Issues getting Ultra VNC to run on a Virtual Machine

New to UltraVNC? Your questions are welcome in this subforum. :surprise:

Issues getting Ultra VNC to run on a Virtual Machine

Postby jeeejay » 2011-09-27 21:52

Hello All,

I searched a lot in this forum and the internet in general but I didn't get the exact solution to my issue hence thought of creating a new post. Please note that my 'target' is a 'Virtual Machine' - so there's no way I can sit in front of it physically and I have to use Remote Desktop to access it. Apologies in advance if this post is too long; but I really need to explain my problem.

I have two 64 Bit test VM's, one is a Windows7 and the other is a Windows 2008 Server R2. Recently, we added a test where there is some interaction with the GUI of our application and I can't use RDP anymore as the test software refuses to perform any action if my RDP session is minimized. The help section of the test software suggests to use VNC instead of RDP to overcome this problem.

With the RDP session running, I downloaded and installed the latest UltraVNC (1.0.9.6.1) on both the machines. While installing I selected 'Vista Add-ons', 'Mirror Drivers ' etc ... please let me know if this was supposed to be selected or not. Additionally, I installed the 'Viewer' on my Windows XP 32 Bit desktop and tried to connect. It got rejected complaining 'There is no password set'. I went to Admin properties and set two new passwords (for view only and full control). Tried connecting again (with full control) and this time I could see the screen but if I performed any action (like right-click on the desktop) the menu would appear in the RDP Session screen!

Then I disconnected both the sessions and only started a new VNC Session. This time I saw the login screen and I could not interact with the GUI at all. Even the commands on the toolbar didn't work. I read in some posts about an issue with Ctrl+Alt+Del but all of them mention that they can at least click on the 'Microsoft Accessibility' button but I can't do that either. If I start an RDP session and then an Ultra VNC session, then I can see the screen and perform actions but stuff happens only on the RDP session screen.

Searching in this forum, I found that people have had issues with setting a password and need to run some command after downloading a separate application. I also came across posts where people have mentioned about installing VNC (and mirror drivers) only when sitting physically in front of the machine - but I have VM's - so I don't know how to achieve this.

Please give me some suggestions as I really need to get this to work. Thanks in advance.

- GJ
jeeejay
8
8
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2011-09-27 21:05

Re: Issues getting Ultra VNC to run on a Virtual Machine

Postby jeeejay » 2011-10-03 18:52

Hello,

I was hoping that someone will respond to my query ... it's been more than a week. Please let me know if I should post this to another section.

- GJ
jeeejay
8
8
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2011-09-27 21:05

Re: Issues getting Ultra VNC to run on a Virtual Machine

Postby B » 2011-10-03 22:29

Sorry for the delay, jeejay. I guess no one had any good ideas, but I'll try to blunder through with some suggestions.

I think much of the development is done with VMs, so I'm surprised no one's been able to address it.

But here's what's odd -- as you probably know, VNC and RDP are very different in overall operation. Particularly, if you're running a VM, there's no real reason to use an RDP session at all. VNC alone should be better -- in fact many VM management platforms are using VNC natively to access the VMs. It's not better because of speed (honestly VNC is freakin' slow) but it's better because it gives you direct access to the "real" boot console of the virtual machine.

I believe what's happened in your case is that you've installed VNC only WITHIN a single RDP session. You therefore aren't really controlling the whole "computer".

I would suggest the following. Use whatever native VM control interface you have (VMWare Infrastructure Client, etc.) to access the VM directly. Install VNC there. Don't use RDP at all. Now VNC viewer should give you full control of that VM; this will NOT include any RDP sessions unless you access those sessions FROM the VM through the right MMC plugin. But you'll be "at the server".

I really think your first mistake was relying on RDP (in this application; overall I often prefer it to VNC).
B
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: 2009-09-09 14:05

Re: Issues getting Ultra VNC to run on a Virtual Machine

Postby jeeejay » 2011-10-06 18:35

Hello,

Thanks a lot for your reply - I had almost lost hope and was forced to shell out a couple of hunderd dollars to buy licenses of some other product - but you saved it for me! Actually, my VM's are allocated by our IT department so we usually just get the name of the machine and we work on it through an RDP session.

After reading other posts and your reply - I had a strong feeling that installing Ultra VNC by being physically in front of the box is definitely what has to be done to get things to work. So I went to the other floor and asked the IT guy to install it for me through the VSphere Console - that's the closest one can get physically to a VM - right!?

Once that was done - I went back to my desk and tried to connect and presto... - need I say anymore :)

- GJ
jeeejay
8
8
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2011-09-27 21:05

Re: Issues getting Ultra VNC to run on a Virtual Machine

Postby B » 2011-10-06 21:34

Correct, and good to hear!
B
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: 2009-09-09 14:05


Return to Beginner questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests