdown the firewall and the problem is still there.

thank you
Stefania
stefaaxo@hotmail.com
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2010-12-03 01:47

Re: connection failure invalid protocol..how to troubleshoot

Postby redge » 2010-12-03 15:11

you use very old uvnc 1.0.2
is highly recommanded to switch to uvnc 1.0.9.5 with SecureVNC

don't loose time with uvnc 1.0.2, full uninstall uvnc 1.0.2, after reboot, delete folder ultravnc and clean the registry with VNCClean.exe
VncClean.exe
---------------------
Run this program if you have not used the VncBakup.exe program and can no longer connect to an UltraVNC server that has been working properly but now does not respond to incoming connections. This program will clean the UltraVNC registry keys by shutting down the UltraVNC service and removing all of the UltraVNC registry settings and then reinstalling the original default UltraVNC settings.
http://www.advantig.com/software/index. ... _utilities

then
you can install uvnc 1.0.9.5
http://www.uvnc.com:8080/downloads/ultr ... -1095.html
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: connection failure invalid protocol..how to troubleshoot

Postby stefaaxo@hotmail.com » 2010-12-07 15:57

thank you for your help
i installed the new ultravnc....
i can connect to a linux machine that does not require the encryption but i can not connect to the other windows machine where the plugin is required....those machine uses the MSRC4Plugin.dsm and they have an older version of ultravnc one is 1.2 one is 1.8
the message i get from them is that the plugin is wrong.
Maybe i am doing something wrong with the plugin
was i supposed just to copy the plugin into the ultravnc install directory ?
stefaaxo@hotmail.com
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2010-12-03 01:47

Re: connection failure invalid protocol..how to troubleshoot

Postby redge » 2010-12-07 16:13

yes, can copy old msrc4plugin.dsm same version of your remote
http://home.comcast.net/~msrc4plugin/
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: connection failure invalid protocol..how to troubleshoot

Postby stefaaxo@hotmail.com » 2010-12-08 17:10

i copied the same plug in but i keep having the same error of wrong plugin or wrong password
I run this time the viewed with the testviewer.bat that was in the
MSRC4Plugin122.zip file and i saw a log file in the ultraVNC directory about it vncviewer.log.
I just changed machine name/ip address


Started and Winsock (v 2) initialised
bufsize expanded to 4352
Registered connection with app
Connected to 123.123.123.123 port 5900
DSMPlugin enabled
WndProchwnd ChangeClipboardChain hwnd 0x00020d0e / m_hwndcn 0x00020d0e, 0x00000000 (0)
Deregistered connection from app
Exiting
VNC viewer closing down
stefaaxo@hotmail.com
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2010-12-03 01:47

Re: connection failure invalid protocol..how to troubleshoot

Postby stefaaxo@hotmail.com » 2010-12-08 18:19

thanks all
i was missing the key file that was on the machine i was trying to connect.
once i copied the rc4.key that was on the server machine ( i already had its MSRC4Plugin.dsm) ...it worked...i cna finally connect ot it
stefaaxo@hotmail.com
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2010-12-03 01:47


Return to DSM plugin

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron