DSMPlugin cannot be configured

Should you have problems with the DSM plugin, here's the place to look for help or report issues.

DSMPlugin cannot be configured

Postby sfatula » 2004-09-07 18:43

I HAD a UltraVNC server/client that used to work. Now it does not. I did not change any configuration settings in UltraVNC. Something else must have changed, perhaps a MS patch, who knows.

Anyway, when running the client, and connecting via a vnc configuration file that always worked, I now get a message:

DSMPlugin cannot be configured.

So, I can no longer connect to the server machine, which runs Windows XP Home Edition.

I do not see any log files on either machine.

What can I do to troubleshoot this problem?
sfatula
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2004-09-07 18:36
Location: Melissa, TX

Postby aldogg254 » 2004-10-01 17:16

I have the exact same problem... even after uninstalling and reinstalling it doesn't go away.. I also think it has something to do with the MSLogin changes.

I got that error message on one of my windows login names, and on the other name it would work fine. I changed the password of the other name and vnc viewer started giving me the message on both usernames.

I've gone to the extent of recording all of the changes UltraVNC installer makes to my ocmputer, undoing them, and i still get the error message.

I wish someone knew how to get rid of this.
aldogg254
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2004-08-02 14:55

Postby sfatula » 2004-10-01 18:08

I never did find any way around the issue, just can't run DSM pliugin, have to run without it, unless and until someone finds a way to debug it.
sfatula
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2004-09-07 18:36
Location: Melissa, TX

Postby aldogg254 » 2004-10-04 18:36

I wish someone would be able to fix this. I've spent hours and hours trying to figure out the source of the problem. I recently noticed that my DSM Plugin binary value in my registry was different from another computer's. That computer's vnc viewer worked, so i took the binary value and used it to replace my binary value in mutiple places of my registry. It didn't do anything.

I created a new user on the same computer and the vnc viewer actually worked! I logged off the new user, back onto the old, and "switched" to the new user. VNC viewer then did not work.

It's really ridiculous, this error.

I even tried to look at the code and I couldn't figure out anything.
aldogg254
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2004-08-02 14:55

Postby Sergio » 2004-10-04 18:46

Take a look ... topic #614

Maybe the troubled user hasn't modify rights to the DSMPlugin's registry entries...
Sergio
40
40
 
Posts: 103
Joined: 2004-05-22 20:02

Postby sfatula » 2004-10-04 19:01

At least for my machine, permissions for the registry entry are for full control for all administrators, which the user is (me). My user is also the current owner of this item.
sfatula
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2004-09-07 18:36
Location: Melissa, TX

Postby aldogg254 » 2004-10-04 21:02

the troubled user on my computer is an administrator who installed the program.. so it should have all the registry access it needs. I think i found a temporary workaround though.

I created another administrator user with no password, logged into that user, and ultravnc worked (i'm using RC11). While logged in with that user, I passworded the user, tested VNC (still worked), logged out, and logged back in and tested UltraVNC (still worked).

So now I'm pretty positive I have this user that will always work with UltraVNC. This is different from the last time I created a new user because last time I changed the new user's password from my original user.

Everything seems to point to some value in regedit that makings this error occur.
aldogg254
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2004-08-02 14:55

Postby sfatula » 2004-10-04 21:12

Your tests sure lead one to believe that. Of course, logging into a new user while it may work, isn't worth it, too much hassle. I use my machine 16 hours a day, and, can;t be logging off and on all the time.

The user I am using is a domain user on a company network. I run offline through much of the day, still, that user is an admin of my local machine.
sfatula
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2004-09-07 18:36
Location: Melissa, TX

Postby byteboon » 2004-10-04 22:54

(Information provided for use at your own risk!)

The DSMPlugin uses the MS CryptoAPI which stores generated key information locally on the machine. I have found situations where this information becomes corrupted and needs to be deleted so the plugin will regenerate it.

I have used this free tool to find and delete the crypto info (requires .NET): http://www.jensign.com/JavaScience/dotnet/keypal/

The DSMPlugin binary registry entry is a fixed length string in which a path is stored. It usually contains extra unused garbage at the end, so it will generally be different on most machines.

Hope this helps!
<b>Jeremy Cross</b>
Developer
Network<i>Streaming</i>
http://www.networkstreaming.com
byteboon
20
20
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 2004-08-10 23:57
Location: Canada

Postby aldogg254 » 2004-10-06 15:03

byteboon.. you're beautiful.. finally, a solution to this annoying problem... thank you very much.. you saved me tons of time.

Everyone who has this problem: you should definitely download Keypal from http://www.jensign.com/JavaScience/dotnet/keypal/

Run the program and it will show you a list of your key containers. For me it showed:
[0] dellsupport
[1] MSRC4Plugin
Error: (something here)
[2] J2SE

All you have to do is delete the second key container with the command: "DEL 1"

type "R" to refresh the key containers to see only 2 left.
aldogg254
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2004-08-02 14:55

128bit encryption

Postby fries » 2004-10-14 13:36

I have solved this problem by installing 128bit encryption from MS here: http://www.microsoft.com/windows2000/do ... encryption
fries
 

Postby elbiatcho1 » 2004-11-15 06:59

Ahh thanks byteboon! This finally fixed the problem that I had since 5-15-04.
elbiatcho1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2004-05-15 21:38

registry settings, etc

Postby PogiFitz » 2004-12-22 05:41

aldogg254 wrote:I've gone to the extent of recording all of the changes UltraVNC installer makes to my ocmputer...


Would you mind sharing this information? I think it could be useful to many people. Thanks!
PogiFitz
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2004-11-04 11:21

Postby Alejandro » 2005-01-04 01:11

I've found another simpler solution that doesn't involve installing anything:

You must go to this folder using cmd line:

C:\Documents and Settings\<userid>\Application Data\Microsoft\Crypto\RSA\<SID>

Inside you will find all the key containers that KeyPal lists.
To find out which is the plugin one so you can delete it, you can execute this command on that folder:

findstr /s /m MSRC4Plugin *_*

which searches for the string MSRC4Plugin inside the container files. It will give back the filename.
You can safely delete that file, once you connect again to a plugin enabled server that container file will be regenerated.

In fact, i've tested this method by opening the MSRC4Plugin container file with notepad and altering one char, then saving and trying to run the previously working VNC viewer with the plugin. Guess which error did i get?

"DSMPlugin cannot be configured" ;)

Hope it helps, surely the KeyPal hint did for me!
Alejandro
 

Postby bokeh » 2006-01-15 20:37

I have the same problem. I deleted the file as mentioned above but it just recreates itself when I try to connect and then I get the same error message. Does anyone have any other ideas? Is there something I need to delete from the registry. It used to work fine and then one day stopped.
bokeh
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2005-07-17 15:38

Postby redge » 2006-01-15 21:09

you need to replace the old one by new crypto (yyyymmdd 20051108 )
http://msrc4plugin.home.comcast.net/msrc4/Crypto.zip

source:
http://home.comcast.net/~msrc4plugin/index.html

related topic about this issue
win98 dsmplugin problems
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Postby bokeh » 2006-01-20 01:04

I still have the problem after reading that thread.
bokeh
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2005-07-17 15:38

Postby scovel » 2006-02-25 00:51

If you downloiad the crypto utility from the msrc4plugin website it has a way to delete and/or create the key store.

crypto.exe -r

crypto.exe -c

Sean
scovel
100
100
 
Posts: 307
Joined: 2004-07-12 11:56
Location: CT, USA

Postby w00dpecker » 2006-05-26 17:25

i've tried all of the above solutions, but still getting the Error reading Protocol Version.

this was all working without any problems, and then this error message, now nothing.

i've uninstalled, and re-installed, changed plugins, and used crypto to remove and create, tried using port 5900 instead of 5500, even installed rss, but still got the same error.

has anyone else got this problem resolved?
w00dpecker
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2006-05-26 17:14

Re: DSMPlugin cannot be configured

Postby redge » 2008-09-18 20:00

update link:
KeyPal: Key Container Utility
http://www.jensign.com/KeyPal/KeyPal.exe

thank you to user krunge for the new url :-)
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva


Return to DSM plugin

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron