Consistantly getting Incorrect Password from certain clients

Should you have problems with the MS logon plugin, here's the place to look for help or report issues.

Consistantly getting Incorrect Password from certain clients

Postby ben_simon » 2007-03-22 21:14

Hey All

Bear with me - this is a complicated one!!

I have a user (User A) who is trying to login to a machine (Client B), but constantly gets a message Invalid Password. User A then tries to connect to my machine, and it works fine. I can connect to Client B from both my notebook, and the machine User A is trying to connect from.

Both clients are running the same version of Ultra VNC. In the VNC log from Client B it says "Invalid Attempyt from Client 192.168.*.* using User A Account"

We currently are all machines in a SOE environment. VNC is set to use Domain authentication, and User A is in the correct group. If User A wasnt, they couldnt remote to my or any other machine.

I have had User A change their password to only contain upper and lower case, and a number. I have seen issues where it wont accept a users password if it contains characters

Both clients are running UltraVNC version 1.0.1

From what I can gather, we are using MS Logon 1 (only have Require MS Logon ticked)

Any ideas what could be causing this?

Thanks in advance!

Kind Regards,

Ben Simon
ben_simon
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2007-03-22 21:00
Location: Port Macquarie

Re: Consistantly getting Incorrect Password from certain cli

Postby Marscha » 2007-03-23 13:04

Maybe there are two accounts with the same name (User A), one in the domain, one on the machine (client B)?
I.e. Domain\User A and Computer\User A.
Marscha
Former moderator
Former moderator
 
Posts: 471
Joined: 2004-05-14 06:48

Re: Consistantly getting Incorrect Password from certain cli

Postby ben_simon » 2007-03-26 21:59

Hey Marscha,

Unfortunately our machines dont have local accounts apart from the standard local administrator. Corporate Policy prevents the local accounts!

This problem is happening for the user on several machines spread out across the company in different locations. i checked a couple of machines, and no user local accounts existed!

Its definately a tricky one!
ben_simon
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2007-03-22 21:00
Location: Port Macquarie

Re: Consistantly getting Incorrect Password from certain cli

Postby bevtech » 2007-03-27 00:23

I would try mslogon mode II
Bevtech

Windows XP Home, Pro SP2, Windows 2003 SBS server SP2(EN), Windows Media Center Editon 2005,Windows Vista Home Prem.,Fedora Core 6,Win9X, PChelpware Rel 1.0,
UVNC V 1.0.8.2

User not developer..;)
bevtech
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2191
Joined: 2005-08-03 14:07
Location: Pennsylvania, United States


Return to MS logon plugin

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest