Using VNC on two remote computers

New to UltraVNC? Your questions are welcome in this subforum. :surprise:

Using VNC on two remote computers

Postby sderuiter » 2007-08-18 07:44

Hi,

Not entirely new to VNC (I use it @ home to access the HTPC). However, for the local tennis club I administer their computer. At the tennis club we also have a second PC (which I don't have access to, nor need to have access to). However, the second PC is apparently remotely controlled by uvnc. I've installed uvnc server on the club pc (the one I need access to), forwarded the ports on the router, but whenever I try to access from a viewer, I get presented the domain/password combo, trying me to login to the second PC.

I think this is a setup for repeater, but I fail to see how I should set this up.

Thanks.
sderuiter
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2007-08-18 07:37

Re: Using VNC on two remote computers

Postby YY » 2007-08-18 10:13

Unlikely to be a problem related to repeater. Even someone had setted up a repeater, you must specify to use it at the viewer too, otherwise it will not forward your connection.

Please check if the router has a DMZ feature and pointed to that pc (not your own one). DMZ may override the port forwarding and redirect all internet signal to that pc.
YY
200
200
 
Posts: 996
Joined: 2006-11-13 15:11

Re: Using VNC on two remote computers

Postby sderuiter » 2007-08-19 11:58

Hi,

Thanks for your answer. My question may be more related to how I *could* set this up, maybe using the repeater. In short: I don't understand how the repeater works and if this is a solution worth pursuing...

sderuiter
sderuiter
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2007-08-18 07:37

Re: Using VNC on two remote computers

Postby redge » 2007-08-19 12:52

I think this is a setup for repeater, but I fail to see how I should set this up.


Why not simply ask to install by same person who installed UltraVNC on 2nd pc ?


Maybe yes, maybe not,
If we don't have capture screen of the logon screen, we can't tell you is a repeater or another vnc related product relay or anything.

but this could be related of MS logon (feature of UltraVNC) allow windows logon screen name same user/password of the remote pc1 or pc2

port forward need for both computers, but one different than the second.

so, you need to ask to open or access the nat/firewall for open a 2nd port for 1st computer.

portforward
Internet --> LAN
5900 --> 5900 for pc0
5901 --> 5900 for pc1
5902 --> 5900 for pc2

or
if the router of tennis club is limited.
5900 --> 5900 for pc0 ((require no change)
5901 --> 5901 for pc1 (require change winvnc default port as 5901)
5902 --> 5902 for pc2 (require change winvnc default port as 5902)


anyway to viewer: you must input server:port
tartempion.dyndns.org:0 (for reach pc0
tartempion.dyndns.org:1 (for reach pc1)
tartempion.dyndns.org:2 (for reach pc2)

How to port forward
http://www.portforward.com/english/rout ... rindex.htm
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: Using VNC on two remote computers

Postby redge » 2007-08-19 12:56

ultravnc repeater don't have user/password !
only UltraVNC with MSlogon or any vnc related/or commercial product that support this feature.
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: Using VNC on two remote computers

Postby YY » 2007-08-19 17:08

sderuiter wrote: I don't understand how the repeater works and if this is a solution worth pursuing...


Sorry misunderstood your question.
Please see these posts, which was talking about the operation of repeater in Mode I, may be is the information that you are looking for.
IT Network Admin - Need some expert advice
YY
200
200
 
Posts: 996
Joined: 2006-11-13 15:11

Re: Using VNC on two remote computers

Postby sderuiter » 2007-08-22 20:38

Thank you all. I had already applied the methods as stated by redge (didn't dare to mess with repeater, since I have no access to second PC)

However, I had only forwarded the tcp ports and not the udp ports (I also added 5901 and 5801 as expection in the firewall).

Anyhow, it works!

IP leads to Uvnc MS logon box (don't need access)
IP:5901 leads to Uvnc on the PC I need access to.

Thanks!
sderuiter
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2007-08-18 07:37


Return to Beginner questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests