Common mistakes with creator tool

Single Click discussions / bugs

Common mistakes with creator tool

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2009-01-17 14:33

1) File name need to be with a single (.) dot
aaaaaa.zip OK
aaa.bbb.zip NOT OK

2) The zip file need to contain the files and not the files in a subfolder

content test.zip OK
icon1.ico
logo.bmp
background.bmp
....

content test.zip NOT OK
test/icon1.ico
test/logo.bmp
...
Last edited by Rudi De Vos on 2009-02-11 15:47, edited 1 time in total.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5369
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Common mistakes with creator tool

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2009-02-11 15:47

Icons cause the resource editor to crash.
No exe generated.

The tool we use is
http://www.angusj.com/resourcehacker/

You can test your icons with this editor.
TO TEST
run reshacker
open winvnc.exe
replace icon
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5369
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Common mistakes with creator tool

Postby rousseau » 2009-08-23 17:08

I've tried what you are saying here.

I've customized the files, uploaded them, and it looks like it creates the .exe file, however I click on the file name.exe and cannot download it. When I click to download the file, it just redirects me to the site index page?

I'm not sure what's going on, but just to be sure it wasn't my Firefox browser on a Mac, I tried IE on Windows XP as well. No luck either way.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks



UPDATE: It's working when I do just the:
helpdesk.txt
logo.bmp
files.
Somehow it must be an issue with some other files in my zip folder.

I think it might be due to my icon (.ico) files are just bmp's that I changed the file type manually without using a software program to create the ico files. The funny thing is it appeared there was an exe file generated, but maybe per the post above it was not generated and this is why I was just seeing the index page show up, but not a download.

Anyway, thanks for the nice piece of software, I'm still getting familiar with it.

Thanks again.
Last edited by rousseau on 2009-08-23 19:03, edited 2 times in total.
rousseau
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2009-08-23 17:03

Re: Common mistakes with creator tool

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2009-08-23 19:02

The site has a redirect on error (download page)

If your exe is not created, you get redirected to this page because the exe doesn't exist.

First try without the icons, most errors are caused by using a format
that the resource can't use.


if you pm the name of the zip, i could take a deeper look.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5369
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Common mistakes with creator tool

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2009-08-23 19:11

From the last 25 uploaded zip files, 10 use subfolder

sample:
helpdeskxxx.zip
helpdesk/helpdesk.txt

SuporteKxxx.zip
supporte ke/ helpdesk.txt

This doesn't work, NO NO NO subfolder


exe is generated, but does not contain your files....
Last edited by Rudi De Vos on 2009-08-23 19:13, edited 2 times in total.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5369
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Common mistakes with creator tool

Postby stanm » 2009-12-11 15:07

Hi,
I'm trying to make the sc.zip, and use the following in my helpdeks.txt:

[SMALLGUI]

[TITLE]
Remote Support

[HOST]
Verbinden
-id 11223344 -connect [ipaddress]:5500 -noregistry

[TEXTTOP]
TEXTTOP

[TEXTMIDDLE]
Welkom

[TEXTBOTTOM]
bottom

[TEXTRTOP]


[TEXTRMIDDLE]


[TEXTRBOTTOM]


[BALLOON1TITLE]
Verbinding maken

[BALLOON1A]
Er wordt nu geprobeerd

[BALLOON1B]
een verbinding te maken

[BALLOON1C]
...een ogenblik geduld alstublieft...

[BALLOON2TITLE]
Verbonden

[BALLOON2A]
U bent u verbonden

[BALLOON2B]


[BALLOON2C]

[TEXTBUTTON]
Verbinden

[WEBPAGE]

[TEXTCLOSEBUTTON]
Annuleren

[ENTERCODE]
Voer het ID in:
[DIRECT]

The blue ball screen comes up and i enter an ID.
the taskbar icon shows with the balloons. After a while it dissapeared.
On the server (linux) I don't see the ID coming in.... ports 5900 and 5500 are open on the server.

When trying to connect with ultravnc viewer (using the proxy/repeater) I see the viewer (and it's ID) coming in...

Anyone?
stanm
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2009-12-11 11:12

Re: Common mistakes with creator tool

Postby redge » 2009-12-12 00:37

if you use id
sc connect to repeater with id in reverse mode.
vncviewer must direct connect to repeater with same id
vncviewer -listen in this case, is just for easy/quick access to vncviewer options/new connections from system tray (systray)
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: Common mistakes with creator tool

Postby stanm » 2009-12-15 06:28

Thanks for your response!

that's the intention. I want people to use the .exe tool then enter an id, so i can connect with the same id and connect.

I've setup a linux server to accept both connections. When I tail the logfile, i can see the viewer coming in, but the server isn't.

When connecting with uvnc (with the proxy on) I see the server in my logfile.

On the creator site, there are different upload forms. Which one should I use?
stanm
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2009-12-11 11:12

Re: Common mistakes with creator tool

Postby redge » 2009-12-15 21:39

if read.... is depend what you need.

UltraVncSC update 2009

+Vista+WIN7 support.
+use the MSRC4Plugin.dsm" security plugin
+The zip you upload can contain following files, other are ignored
rc4.key
helpdesk.txt
icon1.ico
icon2.ico
logo.bmp
background.bmp
enter.bmp
UAC: sc is running as user, this does NOT allow UAC access.
-UAC windows are view only. (you now stay connected in view only mode)
-When the UAC window ( not the popup, the one that has the elevated permission) is closed or minized, you get back full access.
Update 27/08/2009, the user is only asked once to give UAC permission ( add [DIS_AUC] )
helpdesk.txt
[DIS_UAC]



http://www.uvnc.com/pchelpware/sc/creator.html
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

.ico Files Created By Renaming/Saving As .bmp Won't Work!

Postby 108 » 2010-01-25 09:59

This needs to be included in the first few posts here:

Custom .ico files MUST be created with a proper Icon Editor tool for them to work in the compiler.

If you create a graphic in MS Paint, or other editor, and save it as .ico file, or rename a .bmp file as .ico, the file will not be recognized by the compiler and will be disregarded without notification. Your icon(s) will be included in the compilation, but they will not be 'used' by the executable.

Proper .ico files are not simple graphics files. They are actually a unique format which can only be created with specialized software designed for the .ico format.

Here are some Google results for Icon Editors: http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&source=hp&q=icon+editors

Here's a free one (which I have not tried myself): http://icofx.ro/
Last edited by 108 on 2010-02-05 00:32, edited 2 times in total.
108
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2010-01-21 12:06

Re: Common mistakes with creator tool

Postby gyurman » 2010-12-22 14:05

How can I download exe which is created from zip?
gyurman
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2010-07-10 19:36

Re: Common mistakes with creator tool

Postby lyndamichaels » 2011-08-11 17:56

can someone contact me in regards to setting up creator tool. have run into a few problems.

Many thx

Lynda
lyndamichaels
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2011-08-11 17:53

Re: Common mistakes with creator tool

Postby B » 2011-08-11 18:10

Lynda, since of course you're not just a spammer, please explain your "problems" here in this forum. You've left no contact information for yourself, and typically we try to analyze issues in public so that others may benefit...

But... I thought your name was Lana Mason? Recent name change?

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6212&p=87414
B
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: 2009-09-09 14:05

Re: Common mistakes with creator tool

Postby monobass » 2011-08-12 12:59

Special chars donesn't work too.. for example in french I try some words like "établis" and it doesn't work...

So no spécial chars or Non ASCII and no space no DOT .. ?
User avatar
monobass
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2011-08-12 12:52

Re: Common mistakes with creator tool

Postby nanook » 2011-08-14 18:10

Is there a way for me to test my key without distributing the exe file and having someone try it? Nothing is worse than having someone who needs help, implying that they aren't very PC savvy, have problems with what I give them.
Thanks
nanook
8
8
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2011-08-10 13:16

Re: Common mistakes with creator tool

Postby mudshark » 2011-09-03 19:22

A section of my helpdesk.txt file looks like this:
[HOST]
Remote support
-connect remotesupport.dyndnsname.net -noregistry

Does that last line above look OK?
It has no http:// and no port identified.
Thanks!
RichieG
mudshark
20
20
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 2007-09-15 23:55

Re: Common mistakes with creator tool

Postby B » 2011-09-06 13:28

No, VNC doesn't use http. Why would it have an http prefix?

I would guess it's using the default port (5500). So it looks OK, except for the missing ID number if you're using a repeater. There are some samples at viewtopic.php?t=10844
B
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: 2009-09-09 14:05

Re: Common mistakes with creator tool

Postby mudshark » 2011-09-07 23:04

When I run the complied remotesupportEXE file I get an error that reads:

WinVNC Usage
-connect remotesupport.dyndnsname.net -noregistry
RichieG
mudshark
20
20
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 2007-09-15 23:55

Re: Common mistakes with creator tool

Postby nanook » 2013-01-02 03:30

I've used SingleClick for years and had everything going well, UNTIL I went from XP to Win7. I installed Uvnc but took the 64bit version, only to find that by help request files would no longer work, as they were made for the 32bit server. So I uninstalled and put the 32bit version on by Win7 64bit machine. Now having problems getting any thing to work again.
If I could get some advise on getting going again, using the newest online compiler so I'll get the best performance with the increasing number of Win7 machine I work on, I'd be a happy man.
Can I use the same files I used to use with the older compilers? Same helpdesk.txt? I'm assuming I'll want to generate a new rc key but uncertain what to do now.
I fooled arounf for a bit with SC Prompt but found a lack of help there. One question with SC Prompt that I'd like to have answered is "do I even need to install UVNC or do I just run the winvnc.exe on my machine (viewer)?"
The 2011 compiler has no list of files to include, so assume that the list on the 2009 one above it would be what to include.
Help please.

I've spent more hours on this and still no progress, and afraid I may be getting further from success with trial and error. Downgraded my viewer to the version stated in first post of this thread. Downloaded the custon.zip from this thread. Modified the helpdesk.txt and added my ico and bmp files. Wanted to use the default rc.key on both as advised but get Connection failed - error reading protocol version with possible causes forgotten to select dsmplugin and the server uses dsmplugin (done that) viewer and server are not compatable (they use different RFB protocols), well, I used the ones advised in this thread, and finally, bad connection. Since i'm running this on the same machine as the viewer, hard not to think something might be wrong there, but how else to test?
I then tried using the other DSM plugin and new keys but the compiler says what files need to be included and others will be ignored, so that seems like an unlikely avenue. Someone has gotten past this or moved on to some other flavor of VNC. Please reply.
nanook
8
8
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2011-08-10 13:16

Re: Common mistakes with creator tool

Postby nanook » 2013-01-04 14:37

OK, seems this forum has really slowed down on new input so off I went looking for an alternative to SC. I did manage to get one variation of all of its files and settings to work when enlisting a patient tester via phone. I'd rather have had one of my attempts with encryption work but I'm going to take what I can get right now. Also, I had him test the built in feature in Avast! antivirus for Remote Assistance and it works very well, and operates much as the old Windows Remote Desktop did.
Thanks for giving us this tool, just too bad the support has gone away.
nanook
8
8
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2011-08-10 13:16

Re: Common mistakes with creator tool

Postby Bonji » 2013-01-04 20:03

Support hasn't gone away, but the offshoot products are definitely not the priority.

I've struggled at times to continue using uVNC all these years, but since price is such a driving factor for us, I've been able to get enough out of it that we have not had to turn to something else. At least commercial alternatives are getting more mature now as opposed to paying money for crapware years ago.
-Ben
Bonji
100
100
 
Posts: 325
Joined: 2008-05-13 14:54

Re: Common mistakes with creator tool

Postby nanook » 2013-01-05 16:10

Thanks for responding. I think that the main frustrations I read here are folks struggling with what may be simple settings, processes, or versions. Many writing here obviously have a much deeper understanding of VNC and want help to change what is available here (add a different encryption mechanism, or custom tailor a solution for handling unique situations). What some of us want is a simple device for controlling a remote machine. The compiler page is confusing enough to help a user like myself to know which I should use, and which I shouldn't with the version of uVNC viewer I have (or would use). I'd think it would be useful to include the files for a SC product in the download of uVNC. The compilers could be labeled for use by version and features. When I load uVNC I get prompted for all or just viewer, another prompt for a SC version would be the ultimate.
Like I said, I was able to get someone willing to sit on the phone at their computer and try my attempts one by one until we found one that worked. That one was without encryption and I'm very hesitant to try and correct that and have to start over with matching the key and encrypter versions and renaming files etc to get that working.
As a backup, the built-in Avast remote assist feature will work for most machines I help with as that is the AV of choice on all but one.
Thanks again for your response.
nanook
8
8
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2011-08-10 13:16

Re: Common mistakes with creator tool

Postby gandatech » 2014-10-10 14:06

is the online creation working? I have followed the suggestions in this post and from this page. When I put in the desired username and password and then choose the zip file to upload it just takes me to another page that asks for the zip file again and never seems to upload it.

http://support1.uvnc.com/cgi-bin/upload5.pl <-- this is the page I am taken to.

edit: I just tried with IE and it gives the following error -- Error - Will not upload! Could not validate Userid: *****" I have tried several names and passwords and I get the same error. Is there minimum password length or something?
gandatech
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2014-10-09 22:33

Re: Common mistakes with creator tool

Postby mwtech » 2015-02-11 13:41

http://support1.uvnc.com/cgi-bin/upload4.pl - not generate sc exe file
but http://support1.uvnc.com/cgi-bin/upload5.pl generate with some zip file
mwtech
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2015-02-11 13:37

Re: Common mistakes with creator tool

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2015-02-11 18:49

upload4 and upload5 have the same engine only decomperssor differ.
Please pm name of zip you used to verify


Seems some files are corrupt, checking
Disk has bad blocks
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5369
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Common mistakes with creator tool

Postby mwtech » 2015-02-11 19:39

I can't create pm on this forum
mwtech
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2015-02-11 13:37

Re: Common mistakes with creator tool

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2015-02-11 19:57

pm no more needed
webserver has bad diskblocks, rebooting with diskcheck
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5369
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Common mistakes with creator tool

Postby You4eea2 » 2015-08-14 19:53

Is the SC creation tool compiler still down? I am not having any luck with any file.
When I try to upload a zip file all I get is "file not selected"
I tried it will just the custom.zip I didn't modify any files, just zipped it up and tried to upload it and no joy.

Thanks
You4eea2
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2015-08-14 19:49

Re: Common mistakes with creator tool

Postby heat_z0ne » 2015-10-02 06:19

Unable to create SC online gives error

Unable to connect

Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at support1.uvnc.com.

The site could be temporarily unavailable or too busy. Try again in a few moments.
If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network connection.
If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure that Firefox is permitted to access the Web.
heat_z0ne
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2013-05-17 00:03

Re: Common mistakes with creator tool

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2015-10-02 11:26

Server is offline... hdd broken.
This is a dedicated hosted server, we need to wait until replaced and restored.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5369
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Next

Return to SC

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests