Single Click Run as Administrator Windows 7

Single Click discussions / bugs

Single Click Run as Administrator Windows 7

Postby aferreirag » 2011-09-19 14:05

Hi,

There any way to prevent a file run "as administrator" request?

I add parameters [DIS_UAC] to my Helpdesk.txt, but still the EXE File request execute as administrator.

Regards,
Angel Ferreira.
aferreirag
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2011-09-17 18:51

Re: Single Click Run as Administrator Windows 7

Postby B » 2011-09-19 15:17

I believe the way it works is you have to accept at least one UAC elevation prompt, and then the DIS_UAC option eliminates multiple follow-up prompts.

But supercoe may have come up with a way around that; I forget. You could check out his ChunkVNC project.
B
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: 2009-09-09 14:05

Re: Single Click Run as Administrator Windows 7

Postby supercoe » 2011-09-19 18:00

You're right on B, in order to disable UAC you must elevate at least once. The area in the registry that needs to be modified can only be accessed by a privileged program.

There used to be a hack way to get around it by playing with the task scheduler but I believe Microsoft patched that hole.
http://www.chunkvnc.com - ChunkVNC - Free PC Remote control with the Open Source UltraVNC wrapper InstantSupport!
User avatar
supercoe
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 1735
Joined: 2009-07-20 21:27
Location: Walker, MN

Re: Single Click Run as Administrator Windows 7

Postby aferreirag » 2011-09-20 04:08

First, thank for replay!!!!

In my case, the SC.EXE file is called from my programs developed in Visual FoxPro.

Maybe I could use the technique "Client Impersonation" of Microsoft.

See this post: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... 85%29.aspx

Thanks again!

Regards,
Angel Ferreira
aferreirag
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2011-09-17 18:51

Re: Single Click Run as Administrator Windows 7

Postby djsismos » 2011-11-14 13:53

Hi Guys,

I am having problems with this. Firstly i added this to the helpdesk file:

[TITLE]
Live Remote Assitance

[HOST]
Internet support encryption
-plugin -connect 192.168.1.1:5500 -noregistry

[DIS_UAC]

However it still keeps prompting for UAC even after the first pronpt?

Is there any way of making it so we can type in the username and password for UAC rather than the user?

Thanks

Mike
djsismos
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2011-11-14 13:42

Re: Single Click Run as Administrator Windows 7

Postby supercoe » 2011-11-14 16:03

Not possible with how the [DIS_UAC] command works as it doesn't support passing credentials.
http://www.chunkvnc.com - ChunkVNC - Free PC Remote control with the Open Source UltraVNC wrapper InstantSupport!
User avatar
supercoe
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 1735
Joined: 2009-07-20 21:27
Location: Walker, MN

Re: Single Click Run as Administrator Windows 7

Postby djsismos » 2011-11-14 16:12

Thanks for answer. Any other way of doing this?

What does DIS_UAC do?
djsismos
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2011-11-14 13:42

Re: Single Click Run as Administrator Windows 7

Postby B » 2011-11-14 16:20

I think you understood correctly that it's SUPPOSED to prompt only once for your UAC elevation, rather than multiple times.

supercoe, is there a known bug with using DIS_UAC in SC?
B
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: 2009-09-09 14:05

Re: Single Click Run as Administrator Windows 7

Postby djsismos » 2011-11-14 17:40

Thanks it does seem to keep be prompting. is supercoe the man for this?

Is there anyway of passing these details so we can type them in?
djsismos
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2011-11-14 13:42

Re: Single Click Run as Administrator Windows 7

Postby B » 2011-11-14 17:50

Not exactly, but supercoe's a very knowledgeable forum moderator and the creator of the UltraVNC off-shoot ChunkVNC (that in many ways replaces UltraVNC SC).

No, there's no way for you to answer UAC prompts for the local user -- that would defeat the entire point of UAC.
B
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: 2009-09-09 14:05

Re: Single Click Run as Administrator Windows 7

Postby supercoe » 2011-11-14 18:21

B,

No bugs that I know of, it seems like it is working as intended as you've explained.

Although it would be possible with ChunkVNC to send credentials to the disable UAC it is not implemented at this time. I've made a note that the feature could be handy.

I can't remember now but I swear another user modified InstantSupport to add a "prompt for credentials" before installing as a service. The code would be similar when disabling UAC.
http://www.chunkvnc.com - ChunkVNC - Free PC Remote control with the Open Source UltraVNC wrapper InstantSupport!
User avatar
supercoe
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 1735
Joined: 2009-07-20 21:27
Location: Walker, MN

Re: Single Click Run as Administrator Windows 7

Postby B » 2011-11-14 19:43

But apparently it's NOT working as intended for djsismos ?

To be clear, dj, the point is to avoid repeated prompts in the SAME session sequence. It will always prompt at least once for a new invocation of SC...

Yeah, I thought somebody had hacked around with it a couple of times.
B
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: 2009-09-09 14:05

Re: Single Click Run as Administrator Windows 7

Postby B » 2011-11-14 19:49

Found it!

Code provided back in February.

http://forum.ultravnc.info/viewtopic.php?t=27432

Some guy named "supercoe" said he was "Working on adding this functionality to 3.3 as we speak."
B
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: 2009-09-09 14:05

Re: Single Click Run as Administrator Windows 7

Postby supercoe » 2011-11-14 19:59

Ah yes, good catch B I missed where he said it keeps prompting.
SC should only prompt once AFAIK.
http://www.chunkvnc.com - ChunkVNC - Free PC Remote control with the Open Source UltraVNC wrapper InstantSupport!
User avatar
supercoe
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 1735
Joined: 2009-07-20 21:27
Location: Walker, MN

Re: Single Click Run as Administrator Windows 7

Postby supercoe » 2011-11-14 20:03

lol, that shows you how busy I am... I was the guy that was talking about it... :P
This is why I keep notes for the project and sure enough my notes say: "runas disable uac send credentials"

I feel bad that the ChunkVNC project lags behind everything else but it has yet to prove itself as an income generator so it gets frequently tossed to the side. :(
http://www.chunkvnc.com - ChunkVNC - Free PC Remote control with the Open Source UltraVNC wrapper InstantSupport!
User avatar
supercoe
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 1735
Joined: 2009-07-20 21:27
Location: Walker, MN

Re: Single Click Run as Administrator Windows 7

Postby B » 2011-11-14 21:18

I figured all the beer donations left you too disoriented to remember where you left off. :)
B
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: 2009-09-09 14:05

Re: Single Click Run as Administrator Windows 7

Postby supercoe » 2011-11-14 21:53

I wish, 2000+ downloads a month an I haven't received a donation in a long time. :(
I do however appreciate everyone who has donated! Thanks! :D
http://www.chunkvnc.com - ChunkVNC - Free PC Remote control with the Open Source UltraVNC wrapper InstantSupport!
User avatar
supercoe
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 1735
Joined: 2009-07-20 21:27
Location: Walker, MN

Re: Single Click Run as Administrator Windows 7

Postby djsismos » 2011-11-15 09:28

Hi guys,

Thanks for all your replies. I have few more questions:

1. I have tested the dis_uac as per script above. Any reason why that dosent work?

2. Chunkvnc does not look like it can be edited and branded like single click.

I am looking for the following and happy to donate for it! We run helpdesk of 10 staff. We use single click. It points to a single wan ip and then our firewall forwards on. Each representertive has a different port listening. Before the end user connects they run a script to set a fixed ip internally.

What we want is the same kind of soloution but to be able to control UAC pronpts. Happy to use another solution aslong as we can spam it.

Any ideas?
djsismos
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2011-11-14 13:42

Re: Single Click Run as Administrator Windows 7

Postby B » 2011-11-15 15:01

1. No, I wish I knew. Rudi? YY? Long Lost Redge? Anybody there? :)

2. ChunkVNC is open source and can be edited and "branded" at will.

3. You can also check out the similar SCPrompt project, which doesn't rely on the repeater. It's quite customizable. Since you have a fixed "viewer" location you probably don't really need the repeater.
B
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: 2009-09-09 14:05

Re: Single Click Run as Administrator Windows 7

Postby supercoe » 2011-11-15 15:06

1. I have tested the dis_uac as per script above. Any reason why that dosent work?

No idea, my knowledge of SC is limited.


2. Chunkvnc does not look like it can be edited and branded like single click.

ChunkVNC is a collection of files and scripts that compiles itself into ChunkViewer and InstantSupport.
Installing ChunkVNC gives you all of the source code, logo, etc which you can modify to fit your needs.
I'd suggest reading the chunkvnc.com and check out the FAQ: viewtopic.php?f=50&t=17163


What we want is the same kind of soloution but to be able to control UAC pronpts.

InstantSupport allows you to install as a service in order to control UAC prompts.


Good luck! :thumbs:
http://www.chunkvnc.com - ChunkVNC - Free PC Remote control with the Open Source UltraVNC wrapper InstantSupport!
User avatar
supercoe
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 1735
Joined: 2009-07-20 21:27
Location: Walker, MN


Return to SC

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron