Program compatibility messsage

Single Click discussions / bugs

Program compatibility messsage

Postby vtach3743 » 2018-11-13 21:44

Has anything been created to suppress that message after SC is used (I've seen it on Win 10 machines)?
vtach3743
8
8
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2015-03-24 18:27

Re: Program compatibility messsage

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2018-11-14 15:23

The manifest for the exe need to change, common issue for win 10.
Possible the manifest for the "self extracting part" of the sc.exe
sc.exe is a sfx 7zip.

When time i check it.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5846
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Program compatibility messsage

Postby vtach3743 » 2018-11-14 15:37

I was able to get it working.

Used a program called Resource Hacker
http://www.angusj.com/resourcehacker/

Load the support.exe program into it
Choose 'ACTION' from the menu

Choose 'Add using script template'
Choose 'Manifest' for the template type and click ADD


It will populate with the following (add the part in BOLD to the script, then compile the program, green play button and save).

<compatibility xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:compatibility.v1">
<application>
<!--This Id value indicates the application supports Windows 10 functionality -->
<supportedOS Id="{8e0f7a12-bfb3-4fe8-b9a5-48fd50a15a9a}"/>

<!--This Id value indicates the application supports Windows Vista functionality -->
<supportedOS Id="{e2011457-1546-43c5-a5fe-008deee3d3f0}"/>
<!--This Id value indicates the application supports Windows 7 functionality-->
<supportedOS Id="{35138b9a-5d96-4fbd-8e2d-a2440225f93a}"/>
<!--This Id value indicates the application supports Windows 8 functionality-->
<supportedOS Id="{4a2f28e3-53b9-4441-ba9c-d69d4a4a6e38}"/>
<!--This Id value indicates the application supports Windows 8.1 functionality-->
<supportedOS Id="{1f676c76-80e1-4239-95bb-83d0f6d0da78}"/>
</application>
</compatibility>

After this change it no longer prompts if it was installed correctly on any version of Windows (I didn't test server versions)
vtach3743
8
8
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2015-03-24 18:27

Re: Program compatibility messsage

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2018-11-14 18:44

Doesn't this break the singning.

Can this be done on commandline, so i can do this on the server, before the singning is added.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5846
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Program compatibility messsage

Postby vtach3743 » 2018-11-14 19:45

It doesn't seem to. Everything is working fine and I get no error messages.

Resource Hacker does have many commend line options (I used the GUI). Scrolling down on the main page lists all of the command line options available.
vtach3743
8
8
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2015-03-24 18:27


Return to SC

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests