Invalid protocol

Should you have problems with the MS logon plugin, here's the place to look for help or report issues.

Invalid protocol

Postby cyberman » 2006-10-12 05:18

when I connect VNC server thru local LAN it connects but when I tried to connect it thru port maping from same PC it failed to connect, giving the following error

- You've forgotten to select a DSMPlugin and the Server uses a DSMPlugin
- Viewer and Server are not compatible (they use different RFB protocoles)

same both type of connectiion works from other PC running same ver. of VNC viewer.
cyberman
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2006-10-12 04:57

Re: Invalid protocol

Postby bevtech » 2006-10-12 15:50

Did you have the chance to look at the FAQ??

Are you trying to use non routable ips on the internet??

local ips( Local Area Network LAN) of 192.168.x.x are not able to be used via the internet

you might need to setup a dynamic dns service..

or test via your wan ip address you can finding out what it is at
http://www.whatsmyip.org/

That is your (Wide Area Network WAN) address it is an ip that is used to communicate with the internet
Last edited by bevtech on 2006-10-12 15:53, edited 1 time in total.
Bevtech

Windows XP Home, Pro SP2, Windows 2003 SBS server SP2(EN), Windows Media Center Editon 2005,Windows Vista Home Prem.,Fedora Core 6,Win9X, PChelpware Rel 1.0,
UVNC V 1.0.8.2

User not developer..;)
bevtech
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2191
Joined: 2005-08-03 14:07
Location: Pennsylvania, United States

Re: Invalid protocol

Postby cyberman » 2006-10-13 08:50

no I didnt try to connect thru internet but thru my local LAN only by using port mapping on local LAN to test it wheather it works thru port mapping to be used later for connection from internet. but this same PC could connect to the same VNC server if connected directly without port mapping.
I have another pc on same LAN installed with same version of VNC viewer which connects both directly and thru port mapping without problem.
If I got an 'Invalid Protocol' message it does mean that VNCviewer did reach VNC server and got that message back from server.
cyberman
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2006-10-12 04:57


Return to MS logon plugin

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests