SCIII Documentation for idiots

SC<->proxy<->Repeater<->proxy<->viewer

SCIII Documentation for idiots

Postby Sammy666 » 2007-03-09 16:13

Hi,

I set-up UltraVNC Single Click (SCIII) the other day, and found it very frustrating!

So I wrote up what I found, with loads of pictures (in colour) on then following URL.

http://www.simply-postcode-lookup.com/SingleClickUltraVNC/SingleClickVNC.htm

Please give me any feedback here and I will try to write include it in the documentation.

Please use plain English, not IP talk… I tried to make as simple as possible.

Moderated by redge at 2008-02-16 23:46:
added sticky
Last edited by Sammy666 on 2008-02-16 23:46, edited 1 time in total.
Sammy666
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2007-03-09 15:57

Re: SCIII Documentation for idiots

Postby JDaus » 2007-03-19 10:24

nice doco for the newcomers ... good work ...

around the middle, you posted these comments
I guess the #SSL -> :443 needed will allow you to change the post the bridge is using

I also guess the #192.168.1.101==repeater ip is a repeater hosted by the VNC team???

Any ideas, submit to SCIII Documentation for idiots which I will include if relevant.


would suggest you make these in a box of some sort (maybe right justified text) to highlight the difference to normal parts of the doco.

as far as what they mean, im presuming "#" is a comment delimiter to signify the text following as a comment ... programmers put these in code to help others (and sometime themselves) read the code, and understand what it means ... play around with them, remove them and see if it changes anything ...

on the whole ... good work, it puts alot into one page

JD
JDaus
Friend of UVNC
Friend of UVNC
 
Posts: 516
Joined: 2007-03-17 11:00
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: SCIII Documentation for idiots

Postby Sammy666 » 2007-03-19 21:31

Do you know for sure that '#' is the start of a comment?

I thought that and tried removing them. Nothing worked after they were removed!!!

I would have though if it is comment then they would have used a more standard from of comment start, similar to HTML, c or java etc.

If you know more please reply, anyway thanks for the positive feedback
Sammy666
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2007-03-09 15:57

Re: SCIII Documentation for idiots

Postby JDaus » 2007-03-21 02:45

Sammy666 wrote:Do you know for sure that '#' is the start of a comment?

no sorry ... cant say for sure ... it was just a guess
JDaus
Friend of UVNC
Friend of UVNC
 
Posts: 516
Joined: 2007-03-17 11:00
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: SCIII Documentation for idiots

Postby Palle » 2007-03-23 18:27

Thank you Sammy666 for making this very nice step-by-step tutorial. I tried to follow it but for some reason I can't run repeater_SSL.exe without it crashing.

You mentioned "Make sure you have nothing else using the port 443". How can I figure out what else could be using the port 443? I tried to run repeater_SSL.exe on various computers but got the same result.

Image
(I'm borrowing your image)

I greatly thankful for any response. :)
Last edited by Palle on 2007-03-23 19:11, edited 3 times in total.
Palle
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2005-05-23 15:20

Re: SCIII Documentation for idiots

Postby JDaus » 2007-03-23 21:44

off the top of my head (and just waking up), i think a netstat command shows that sort of information

open a command prompt, type netstat, hit return ...

this should give you the established connection from/to ports (i think)

:|

JD
JDaus
Friend of UVNC
Friend of UVNC
 
Posts: 516
Joined: 2007-03-17 11:00
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: SCIII Documentation for idiots

Postby Palle » 2007-03-25 17:09

Thank you JDaus. :) That worked for me. :)
Palle
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2005-05-23 15:20

Re: SCIII Documentation for idiots

Postby snobs » 2007-04-02 21:44

as far as i know SC3 (i already wrote another thread about it 'preconditions...') you always have to use port 443... which is a pain sometimes, especially on windows servers which often run the iis-server. but this port is the only port which makes sense to use - it is one of the only ports which firewalls (most of the time) let through unfiltered.
snobs
8
8
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2005-04-23 02:05
Location: germany/stuttgart

Re: SCIII Documentation for idiots

Postby LUCS » 2008-06-11 12:16

Oh what a wonderful guide..fantastic

I was wondering if the....
#192.168.1.101==repeater ip

....was maybe referring to the ip address of the machine that the repeater app is installed on.
LUCS
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2008-06-11 11:47

Re: SCIII Documentation for idiots

Postby redge » 2008-06-11 23:18

based the example SCIII Documentation for ... ,

-id 1 -sslproxy -connect 1.88.88.88:443 -noregistry
#1.88.88.88==repeater ip
#SSL -> :443 needed

the line beginning with # is simply ignored by SC
only here for tell you what this for and easy remember.
anyway, this only comment could by any value totally ignored
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: SCIII Documentation for idiots

Postby rpyne » 2008-07-11 01:43

Palle wrote:Thank you Sammy666 for making this very nice step-by-step tutorial. I tried to follow it but for some reason I can't run repeater_SSL.exe without it crashing.

You mentioned "Make sure you have nothing else using the port 443". How can I figure out what else could be using the port 443? I tried to run repeater_SSL.exe on various computers but got the same result.

Image
(I'm borrowing your image)

I greatly thankful for any response. :)


So, did this ever get solved? I am seeing the same problem on my attempt at setting up a repeater on an XP box. Netstat confirms port 443 is not in use. As an alternative, is there a Linux repeater?
rpyne
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2008-07-10 14:57
Location: Provo, Utah, USA

Re: SCIII Documentation for idiots

Postby redge » 2008-07-11 11:07

netstat is not enough
start... run...cmd.exe
c:\> netstat -a
(required for kwnow whish port is really used currently
or use TCPView graphic version
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysi ... 97437.aspx
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: SCIII Documentation for idiots

Postby redge » 2008-07-11 11:22

if you see application like skype use by default port 80 http and 443 https
but could be manual set on other port.

Skype.exe:816 TCP macwin:http localhost:0 LISTENING
Skype.exe:816 TCP macwin:https localhost:0 LISTENING
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: SCIII Documentation for idiots

Postby mraluminumsiding » 2008-08-15 21:11

That error message will also occur if you're missing the certificate file.

Can someone tell me how SCIII is secure? I know it exchanges cert info but it seems like if I put this up on a public IP then anyone could be using my repeater.
mraluminumsiding
8
8
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2008-08-15 21:02

Re: SCIII Documentation for idiots

Postby X3 » 2008-08-15 22:27

I use SC http://www.uvnc.com/pchelpware/creator/index.html

based on rel 1X

I use the config

http://www.uvnc.com/addons/singleclick.html

sorry never tried that one but the one I use yes its secure adn bever needed a repeater...

also

SCSafe - SC/SCIII Safe Mode

but I think to get that file you need to pm the guy if he is still alive or whatever..
Last edited by X3 on 2008-08-15 22:30, edited 1 time in total.
Regards

Image
X3
100
100
 
Posts: 282
Joined: 2007-12-11 08:50
Location: 51.30 N 0.10 W

Re: SCIII Documentation for idiots

Postby abo » 2009-08-14 09:46

Sammy666 wrote:Hi,

I set-up UltraVNC Single Click (SCIII) the other day, and found it very frustrating!

So I wrote up what I found, with loads of pictures (in colour) on then following URL.

http://www.simply-postcode-lookup.com/SingleClickUltraVNC/SingleClickVNC.htm

Please give me any feedback here and I will try to write include it in the documentation.

Please use plain English, not IP talk… I tried to make as simple as possible.




That error message will also occur if you're missing the certificate file.

Can someone tell me how SCIII is secure? I know it exchanges cert info but it seems like if I put this up on a public IP then anyone could be using my repeater.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
tuyen dung | viec lam | tim viec
abo
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2009-08-14 09:42

Re: SCIII Documentation for idiots

Postby marcgistel » 2009-08-14 10:18

abo

yes but only if he has the same "CERTIFICATE.PEM" as you(your repeater).
If you useing the certificate you get here in the donwloadsection or the sample who is included in the repeater.zip it is no problem to get the same cert as you have. :)

try to generate your own certificate and it should solve your problem.
Certgeneration:
how to create your own certificate.pem!?

best regards,
marc
marcgistel
40
40
 
Posts: 72
Joined: 2008-03-26 09:07
Location: Ulm, Germany

Re: SCIII Documentation for idiots

Postby MichaelRodriguez » 2011-04-25 17:30

I have generated the sert, but the problem remains. Any suggestions?
MichaelRodriguez
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2011-04-18 17:00

Re: SCIII Documentation for idiots

Postby chrishutty » 2013-08-12 11:23

Please note that Sammy's tutorial can now be found at - http://www.simplypostcode.com/SingleCli ... ickVNC.htm
chrishutty
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2013-08-12 11:16

Re: SCIII Documentation for idiots

Postby thorkil » 2013-10-14 21:22

Hi
I am trying to set up my site, and have been trying to follow Sammy's documentation.
I think a little help would be nice. See http://www.g12.dk/nomenu/ultravnc
/T :(
thorkil
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2013-10-03 12:44


Return to SCIII

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests