disabling local password

Should you have problems with the MS logon plugin, here's the place to look for help or report issues.

disabling local password

Postby turbokitty » 2007-04-18 18:24

Is there any easy way to disable the internal authentication in VNC and only use MSlogonII ACL authentication?
turbokitty
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2007-04-18 18:17

Re: disabling local password

Postby bevtech » 2007-04-18 18:25

nope. The classical password has to be there as well if you are using mslogon
Bevtech

Windows XP Home, Pro SP2, Windows 2003 SBS server SP2(EN), Windows Media Center Editon 2005,Windows Vista Home Prem.,Fedora Core 6,Win9X, PChelpware Rel 1.0,
UVNC V 1.0.8.2

User not developer..;)
bevtech
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2191
Joined: 2005-08-03 14:07
Location: Pennsylvania, United States

Re: disabling local password

Postby turbokitty » 2007-04-19 15:18

That was incredible fast , thanks.

Follow-up question. Can I change the password on the *server* from the command-line? Does it require the service to be restarted?
turbokitty
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2007-04-18 18:17

Re: disabling local password

Postby turbokitty » 2007-04-19 17:09

turbokitty
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2007-04-18 18:17

Re: disabling local password

Postby turbokitty » 2007-04-19 20:44

Ugh, that VNCpwd is kind of ugly. It's not silent and doesn't seem to work that well.

What do you make of this?:
http://www.vncscan.com/UltraVNC/UltraVNCReg.htm

"MSLogonRequired : Setting this registry entry to 1 force to use of ms-logon and disable vnc passwd checking"
turbokitty
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2007-04-18 18:17

Re: disabling local password

Postby bevtech » 2007-04-19 23:29

you can try that reg setting if you wish. I just know the out of the box installation does not support it..:)
Bevtech

Windows XP Home, Pro SP2, Windows 2003 SBS server SP2(EN), Windows Media Center Editon 2005,Windows Vista Home Prem.,Fedora Core 6,Win9X, PChelpware Rel 1.0,
UVNC V 1.0.8.2

User not developer..;)
bevtech
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2191
Joined: 2005-08-03 14:07
Location: Pennsylvania, United States

Re: disabling local password

Postby Marscha » 2007-05-03 06:44

turbokitty,

If you use ms-logon, the VNC "classic" password will never be really used.
But there's a check when the VNC server starts if the password is set.
This check is performed always, even with ms-logon. (Seems to be for historical reasons)

So it should be sufficient to have anything set for the classic password.
Just make sure that HKLM\Software\ORL\WinVNC3\Default\Password is filled with something (REG_BINARY).
Marscha
Former moderator
Former moderator
 
Posts: 471
Joined: 2004-05-14 06:48


Return to MS logon plugin

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest