Connect to vnc server on other domain

Should you have problems with the MS logon plugin, here's the place to look for help or report issues.

Connect to vnc server on other domain

Postby Johnny_C » 2007-02-13 13:21

Hello,

I got a vnc server running on a domain and a client on another domain.
I just can't get the client connect to the server.

I checked the option "New MS Logon" in the admin options of the server

I can ping to the server and the other way round so the both pc's can see each other. I can also browse the shared files of both pc's on boths pc's after filled my login and pass.

Can somebody help me?

Thanx in advance,

Johhny

Moderated by bevtech at 2007-02-13 17:12:
Moved to Mslogon topic
Last edited by Johnny_C on 2007-02-13 17:12, edited 1 time in total.
Johnny_C
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2007-02-13 12:59

Re: Connect to vnc server on other domain

Postby Marscha » 2007-02-15 08:00

Not sure if this is an authentication problem or just an issue with connecting:
In the viewer, either specify the fully qualified name of the other computer, e.g. mycomp.mydomain.com, or use the IP address.
If you can connect but not authenticate, please prepend the domain to the username, e.g. MYDOMAIN\Username, when asked for username and password.
Marscha
Former moderator
Former moderator
 
Posts: 471
Joined: 2004-05-14 06:48

Re: Connect to vnc server on other domain

Postby Johnny_C » 2007-02-15 15:41

I tried the ip adress and after a few second I get the message "Failed to connect to server"
When I use the fully qualified name I get the "Failed to get serveradress" message.

I don't know if there is a trustrelationship between both domains, maybe that could be the problem. But I can use Windows Netmeeting without any problems though

thanx for the reply
Johnny_C
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2007-02-13 12:59

Re: Connect to vnc server on other domain

Postby Marscha » 2007-02-19 13:11

If you cannot connect via VNC to the IP address but can ping to the IP address, either the vnc server is not running or it is configured to be running on a different port.
Marscha
Former moderator
Former moderator
 
Posts: 471
Joined: 2004-05-14 06:48

Re: Connect to vnc server on other domain

Postby mattice06082 » 2007-03-10 02:39

Did you ever get this working? If not, you could try to use the How to Debug "Failed to Connect to Server".
mattice06082
Former moderator
Former moderator
 
Posts: 607
Joined: 2006-11-30 00:41
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: Connect to vnc server on other domain

Postby bevtech » 2007-03-10 02:43

you would also have to use the mslogon II option for cross domain connection. Are the domains trusted??
Bevtech

Windows XP Home, Pro SP2, Windows 2003 SBS server SP2(EN), Windows Media Center Editon 2005,Windows Vista Home Prem.,Fedora Core 6,Win9X, PChelpware Rel 1.0,
UVNC V 1.0.8.2

User not developer..;)
bevtech
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2191
Joined: 2005-08-03 14:07
Location: Pennsylvania, United States


Return to MS logon plugin

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests