How to use company http Proxy server?

SC<->proxy<->Repeater<->proxy<->viewer

How to use company http Proxy server?

Postby MarkusE » 2005-09-20 12:22

Hi,
is there a simple way to make sc connect via a http-proxy like squid?

Scheme:
sc.exe <--> Company-HTTP-Proxy <--> Repeater <--> Viewer.exe

It would be nice if sc uses the IE proxy settings for auto configuration.

I worked with a zedebee solution but this make the whole configuration too complex (and the download-Files too big).

Thank you

Markus
MarkusE
 

Postby MarkusE » 2005-09-20 12:25

BTW: Is there a solution with SC V1 ?

I believe scIII is only BETA state.

Markus
MarkusE
 

Postby Ares » 2005-09-20 14:20

MarkusE wrote:BTW: Is there a solution with SC V1 ?

I believe scIII is only BETA state.

Markus


No, there isn't a way to do this with SC v1.0 because the idea of doing this is what prompted the devs to create SCIII in the first place. And it's still in beta because they're still testing this exact feature. And technically, SC based on v1.0 is ALSO a test (beta) version - it says so right on the Creator. The only stable one is based on RC23. (Although I use v1.0 all the time with very few problems.)


-Ares
Ares
Former moderator
Former moderator
 
Posts: 183
Joined: 2005-03-16 18:42

Postby Guest » 2005-09-20 15:22

Hi,
then it should be possible to tunnel through a proxy server (like squid) with scIII Beta right now?

I found scIII on http://sc.uvnc.com/SCIII/, but I had trouble connecting through a squid server.

What further components / configs do I need for a test setup?

Thank you
Markus
Guest
 

Postby MarkusE » 2005-09-21 16:37

Hi,

scIII works great. Thank you for this product.

Here is a short description how to start a scIII test setup (acording to SCIII moved from Alpha to Beta).

1. Download all files from http://sc.uvnc.com/SCIII/and http://sc.uvnc.com/SCIII/repeaterII/

2. Modify helpdesk.txt, change IP Adress of repeater to your own IP adress, don't change port 443.

3. Start "distributer4.exe" on repeater maschine, leave all settings, it listens to 443 by default. //Question: Is there a ssl module in front of the ordinary repeater?

4. Start winvnc.exe on PC1 and Enter ID

5. Start vncviewer_crash_fix.exe an PC2 and enter "ID:258" in the VNC Server field, enter IP Adress of repeater server in field "Proxy/Repeater"

6. Enjoy.


Best Regards
Markus
MarkusE
 

Should use viewer_crashfix? Distributer port other than 443?

Postby William Knak » 2005-09-23 15:05

A I'm using SCIII (SSL) sucessfully. I'm not using viewer_crash_fix, but normal UtraVNC 1.0.1 without problems. My question is: version 1.0.1 include crash_fix corrections? My customers are using SCIII to start remote session with my VNCViewer 1.0.1, should I use viewer_crash_fix instead?

Most customers has connected sucessfully with my Viewer using normal connection (port 5500, before I use SCIII), but one or two don't be able to connect because they have a proxy (i think)... now I'm using SCIII with SSL, and have forwarded port 443 to the distributor 4 (no repeater, but distributor4.exe)... Until now all connections was OK, but one day distributor has crasched and I have to restart it. This could be the Viewer (not crash_fix version)?

I have readed here in another post that SCIII use Internet Explorer proxy settings. Is that correct?

It would be great if Distributer4.exe could use another port than 443, so I can listen 443 on ADSL Modem, but forward to that other port, because sometimes Distributer is used on a Windows Machine with IIS up with ports 80 and 443 enabled.


Thanks for this great VNC Mod...

(sorry about my english)
--
William
William Knak
8
8
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2005-09-19 17:35
Location: Brasil

Postby redge » 2005-09-23 15:36

I have readed here in another post that SCIII use Internet Explorer proxy settings. Is that correct?

true
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2005-09-23 15:53

SCIII(SSL)<--->(SSL)Repeater

Normal viewer <--->Repeater (standard port)
Special viewer(SSL)<--->(SSL) Repeater (SSL port)

With the special viewer, both SCIII and viewer use port 443 to connect to
the repeater.

So, both viewer and server could use the standard https proxy.
With a normal viewer, you need to open 5500 to connect to viewer to the repeater.

I hopes this clarify it a bit.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5917
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Postby redge » 2005-09-23 18:35

It would be great if Distributer4.exe could use another port than 443,

port 443 is the official and the only one standard port for SSL https:// (check IANA ports table)
(technically possible) but can broken standard and unlogical to change it !
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Postby William Knak » 2005-09-24 15:06

port 443 is the official and the only one standard port for SSL https:// (check IANA ports table)
(technically possible) but can broken standard and unlogical to change it !


Well, port 443 still the external port, but inside my network I apreciate to use another port, because IIS are already using port 443... IIS on a Windows Server machine lets you to change SSL port or even add other ports to list, but sometimes you don't know if local network is using IIS SSL port 443 for some service, and distributer may run as a service on that machine too...

The main propose is to let remote clients get inside your network and bypass they proxys using the port 443, so even if they have a proxy with content filter, they will let the client go out because SSL is encrypted... so, after the remote client get in inside your local network (and you reverse connect to them) your Distributor port doesn't matter anymore, since client is fisically connected to ADSL 443 port...

(sorry about my English)
--
William
William Knak
8
8
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2005-09-19 17:35
Location: Brasil

Postby redge » 2005-12-15 02:59

is Squid allow port higher than 1024 ? like 59000 (not mistake of number)

if I'm not wrong,
SC III use port 55000 between repeater_ssl + 443
vncviewer_ssl port 59000 between repeater_ssl+ 443
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

A residing version of SCIII

Postby kartalgurhan » 2005-12-15 16:02

Friends,

As some others, my setup is as follows:

viewer at home => repeater at home=> pc at work behind an HTTP proxy.

Just using the default SCIII settings I can successfully establish the connection, even thru corporate firewall. :-)

What I need is a version of SCIII that does NOT close upon termination of a session AND keeps an insistent connection to the repeater at home at all times.

Is this possible?

Thank you very much
kartalgurhan
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2004-12-06 00:58

Postby redge » 2005-12-17 03:16

What I need is a version of SCIII that does NOT close upon termination of a session AND keeps an insistent connection to the repeater at home at all times.


until:
SC or SCIII had natively support -autoreconnect and autoreconnect ID:1234
and
winvnc autoreconnect (can't be available until uvnc V2 (need >RFB 3.8)
winvnc ID:1234 -connect ip_repeater (can be available from command line... just wait some programmer add this feature to CVS code !!!! :-)


workaround tested successfully
to do: 1x
download UltraVNC Server then replace vnc server by new one below:
patched winvnc supporting -autoreconnect ID:xxxx available here:
http://sc.uvnc.com/V2/winvnc.exe
winvnc -installs (install silent winvnc as service SYSTEM mode (host)
net start winvnc (start imediately winvnc as SYSTEM mode)
then... create a batch/script/schedule as user logged on
winvnc -autoreconnect ID:1234 -connect repeater::port



not tested:
winvnc as USER mode started as service SYSTEM mode with srvany

or
SCIII USER mode autorestart as service SYSTEM mode with srvany+script
follow Keep alive / auto reconnect script
Last edited by redge on 2005-12-17 03:49, edited 3 times in total.
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva


Return to SCIII

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest