Cannot run VNC viewer unless VNC server is running

New to UltraVNC? Your questions are welcome in this subforum. :surprise:

Cannot run VNC viewer unless VNC server is running

Postby rynofunk » 2007-09-04 18:06

I have been using VNC viewer for about 6 months. Unfortunately our tech assistant no longer works for us and I had to Reformat the CPU that was my VNC server. I have reinstalled it and can use it but it will not work unless VNC server is running. I used to be able to just establish a connection by entering a password with the viewer. I guess the best way to explain it is that I had to reformat my partners office pc. And my laptop has the viewer. I want the Office pc to always be ready to accept an incoming connection so I can assist my partner and control his pc when I am not there. I have a VPN setup and it is functioning fine. I would login to the VPN, click on my viewer and it would connect. Now someone has to be there to launch the VNC server on the office PC.

How can I get the VNC server to always run even after startup?launch everytime my pc boots. It requires launch everytime now, and if noone is there I cannot use the VNC.
Do I want to be running VNC viewer instead of VNC server on my office pc and always run listen mode? PLease Help

Thanks everyone . I know your time is valuable
rynofunk
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2007-09-04 17:38
Location: florida

Re: Cannot run VNC viewer unless VNC server is running

Postby bevtech » 2007-09-04 18:11

install it as a service and set it to automatic

FAQ

How Do I Install UVNC As A Service
Bevtech

Windows XP Home, Pro SP2, Windows 2003 SBS server SP2(EN), Windows Media Center Editon 2005,Windows Vista Home Prem.,Fedora Core 6,Win9X, PChelpware Rel 1.0,
UVNC V 1.0.8.2

User not developer..;)
bevtech
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2191
Joined: 2005-08-03 14:07
Location: Pennsylvania, United States

Re: Cannot run VNC viewer unless VNC server is running

Postby rynofunk » 2007-09-04 18:26

The VNC server right?
rynofunk
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2007-09-04 17:38
Location: florida

Re: Cannot run VNC viewer unless VNC server is running

Postby bevtech » 2007-09-04 20:53

correct
Bevtech

Windows XP Home, Pro SP2, Windows 2003 SBS server SP2(EN), Windows Media Center Editon 2005,Windows Vista Home Prem.,Fedora Core 6,Win9X, PChelpware Rel 1.0,
UVNC V 1.0.8.2

User not developer..;)
bevtech
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2191
Joined: 2005-08-03 14:07
Location: Pennsylvania, United States

Re: Cannot run VNC viewer unless VNC server is running

Postby rynofunk » 2007-09-05 13:43

awesome Bev you're the best. Working OK

Hey it seems slow. I am runnin 1.02 release

Is the newer Beta stable? is it faster and are there settings for 1.02 release to allow less lag?
rynofunk
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2007-09-04 17:38
Location: florida

Re: Cannot run VNC viewer unless VNC server is running

Postby bevtech » 2007-09-05 14:05

install the mirror driver should help with the speed.. also if you reduce the colors too.. More colors more bandwith in use..:)
Bevtech

Windows XP Home, Pro SP2, Windows 2003 SBS server SP2(EN), Windows Media Center Editon 2005,Windows Vista Home Prem.,Fedora Core 6,Win9X, PChelpware Rel 1.0,
UVNC V 1.0.8.2

User not developer..;)
bevtech
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2191
Joined: 2005-08-03 14:07
Location: Pennsylvania, United States


Return to Beginner questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests