Still stops updating, depending on the apps at front...

Single Click discussions / bugs

Still stops updating, depending on the apps at front...

Postby NoFastidies » 2010-11-28 19:11

Hello everyone :)

I'm still having here a very old issue with SC, I've tried every possible configuration to avoid it, without success.

My viewer stops updating, and I have to ask user at SC server to start it all over again. Seems that depending on the window that is at front this happens, because asking user to close IE or minimize, or just 'move things a little bit' screen update works again. When this happens, other functions works fine (like file transfer), which confirm that connection is ok.

I've reproduced this error on my LAN too. Just opens some applications and IE 8 browser tabs on server, and it will happen.

Many different systems, many versions tried. Latest SC that I've found is from a year and a half. Viewer, all possible settings and versions..

As a support professional that doesn't want another remote support solution, I would be *really* grateful for any news on this specific issue.

Cheers everyone! Image

Image
Last edited by NoFastidies on 2010-11-29 14:28, edited 4 times in total.
I was once one person, now I am another.
NoFastidies
20
20
 
Posts: 39
Joined: 2007-02-02 10:47
Location: Everywhere (sometimes in more than one place)

Re: Some windows at front still make it stops responding...

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2010-11-28 20:40

SC run as application.

With Vista and WIN7 if UAC is enabled, a window started with "elevated access" is view only. The OS block access to this window
from non service apps ( like sc).
If this elevated window has the focus, sc is view only, until the user minimize this window.

In SC update 2009 you can set an extra parameter

Update 27/08/2009, the user is only asked once to give UAC permission ( add [DIS_AUC] )
.

For admin users, uac is temp disabled to gain full access.
Last edited by Rudi De Vos on 2010-11-28 20:41, edited 1 time in total.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5713
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Some windows at front still make it stops responding...

Postby NoFastidies » 2010-11-28 21:16

thanks, I believe that this is not UAC related as all systems in question are 2003 and XP, clean, perfect setups.

eventually some vista/7, but the issue is the same, with/without UAC enabled.

SC session starts and then, depending on what kind of window is displayed, it stops updating screen, everything else works fine even clicks and filetransfers. Force screen update on toolbar doesn't work, ask user to move things a little bit works almost always as I remember.

Another issue is that if there's any connection instability, it just drops. Easy to reproduce, try to disconnect a cable, connection must be manually stablished again.

Thank you! :)
Last edited by NoFastidies on 2010-11-28 21:29, edited 1 time in total.
I was once one person, now I am another.
NoFastidies
20
20
 
Posts: 39
Joined: 2007-02-02 10:47
Location: Everywhere (sometimes in more than one place)

Re: Some windows at front still make it stops responding...

Postby redge » 2010-11-28 21:18

did you try to replace old winvnc.exe of SC by the standard winvnc.exe
This actually possible since 1.0.8.x and later
http://www.uvnc.com:8080/downloads/ultr ... -1095.html

add schook.dll to your self executable SC using offline single click creator
like chunckvnc, scprompt open source
chunckvnc 3.2 don't use schook (not open source)
there others SC freeware or shareware at vnc related product

crash and stop responding could happen if vncviewer use quick option=auto
(this mode default at reverse connection if there no command line for force another codec)
and still happen if you change the codec like tight, zrle connected

known issue with older version before 1.0.9.2, fixed the issue.
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: Some windows at front still make it stops responding...

Postby NoFastidies » 2010-11-28 21:37

hello again and thank you for the quick reply! :)

sometime in the past I've tried to replace winvnc.exe and it didn't helped, don't know about the dll. also executable must be as small as possible.

I'm not using auto config for display.

I've read *a lot* trying to set the most stable/fast possible setup for my work with SC, if anyone have suggestions on improving this command line please tell ;)
Last edited by NoFastidies on 2010-12-05 21:18, edited 2 times in total.
I was once one person, now I am another.
NoFastidies
20
20
 
Posts: 39
Joined: 2007-02-02 10:47
Location: Everywhere (sometimes in more than one place)

Re: Some windows at front still make it stops responding...

Postby NoFastidies » 2010-11-28 21:46

also, when trying the links of your reply, binary zip win32 wasn't available.

so, I've used the setup. seems that viewer has some improvements, directx (experimental), it is any better?

confirmed also that file transfer of folders still doesn't work (seems to compress files and transfer them, then file compressed file disappears from destination.

thank you again!
Last edited by NoFastidies on 2010-11-28 22:36, edited 2 times in total.
I was once one person, now I am another.
NoFastidies
20
20
 
Posts: 39
Joined: 2007-02-02 10:47
Location: Everywhere (sometimes in more than one place)

Re: Some windows at front still make it stops responding...

Postby redge » 2010-11-28 23:46

winvnc 1.0.9.5 is not available at this time as lite version for SingleClick
filetransfer, there no update at all, all bugs still there.

in my case full color over WAN
with preemptive update did slow performance
without preemptive update, is faster

Easy to reproduce, try to disconnect a cable, connection must be manually stablished again.


vncviewer
-autoreconnect (network break/unstable should be the real usage)
-reconnect (after User Account Control (UAC)/Switch user/Lock/Log off)
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: Some windows at front still make it stops responding...

Postby NoFastidies » 2010-11-29 00:10

ok, removed the preemptiveupdates option, testing... I'm using without colors, also using reconnect, autoreconnect and directx now...

Tried to build a new SC with that latest winvnc.exe, no success. It just closes without trying to connect. Command line checked, syntax seems to be right.

Viewer seems to be significantly better on 1.0.9.5 :)

So, I'll keep waiting for winvnc 1.0.9.5 'lite', SC build. This will be great! Image

Thank you all Image
I was once one person, now I am another.
NoFastidies
20
20
 
Posts: 39
Joined: 2007-02-02 10:47
Location: Everywhere (sometimes in more than one place)

Re: Still stops updating, depending on the apps at front...

Postby redge » 2010-12-01 00:53

winvnc.exe -connect YOURHOST:5500 -run
ultravnc.ini required

Re: Very Simple SC based on oryginal UVNC and WinRAR

do you have stable/faster/refresh remote support now ?
Last edited by redge on 2010-12-01 00:53, edited 1 time in total.
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: Still stops updating, depending on the apps at front...

Postby NoFastidies » 2010-12-01 01:58

I'll try, but I'll miss the SC exe, small footprint, speed, faster download... :(
I was once one person, now I am another.
NoFastidies
20
20
 
Posts: 39
Joined: 2007-02-02 10:47
Location: Everywhere (sometimes in more than one place)

Re: Still stops updating, depending on the apps at front...

Postby redge » 2010-12-01 02:02

I think you can wait a while for winvncsc 1.0.9.5 except use upx software reduce winvnc by yourself.

upx --ultra-brute -owinvncupx.exe winvnc.exe

size
1'737'200 bytes = genuine
793'072 bytes = upx exe compressed
Last edited by redge on 2010-12-01 02:38, edited 1 time in total.
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: Still stops updating, depending on the apps at front...

Postby NoFastidies » 2010-12-01 15:03

thank you again, redge :)

I've tried in the past with UPXGUI, but overall results are still much better with the SC. The smaller, the better.

But I'll give it a try again, and test that issue with screen updates that stops. Cheers Image
Last edited by NoFastidies on 2010-12-01 15:04, edited 1 time in total.
I was once one person, now I am another.
NoFastidies
20
20
 
Posts: 39
Joined: 2007-02-02 10:47
Location: Everywhere (sometimes in more than one place)

Re: Still stops updating, depending on the apps at front...

Postby NoFastidies » 2010-12-01 23:03

I've succesfully build and I'm testing it. Full winvnc.exe 1.0.9.5, RAR SFX has 860kb, more than 4 times the size of SC SFX.

File transfers works as expected, including work with folders;

Screen stopping updating doesn't happens anymore. But seems that when server color depth is below 32bit isn't possible to use -8greycolors, screen isn't displayed, as mentioned on http://www.uvnc.com:8080/docs/uvnc-view ... eters.html ("Note: Grey colors only work with 32 bits color screen resolution. 16 or 24 bits color resolutions just don't work with grey colors.");

Old SC automatically shows a mode with few colors instead; (Edit: sometimes the fallback to color mode seems to be automatic on the full winvnc);

Connection starts immediately, no more prompts (side effect of winvnc full, NOT SC, or some parameter);

Custom tray icon is preserved;

So far, I'm only really missing the small footprint and prompt before connection :)

I hope that these details help someone else too, developers included ;)

Image

Image
Last edited by NoFastidies on 2010-12-02 02:19, edited 7 times in total.
I was once one person, now I am another.
NoFastidies
20
20
 
Posts: 39
Joined: 2007-02-02 10:47
Location: Everywhere (sometimes in more than one place)

Re: Still stops updating, depending on the apps at front...

Postby redge » 2010-12-03 14:34

Connection starts immediately, no more prompts (side effect of winvnc full, NOT SC, or some parameter);


winvnc -connect hostname::5500 -sc_prompt -run
Last edited by redge on 2010-12-03 14:35, edited 1 time in total.
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: Still stops updating, depending on the apps at front...

Postby NoFastidies » 2010-12-03 20:20

I thank you again.

Could you please explain what -sc_exit does?
I was once one person, now I am another.
NoFastidies
20
20
 
Posts: 39
Joined: 2007-02-02 10:47
Location: Everywhere (sometimes in more than one place)

Re: Still stops updating, depending on the apps at front...

Postby redge » 2010-12-03 20:48

sc_exit it close SC as soon connection terminated.
without sc_exit, connection terminated, show menu of SC for connect.
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: Still stops updating, depending on the apps at front...

Postby suppman » 2010-12-16 17:24

Hi NoFastidies, can you please post the command line for WinRar solution? I have some problems with this solution:

1. Winvnc.exe is asking for a password. I set one, but I must enter it each time when someone wants to connect to me for support.

2. If support server is not available for some reason winvnc.exe do not indicate this and just stay running.

How do you solve these problems?
suppman
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2010-06-02 08:13

Re: Still stops updating, depending on the apps at front...

Postby redge » 2011-03-06 02:03

NoFastidies wrote:but I'll miss the SC exe, small footprint, speed, faster download...

good news
your wish is finally here

see topic
SC small exe Update 2011
SC small exe Update 2011
Last edited by redge on 2011-03-06 02:05, edited 1 time in total.
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: Still stops updating, depending on the apps at front...

Postby NoFastidies » 2011-06-22 15:49

does exist a ultravnc.ini parameter to completely disable right click on server tray? I don't want to disable just properties, clients or tray icon, but only right click on it.

where I can find an updated, complete list of ultravnc.ini parameters?

Image
Last edited by NoFastidies on 2011-06-22 16:45, edited 1 time in total.
I was once one person, now I am another.
NoFastidies
20
20
 
Posts: 39
Joined: 2007-02-02 10:47
Location: Everywhere (sometimes in more than one place)

Re: Still stops updating, depending on the apps at front...

Postby NoFastidies » 2011-06-22 16:08

hello everyone! :)

I've noticed that the latest winvnc.exe 1.0.9.6.1 doesn't allow me anymore to have 8greycolors mode, wich is really needed for performance issues. it always shows a mode that seems to be the 256 colors.

partial command line of viewer, that worked on latest 2010 version, was:
vncviewer.exe ... -noauto -8greycolors -encoding tight -compresslevel 9 -quality 0 -disablesponsor -shared

Image and Image
I was once one person, now I am another.
NoFastidies
20
20
 
Posts: 39
Joined: 2007-02-02 10:47
Location: Everywhere (sometimes in more than one place)


Return to SC

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests