QueryAccept=2 Question

Here you will find help for frequently asked questions as well as for your specific question.

QueryAccept=2 Question

Postby r2bg » 2018-08-28 13:44

Hello,

i have a question for the different QueryAccept modes.
In my understanding these are the different modes you can set:
QueryAccept=0 = Reject
QueryAccept=1 = Accept the connection
QueryAccept=2 = Reject but accept the connection when the user is on another desktop like the secure desktop.

1. I would like to know on wich desktops "QueryAccept=2" is automatically accepting the connection. It would be great to know exactly when the user can't decide if he want's to accept the connection.
2. Can i set "QueryAccept=2" in the GUI? At the moment i have to set "QueryAccept=2" in the config and i have to set the config to "read only", because otherwise settings get overrided by the GUI.
r2bg
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-08-27 13:30

Re: QueryAccept=2 Question

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2018-08-28 19:01

It's a combination of all settings...you can full configure it your way... but a little hard to find the correct settings
If you tell what you want todo i can give the correct settings for it.

AuthHosts=
+ =allow
- = deny
? = query
syntax:
-:+10.0.60.141:?10.0.31.169:-10.0.20.240:
instead of 10.0.60.141 you can use 10.0.60, then it is valid for the full range of ip addresses.

QuerySetting=2
Define on how to react on the (-,?,+) from the Authhosts.
0="+:Accept, ?:Accept, -:Query"
1="+:Accept, ?:Accept, -:Reject"
2="+:Accept, ?:Query, -:Reject [Default]"
3="+:Query, ?:Query, -:Reject"
4="+:Query, ?:Reject, -:Reject"
It is used to specify a set of IP address templates which incoming connections must match in order to be accepted. By default, the template is empty and connections from all AuthHosts_Tip5="hosts are accepted. The template is of the form:
+[ip-address-template]
?[ip-address-template]
-[ip-address-template]
In the above, [ip-address-template] represents the leftmost bytes of the desired stringified IP-address.
For example, +158.97 would match both 158.97.12.10 and 158.97.14.2. Multiple match terms may be specified, delimited by the ":" character. Terms appearing later in the template take precedence over earlier ones. e.g. -:+158.97: would filter out all incoming connections except those beginning with 158.97. Terms beginning with the "?" character are treated by default as indicating hosts from whom connections must be accepted at the server side via a dialog box. The QuerySetting option determines the precise behaviour of the three AuthHosts options.

QueryTimeout=10
QueryTimeout is the time the messagebox is shown.

QueryAccept=0 ( 0=refuse 1=accept 2=refuse)
This popup a timed messagebox to allow the user (server site) to allow/reject an incoming connect.

QueryIfNoLogon=0
Disable/enable query settings when no user is logged.

If the user is logged on, but has his screensaver on you normal can't get access as "QueryIfNoLogon" find a logged user.
to overwrite this set QueryAccept=2 and QueryIfNoLogon=0 -> no messagebox when screen is locked.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5790
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: QueryAccept=2 Question

Postby r2bg » 2018-08-29 15:50

Thank you for your response.

I just need a configuration for the UAC prompt in Windows 10 and the possibility that users have to decide if they want to allow the connection (while they're logged in), because of the EU-GDPR.
At the moment we're losing the connection on Windows 10, when the desktop is changing to the "Secure Desktop" mode (UAC prompt).

The new setting for the delay start of the query window, doesn't seem to work with QueryAccept=0 (I tried different delay times > 0 sec, 1sec, 10sec, 50sec ..).
Another important thing is, that the user don't have to accept again and again for every UAC prompt. What is the case when we're losing the connection due to a uac prompt and then our client is trying to connect again and the user have to accept while in the secure desktop.

All this seems to be fixed when using "QueryAccept=2", because the connection is automatically accepted, while the user is on the secure desktop (uac prompt).
So i' would like to know when the connection is automatically accepted while using "QueryAccept=2" or is is only on the secure desktop?
r2bg
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-08-27 13:30

Re: QueryAccept=2 Question

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2018-08-29 19:03

Suppose you have
AuthHosts= ?*
QuerySetting=2
QueryTimeout=10
QueryAccept=0
QueryIfNoLogon=0
Show accept box for all ip addresses and wait 10 second, After timeout refuse unless no there is nologged user
QueryAccept=2
Show accept box for all ip addresses and wait 10 second, After timeout refuse only if the desktop is the default desktop
UAC/screensaver _> are accepted
screensver accepted could be a gdrp issue, as you could see the user desktop without his permission.
To follow gdpr you need to set the screensaver lock option (OS)
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5790
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: QueryAccept=2 Question

Postby r2bg » 2018-08-30 07:47

Yes currently we don't use AuthHosts, but the "Require MS Logon" field.
The Screensaver shouldn't be a problem in our case, because our Pc's change to the login screen when they're reactivated from the screensaver.

For Windows 7 we used these settings:
QuerySetting=4
QueryTimeout=10
QueryAccept=0
QueryIfNoLogon=0

And for Windows 10 i would like to use:
QuerySetting=4
QueryTimeout=10
QueryAccept=2
QueryIfNoLogon=0

So would it be possible to integrate the "QueryAccept=2" option into the graphical user interface?
Otherwise we had to set the config to read only, because the config always reset the "QueryAccept=2" to 0 as soon as we make a change in the GUI of UltraVNC Server (Admin Properties)

Thank you for your quick answers and help on this "specific" topic!
r2bg
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-08-27 13:30

Re: QueryAccept=2 Question

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2018-08-30 18:58

Indeed seems to reset to 0.
It's in the uvnc_settings.exe, the server gui is already complex that some less used option need to be set via this seperate exe.
But as the server reset it to 0 not very helpfull....

Corrected in current version.
Please download again winvnc.exe changed
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5790
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21


Return to General help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 9 guests

cron