Reverse connection via repeater

Here you will find help for frequently asked questions as well as for your specific question.

Reverse connection via repeater

Postby normano » 2004-06-16 18:32

I don't know what it is, but UltraVNC and the repeater are driving me crazy. I have Viewer .17, WinVnc .17, I sure hope it is repeater v2 (It does use port 5500 and 5900). I had some issues with the SF.net downloads, mostly due to some of the downloads had mixed versions like Viewer .15 and WinVnc .16 but I finally got that resolved by downloading and putting them together (the pain was the WinVNC server did not have the ID box in the versions I downloaded earlier).


My main problem is that I cannot get a reverse connection established using the repeater, I can get it to work by bypassing the repeater option and just starting the reverse connection directly. I am using the Proxy/Repeater option in the Viewer with ID:1 (tried others with no luck) and the repeater set to 10.8.5.92. On the WinVNC server end, I am typing the address of the repeater in the host box 10.8.5.92, and I am typing 1 for the ID number. I have tried starting the Viewer before WinVNC and vice-versa, but with no luck.

Thank you,
Norman
normano
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2004-06-11 15:21

Postby RobH » 2004-06-17 22:40

Reverse connect doesn't work with the repeater.
RobH
Former moderator
Former moderator
 
Posts: 114
Joined: 2004-05-03 18:04
Location: Chicago, IL

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2004-06-17 23:04

It does....
1) Repeater need to be outsite the firewall or have both ports (5900 and 5500) forwarded.

Viewer connect NORMAL, initiate connection (not in listen mode)
Server connect REVERSE , initiate connection
Repeater accept the 2 connections and act as a relay.

A:Internal PC 10.10.10.10, viewer
B:repeater (official ipadress) 154.20.49.12
C:Internal PC 192.168.1.1,server

It does not matter what you start first, server or viewer.
Watch the dos window, for debug info.

1) Start server
2) Add new client
3) hostname=154.20.49.12 (default 5500)
ID=ID:1 (ID followed by : followed by 1)

You should see the server entering the repeater ,debug info(dos box repeater)

4)Start viewer in normal mode
5) vnc server=ID:1
proxy/repeater=154.20.49.12 (default 5900)

You should see the viewer entering the repeater , debug info

It was working..could be some code was broken, but at least you should see the server or viewer in the repetaer window.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5596
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Postby RobH » 2004-06-18 16:12

Sorry, my bad. I thought the repeater didn't work in reverse.
Now I have to try it ! :)
RobH
Former moderator
Former moderator
 
Posts: 114
Joined: 2004-05-03 18:04
Location: Chicago, IL

Postby thierryvdv » 2004-07-07 21:44

Hi Rudi,

I have configured the server/client/repeater as you describe, But I cannot get it working.

When I start the client and connect to VNC server ID:1 with proxy/repeater: 192.168.15.11, I see the connection coming in the repeater as follows:

UltraVnc> socket() initialized
UltraVnc> bind() succeded to port 5900
UltraVnc> listen() succeded
UltraVnc> Waiting for connection ...
UltraVnc> accept() connection
UltraVnc> Server ID port 123456
UltraVnc> resolving host by name: ID
UltraVnc> failed to resolve locally.
ERROR: can't resolve hostname: ID
UltraVnc> Unable to connect to destination host, errno=11001
UltraVnc> Waiting for connection ...


What should I do?
thierryvdv
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2004-07-07 20:22

Postby thierryvdv » 2004-07-08 06:45

Sorry, I used VNC sever ID:1234546, of course.
thierryvdv
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2004-07-07 20:22

Postby thierryvdv » 2004-07-08 18:23

I've just checked the repeater ports, and it's using only port 5900.

It's the repeater file which is included in the RC18 package.

Do I have to download another somewhere?

Or do I have to start the repeater with a specific command line option?
thierryvdv
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2004-07-07 20:22

Postby Guest » 2004-07-14 22:22

I also am having this problem exactly!

What should I do? :crazy:

thierryvdv wrote:Hi Rudi,

I have configured the server/client/repeater as you describe, But I cannot get it working.

When I start the client and connect to VNC server ID:1 with proxy/repeater: 192.168.15.11, I see the connection coming in the repeater as follows:

UltraVnc> socket() initialized
UltraVnc> bind() succeded to port 5900
UltraVnc> listen() succeded
UltraVnc> Waiting for connection ...
UltraVnc> accept() connection
UltraVnc> Server ID port 123456
UltraVnc> resolving host by name: ID
UltraVnc> failed to resolve locally.
ERROR: can't resolve hostname: ID
UltraVnc> Unable to connect to destination host, errno=11001
UltraVnc> Waiting for connection ...


What should I do?
Guest
 

Postby thierryvdv » 2004-07-15 16:38

Hi guest,

I have figured it out. you need another version of the repeater. Especially the one of RC16

go to http://download.ultravnc.net. Just beneath the location where you can download RC18, you click on [View ALL Project Files]. Then, beneath RC16, you will find a seperate download for the repeater. This is the one you need.
thierryvdv
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2004-07-07 20:22

YOUR ARE CORRECT!!!!!

Postby misja » 2004-07-17 14:36

I am the guest from earlier.

The older version (The one under RC16) of the repeater works great just like you said!

I am very glad that this solved my problem. I hope in the future that this product is improved because it certainly will simplify my life as an offsite computer sales support person!!!

GREAT WORK!!!! :wink:
misja
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2004-07-14 21:27

Another ?

Postby misja » 2004-07-17 15:39

How would I run the WINVNC from the command line (for this scenario)?

:crazy:
misja
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2004-07-14 21:27


Return to General help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests

cron