What is necessary to build winvnc from the source code?

SC<->proxy<->Repeater<->proxy<->viewer

What is necessary to build winvnc from the source code?

Postby titto » 2007-06-16 19:02

Hi,

I read this forum for more all a day, but didn't find exactly to answer to my problem.

In a Rudi's post there was this suggest:

**VC6.0 +SP5 + PP +SDK 2003
Add lib and include path (need to be first, ODER is used)

Then you need to build the project file winvnc.dsw
/vnchooks
/winvnc
...
winvnc.dsw <<<<--------------

**VS2005 +SDK


But exactly what this abbrevations stand for?

VC6.0 -> Microsoft C++ 6.0
SDK 2003 -> Windows Server 2003 R2 SDK
SP5 -> ??
PP -> ??

Thanks for your help.
titto
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2007-06-10 19:51

Re: What is necessary to build winvnc from the source code?

Postby titto » 2007-06-17 16:25

I find myself a question:

SP5 stands for Visual studio 6.0 service pack 5
PP stands for Visual studio 6.0 processor pack.

:-]
titto
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2007-06-10 19:51

Re: What is necessary to build winvnc from the source code?

Postby tom229 » 2009-08-13 22:12

Did this ever work for you?

I got the source yesterday and spent about 2 days getting it to compile in VS2005. I finally got it to build only to be left with an executable that won't run.

I'm not even sure it's possible to get VS2003 anymore so before I try I want to know if this actually works :)
tom229
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2009-08-12 20:53

Re: What is necessary to build winvnc from the source code?

Postby tom229 » 2009-08-28 00:27

Well it does work. I had to use somewhat questionable methods to get the much outdated VS6.0 SP5. Compiled without a hitch though and works great.

I've customized the crap out of it. Notes for other people who get this far and need help:

Vista support STINKS. The problems are aero and UAC.

Fixes:

Aero: Programatically Disable "Poll FullScreen (fast)" to deal with aero. This is not ideal and creates weird window behaviour so its good to modify the OSVersion() function to include a vista check and have the program only disable Poll Fullscreen for vista. This is an ugly fix but deemed to be "working well enough for now" in my company. If anyone has a better solution than diabling poll fullscreen id LOVE to hear it.

UAC fix: Programatically change registry values ConsentPromptBehaviorAdmin, and ConsentPromptBehavior nested somewhere in HKLM to 0. This will get rid of the UAC prompt. In order to do this you'll also have to modify the manifest file to run winvnc as administrator. Theres tons of sites on google that show you how.

Also, I was pretty distracted by the ugly rendering of edit boxes. THe fix for this is in the modification of the Enter ID dialog function in winvnc.cpp. Mess around with commenting out lines that make reference to alpha or transparency.
tom229
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2009-08-12 20:53


Return to SCIII

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests