ultra vnc locks out AD account

Should you have problems with the MS logon plugin, here's the place to look for help or report issues.

ultra vnc locks out AD account

Postby wattsy » 2007-04-19 13:35

HI all

We created a AD group so only certain users can VNC into other pc's which works great BUT if we get our password wrong once it locks out our main AD account.

Has anyone else had this problem and does anyone know how we can stop this?

We have a 5 times and ya out password policy so VNC must hammer the account a few times to get through.

Thanks in advance

Wattsy

Moderated by bevtech at 2007-04-19 13:38:
Moved to the Mslogon topic
Last edited by wattsy on 2007-04-19 13:38, edited 2 times in total.
wattsy
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2007-04-19 13:06

Re: ultra vnc locks out AD account

Postby kastaldi » 2007-04-27 12:03

wattsy wrote:Has anyone else had this problem and does anyone know how we can stop this?


Me too. I use AD and UltraVNC locks out the account after just one try.
I don't know how to solve it... :(

Look at Thrown off domain at first wrong password attempt, maybe it can help you.
Last edited by kastaldi on 2007-04-27 12:07, edited 1 time in total.
kastaldi
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2004-07-07 14:51
Location: Italy

Re: ultra vnc locks out AD account

Postby wattsy » 2007-04-27 12:07

It seems that no one has any idea how to fix this.

Better make sure I type the password correctly everytime!
wattsy
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2007-04-19 13:06

Re: ultra vnc locks out AD account

Postby bevtech » 2007-04-27 15:33

I dont not think there is a fix for this issue. Just make for sure that you type the password correctly or else you will be unlocking the account. Think of it as an added security feature if they try the username with a wrong password then they can not get in the account locks..:)
Bevtech

Windows XP Home, Pro SP2, Windows 2003 SBS server SP2(EN), Windows Media Center Editon 2005,Windows Vista Home Prem.,Fedora Core 6,Win9X, PChelpware Rel 1.0,
UVNC V 1.0.8.2

User not developer..;)
bevtech
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2191
Joined: 2005-08-03 14:07
Location: Pennsylvania, United States

Re: ultra vnc locks out AD account

Postby kastaldi » 2007-04-28 00:30

wattsy wrote:It seems that no one has any idea how to fix this.

Better make sure I type the password correctly everytime!


Well, I found that I was using the "old" MSLogon so I told UltraVNC to use the "new" MSLogon. I feel so stupid... :P
kastaldi
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2004-07-07 14:51
Location: Italy

Re: ultra vnc locks out AD account

Postby bevtech » 2007-04-28 00:38

ok can the other users comfirm this as a solution??
Bevtech

Windows XP Home, Pro SP2, Windows 2003 SBS server SP2(EN), Windows Media Center Editon 2005,Windows Vista Home Prem.,Fedora Core 6,Win9X, PChelpware Rel 1.0,
UVNC V 1.0.8.2

User not developer..;)
bevtech
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2191
Joined: 2005-08-03 14:07
Location: Pennsylvania, United States

Re: ultra vnc locks out AD account

Postby immortalami » 2007-04-30 18:12

Well I have looked over every option and there seems to be no way to fix this. This is a little extreme......one login incorrect and your user account is locked out? I mean come on! Who around hasnt finger-fumbled a time or two?? Do the designers ever come in here to help with their own product?
immortalami
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2007-04-30 18:09

Re: ultra vnc locks out AD account

Postby bevtech » 2007-04-30 23:15

Tone it down a bit there immortalami,

There are very few designers and they do there best to assist users when they have time. They do not get paid for coding uvnc they do it to help others. I know you are frustrated but do not take it out in the forum please..:)
Bevtech

Windows XP Home, Pro SP2, Windows 2003 SBS server SP2(EN), Windows Media Center Editon 2005,Windows Vista Home Prem.,Fedora Core 6,Win9X, PChelpware Rel 1.0,
UVNC V 1.0.8.2

User not developer..;)
bevtech
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2191
Joined: 2005-08-03 14:07
Location: Pennsylvania, United States

Re: ultra vnc locks out AD account

Postby kastaldi » 2007-05-01 09:32

bevtech wrote:Tone it down a bit there immortalami,

There are very few designers and they do there best to assist users when they have time. They do not get paid for coding uvnc they do it to help others. I know you are frustrated but do not take it out in the forum please..:)


Yeah, it's a great truth. I would like to say "thank you" to them because is a wonderful piece of software and it saved me from a lot of hassle.
If you want something better, you should stick to paid software...
kastaldi
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2004-07-07 14:51
Location: Italy

Re: ultra vnc locks out AD account

Postby Marscha » 2007-05-03 07:00

With ms-logon II, you have just one Windows logon per VNC connection attempt.
In MS parlance, it's a network logon.
ms-logon I sometime uses several Windows logons, depending on the configuration.
Marscha
Former moderator
Former moderator
 
Posts: 471
Joined: 2004-05-14 06:48


Return to MS logon plugin

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests