Connection via Repeater (Mode II) - totally unsecured?

New to UltraVNC? Your questions are welcome in this subforum. :surprise:

Connection via Repeater (Mode II) - totally unsecured?

Postby The_Immortal » 2017-10-15 22:47

Hello!

1. It's the first time I use Repeater so maybe this is about my nonunderstading of the connection process.
There is no problem how Mode I works - it's totally clear for me process.
But Im wondering why no password is asked when I connect to winwnc (with winvnc.exe -autoreconnect ID:123456 -connect 90.188.188.188:5500 -run) via Mode II? All I need to set in the Viewer is ID number of Server and Repeater address. After this I click connect and... I'm on the target PC. But wait, where is password I've set on UVNC server side?! Why is that?

So we have very unsecured connection. Coz u just need to know Repater IP, ID of VNC Server and you can have access... :(

And honestly this is very strange for me because I remember the phrase from the "Ultra VNC Repeater Guide":
I personally prefer only mode II


2. My second question is the following: how to launch winvnc as service with the following parametrs: -autoreconnect ID:123456 -connect 90.188.188.188:5500 ? Even if you put whese parameters in the Properties of uvnc_service these parameters are just ignored...


Thank you!
The_Immortal
8
8
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 2013-02-21 07:26

Re: Connection via Repeater (Mode II) - totally unsecured?

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2017-10-16 14:28

You NEED to use the encryption plugins for encryption and authentication.

Mode I allow you to connect to a specific port, if you don't restrict the ports people could snif on all ports.
Mode II Always have restricted ports.

Without encryption vnc isn't save to use over the internet.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5462
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Connection via Repeater (Mode II) - totally unsecured?

Postby The_Immortal » 2017-10-16 14:37

Rudi De Vos wrote:You NEED to use the encryption plugins for encryption and authentication.
Well, plugins provide encryption but I need to setup password. There is no sense with encryption if no password is asked. Do you agree with me? Or the problem is i don't use encryption plugin and after its installing I will be asked for password?
The_Immortal
8
8
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 2013-02-21 07:26

Re: Connection via Repeater (Mode II) - totally unsecured?

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2017-10-16 20:48

The password is part of the encryption, the plugin is authentication and encryption.
You can use
*standard vnc passwd
*A password of 250 char
*A pre created key ( in that case only servers and viewer with the same key are able to connect)

rfb protocol: no password for outging connections
Repeater: server connect to...
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5462
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21


Return to Beginner questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests