Can you compile SC without the SystemHook DLL selected.

Single Click discussions / bugs

Can you compile SC without the SystemHook DLL selected.

Postby kenray » 2010-03-24 17:49

Is it possible to do an on-line compile of single click without the SystemHook DLL option as default? When unchecked the SC works great with our custom app as well as all Windows versions. As a work around we have found that after the SC server connects to a viewer, we can remotely open the SC server properties from the tray and un-select the system hook. As long as we apply without OK the session has great response. If you select OK it goes back to the default.
kenray
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2010-03-18 14:12
Location: S. Indiana

Re: Can you compile SC without the SystemHook DLL selected.

Postby Scott817 » 2010-08-26 16:01

I also have this same issue. As soon as we uncheck that box we can view everything. Is there a config file or anything I can add to disable this option?

Thanks for any help or info
Scott817
8
8
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2005-07-05 22:42

Re: Can you compile SC without the SystemHook DLL selected.

Postby Scott817 » 2010-08-26 16:09

I made a install set without the dll even in it and still had the same issue until I unchecked the System Hook dll option on the remote pc.
Scott817
8
8
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2005-07-05 22:42

Re: Can you compile SC without the SystemHook DLL selected.

Postby Scott817 » 2010-08-31 15:51

Does anyone know a way to do this? Any help is greatly appreciated.
Scott817
8
8
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2005-07-05 22:42

Re: Can you compile SC without the SystemHook DLL selected.

Postby hulvi » 2010-10-18 14:16

kenray wrote:Is it possible to do an on-line compile of single click without the SystemHook DLL option as default?


Hi,
you can open sc.exe using 7-Zip and rename SCHook.dll
Unfortunetaly Vista and friends show "unknown issuer".

Or use "7-ZIP SFX Maker" to create the sc.exe yourself.

Does anyone know if there is a switch (like -disablehook) to disable SCHook.dll?

Thank you very much

Hulvi
hulvi
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2010-10-18 13:48

Re: Can you compile SC without the SystemHook DLL selected.

Postby Scott817 » 2011-05-26 18:40

Will there ever be a answer to this? ANy info is appreciated.
Scott817
8
8
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2005-07-05 22:42

Re: Can you compile SC without the SystemHook DLL selected.

Postby B » 2011-05-26 20:14

I would have thought it would work fine just be removing the DLL. At least in SCPrompt and ChunkVNC (which use the full version of UltraVNC) the software seems to gracefully ignore the absence of the hook and other optional DLLs... ?
B
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: 2009-09-09 14:05

Re: Can you compile SC without the SystemHook DLL selected.

Postby devils@crs247.co.uk » 2011-06-07 12:17

in your 'ultravnc.ini"

[poll]
EnableHook=0

0 off
1 on

i dunno if it helps

i assume - SCHook.dll
devils@crs247.co.uk
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2011-06-06 13:04

Re: Can you compile SC without the SystemHook DLL selected.

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2011-06-07 12:51

If the dll doesn't exist, it isn't used.
Does 7zip allow to delete the file from the sfx archieve ?
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5713
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Can you compile SC without the SystemHook DLL selected.

Postby smgerber » 2012-02-02 21:53

Does anyone know whether this issue has a solution. On Windows 7 I have found 3 programs so far where the viewer freezes unless the option to not use system hook is selected manually. (Firefox, Spybot 1.6, Windows DVD Maker)
smgerber
8
8
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 2012-01-29 19:39

Re: Can you compile SC without the SystemHook DLL selected.

Postby B » 2012-02-02 23:11

Ah looks as if you've found the right thread. As Rudi suggested, go ahead and try using 7-Zip to simply delete the DLL file from the EXE file (the one the SC creator makes) and see if it works.
B
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: 2009-09-09 14:05

Re: Can you compile SC without the SystemHook DLL selected.

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2012-02-02 23:55

Tested the schook.dll, seems that
AccessibleObjectFromEvent call ( This is a standard MS Accessiblity call)
cause the schook to hang when Firefox start .... crazy.
Seems only be the case when object is created.... removed position hint when object is created and no more hang.

online creator updated with new file... please test
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5713
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Can you compile SC without the SystemHook DLL selected.

Postby smgerber » 2012-02-03 16:52

Rudi, I just tested your new online creator against WIN7 Home Premium.

The Firefox issue where it freezes the viewer is now working. Congrats.

Unfortunately there are two "howevers".

1. Spybot 1.6.2 still exhibits the problem . Clearly Firefox is more important but this suggests there are one and possibly more programs that will defeat the fix you made. Sorry. (Note: This problem also occurs with SC running on XP. Don't recall whether it did before.)

2. I generated the test SC file using the [WALLPAPER] option. At immediate connect I saw the wallpaper but then it quickly turned to a black background. Any chance your change caused this? Probably well worth someone else testing this.

Thanks and good luck ... Sam
smgerber
8
8
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 2012-01-29 19:39

Re: Can you compile SC without the SystemHook DLL selected.

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2012-02-04 19:36

Only change is schook.dll, this doesn't have animpact on wallpaper and other.
Schook.dll just give hints about the screen changes..
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5713
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21


Return to SC

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron