Newbie needs Setup & Connection help

New to UltraVNC? Your questions are welcome in this subforum. :surprise:

Newbie needs Setup & Connection help

Postby redge » 2006-05-29 20:58

LAN: 2 XP machines connected through a hardwired router.

Installed the "Viewer" on my machine.
- Firewall disabled

Installed the "Server" on my partner machine as a service.
- Disabled Windows XP Firewall
- Shutdown Windows Defender
- Typed in a simple Password in the "Admin Properties"
- [ ] Require MS Logon <<---Leave emtpy

Connection:
- I type in my partner machine's local IP (192.168.1.100)
- Click "Connect"
- Type in Password (same as the one in the Admin Properties)

Thats all

source Hapkido
a little bit modified
Newbie needs Setup & Connection help
Last edited by redge on 2006-06-13 23:02, edited 1 time in total.
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: Newbie needs Setup & Connection help

Postby eagem » 2006-08-30 13:11

Here is my Question..maybe silly...but I don't know exactly.

I tried putting isp of my friend but he doesn't have vncserver instlled in his machine...when I connect from vncviewer and host as his isp and connect...it shows failed to connect.

What if the other pc didn't install vnc server , can I still connect his/her pc from my pc thru vncviewer?
eagem
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2006-08-30 12:56

Re: Newbie needs Setup & Connection help

Postby redge » 2006-08-30 19:33

What if the other pc didn't install vnc server , can I still connect his/her pc from my pc thru vncviewer?

No,
need the vnc server

mstsc.exe for access the enabled remote desktop connection on windows XP professional
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: Newbie needs Setup & Connection help

Postby Little Help Please lol » 2006-11-10 18:25

Heres a stupid question Im sure, but the password on my machine was already set, and wont change, i have tried changing it, hitting apply, then ok... but it always goes back to the original password which i dont know. I want to be able to have remote access to my computer from other locations... Any step by step setup help would be great. I have been looking on here, but havent found much... Also, A friend of mine used it to get on my pc so i know it works, but i hadd to unhook my routor and go straight into the modem. Is there a simple way to do thins without unhooking my routor? Thanks in advance!!
Little Help Please lol
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2006-11-10 18:19

Re: Newbie needs Setup & Connection help

Postby bevtech » 2006-11-10 20:47

Bevtech

Windows XP Home, Pro SP2, Windows 2003 SBS server SP2(EN), Windows Media Center Editon 2005,Windows Vista Home Prem.,Fedora Core 6,Win9X, PChelpware Rel 1.0,
UVNC V 1.0.8.2

User not developer..;)
bevtech
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2191
Joined: 2005-08-03 14:07
Location: Pennsylvania, United States

Re: Newbie needs Setup & Connection help

Postby redge » 2006-11-10 22:25

if you don't want unhook the NAT router required only at viewer side, you have only one solution trough public uvnc.com repeater but is slower than direct connection and you don't need any password, just both should use same id number and do all steps within 5 min.

Please help me help my mom & dad
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: Newbie needs Setup & Connection help

Postby redge » 2006-11-10 22:33

if you don't want any input aknowledge of partner,
you can use another public relay without opening any NAT router
EchoVNC 2.35
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: Newbie needs Setup & Connection help

Postby scotty81 » 2007-06-07 08:06

Is it possible to setup up the VNC server correctly and then somehow connect to it using Windows XP Home Ed "Remote Desktop Connection" software or is "UltraVNC Viewer" required to connect to a host?

PS: Do you like the use of my quotes? :P
scotty81
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2007-06-07 08:02

Re: Newbie needs Setup & Connection help

Postby mattice06082 » 2007-06-10 03:50

You can use either the UltraVNC Viewer or the JavaViewer which works using your browser. RDP is not compatible :( .
mattice06082
Former moderator
Former moderator
 
Posts: 607
Joined: 2006-11-30 00:41
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: Newbie needs Setup & Connection help

Postby zumbaio » 2007-07-17 09:07

Hi I have one stupid question also.

I am running the VNC server on a computer, and I am able to connect, but I want the computer to automatically run the server when it is restarted. How can I do that? Also the computer needs a login before going to normal mode. Can I run the VNC server before that, so I can connect to the computer and then login as an user?

Also I would like to ask what is the default password of the Ultr@VNC server, and how can I change it?

Thanks for the replies.
zumbaio
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2007-07-17 09:01

Re: Newbie needs Setup & Connection help

Postby mattice06082 » 2007-07-17 12:17

but I want the computer to automatically run the server when it is restarted. How can I do that? Also the computer needs a login before going to normal mode. Can I run the VNC server before that, so I can connect to the computer and then login as an user?

You need to install the UltraVNC Server as a service. that way it will start up when the system powers up or reboots.
Also I would like to ask what is the default password of the Ultr@VNC server, and how can I change it?

VNC Password on the server
mattice06082
Former moderator
Former moderator
 
Posts: 607
Joined: 2006-11-30 00:41
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: Newbie needs Setup & Connection help

Postby zumbaio » 2007-07-19 14:35

Hi

Thanks for the answer. It really helped but the problem still remains.
Because when it restarts and you are not there to set the password you cannot access the computer, unless you are using a No Authentication settings. :)

Should think about this in next version :)
Or maybe add a command line when starting the server to add the password automatically.
zumbaio
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2007-07-17 09:01

Re: Newbie needs Setup & Connection help

Postby mattice06082 » 2007-07-19 19:38

Because when it restarts and you are not there to set the password you cannot access the computer, unless you are using a No Authentication settings.

You should only be required to set the password up once. I'm not sure what you mean when you say that you need to set it up after every restart. You should be asked the password on the machine running the viewer.

If you've installed it as a service you should have a service called VNC Server that has a Status of Started. You can check this using Start -> Run -> type services.msc and hit Enter.
mattice06082
Former moderator
Former moderator
 
Posts: 607
Joined: 2006-11-30 00:41
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: Newbie needs Setup & Connection help

Postby pkiula » 2008-07-30 17:19

None of this helps me.

All the settings are in order. Remote Desktop etc is enabled. No firewalls, no anti viruses, no nothing on either side. Password set and Connections "Accept"ed. Still cannot connect. What else can I try?
pkiula
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2008-07-30 15:18

Re: Newbie needs Setup & Connection help

Postby sasha2009 » 2009-01-17 10:21

zumbaio wrote:Hi

Thanks for the answer. It really helped but the problem still remains.
Because when it restarts and you are not there to set the password you cannot access the computer, unless you are using a No Authentication settings. :)

Should think about this in next version :)
Or maybe add a command line when starting the server to add the password automatically.


Try to close port :8025.
http://www.soft-windows.com/
sasha2009
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2009-01-15 18:40
Location: ukraine

Re: Newbie needs Setup & Connection help

Postby Kincaid » 2009-03-07 01:17

LAN: 2 Vista machines connected through a router.


Installed the "Server and Viewer" on both machine as a service.
- Disabled Windows Firewall
- Shutdown Windows Defender
- Typed in a simple Password in the "Admin Properties"
- [ ] Require MS Logon <<---Leave emtpy
- Port 5900 is forwarded in the Router Settings

Connection:
- I type in my partner machine's local IP (192.168.0.100)
- Click "Connect"
- Type in Password (same as the one in the Admin Properties)

Then I get the message"authentication failed" (wrong password). I'm sure the password is correct, tried different passwords but everytime the same message. Did I something wrong or is it just Vista?
Kincaid
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2009-03-07 00:25

Re: Newbie needs Setup & Connection help

Postby DiscoChimp » 2009-06-16 08:51

OK, I have 2 machines, XP Home & Vista Home Premium. Have installed Server on XP, with Viewer on Vista.

I can access the XP machine only if I turn listening on on Vista, then initiate the connection from XP by adding a new client.

If I try to create a new connection direct from the Vista machine, I get "Failed to Connect to Server !" info message.

Even having saved the session as a .vnc file, then trying to create the connection from there doesn't work.

I've scanned the FAQ and beginners questions, but couldn't see anything related to this issue.

Any ideas? Firewall exceptions on both machines are done and ports are all forwarded (TCP only)
DiscoChimp
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2009-06-16 08:20
Location: UK

Re: Newbie needs Setup & Connection help

Postby lilleyen » 2009-09-30 16:37

I have UVNC on 5 computers at work, 3 on XP and 2 on Vista.
Everything seems to be working.
I type in my various addresses 192.168.2.x and I'm connected.

What I don't know how to do is to connect to the office from home or vice versa.

Can anyone give me a step by step how to?
Home computers are on Vista 32 and 64 and one Mac.

Thanks in advance for any help received here.
I'm reasonably computer literate, but no expert.
lilleyen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2009-08-11 13:30
Location: Canada

Re: Newbie needs Setup & Connection help

Postby lilleyen » 2009-09-30 18:12

I have two computers (one vista, one XP), at work connected at once, but I can't access two others. (Also one Vista, one XP)
Is there a limit to how many UVNC connections you can have open at one time?
lilleyen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2009-08-11 13:30
Location: Canada

Re: Newbie needs Setup & Connection help

Postby redge » 2009-09-30 20:07

for connect over internet, is out of this topic.
this topic is for connect to inhouse or inoffice

for connect over internet
What Can If I do not have a Static IP for my WAN Connection
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: Newbie needs Setup & Connection help

Postby lilleyen » 2009-10-02 17:12

redge wrote:for connect over internet, is out of this topic.
this topic is for connect to inhouse or inoffice

for connect over internet
What Can If I do not have a Static IP for my WAN Connection


Went there.
Tried to ask a question.
Got a message that only users with special permission are allowed to reply or post to that section.

What I need to know is - do I type in my browser something like 70.124.98.76/89.23.56.76/192.168.2.5 to get to my home or office computer after everything is setup on both ends?

Or, somename.dyndns.org/192.168.2.x where x is the internal IP addy of the computer I'm trying to reach?

Im lost.

I have the dyndns site set up and the dynsalias updating site setup, and uvnc installed complete on both ends, but I don't know how to use all this yet.
Help! :cry:
lilleyen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2009-08-11 13:30
Location: Canada

Re: Newbie needs Setup & Connection help

Postby redge » 2009-10-03 20:41

> I have the dyndns site set up and the dynsalias updating site setup

somename.dyndns.org

you need to read port forward and apply
if is too complicate, you can use vnc related product for easy to use.
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: Newbie needs Setup & Connection help

Postby lilleyen » 2009-10-05 13:52

redge wrote:> I have the dyndns site set up and the dynsalias updating site setup

somename.dyndns.org

you need to read port forward and apply
if is too complicate, you can use vnc related product for easy to use.


Thanks redge,
What product is that?
Easy to use is important here, since after I learn how to use this, I have to teach my boss how to use it, and he is more of a noob than I am at this, or anything to do with computers :|
lilleyen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2009-08-11 13:30
Location: Canada

Re: Newbie needs Setup & Connection help

Postby redge » 2009-10-09 18:24

UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: Newbie needs Setup & Connection help

Postby aliaba » 2010-04-13 05:52

yes..Try to close port :8025.


:( :( :( :(
aliaba
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2010-04-13 05:40

Re: Newbie needs Setup & Connection help

Postby H3LL » 2010-04-22 03:01

Hi,

hope this is the right place for my question.

I would like to configure the client, that he has to accept that s.o. will use remote control on his machine by UNVC. How can I to this setting? - I have seen before but don't know how to setup.

Thanks in advanced
H3LL
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2010-04-22 02:57


Return to Beginner questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests