(windows) Platform Timer Resolution set to 1ms

Here you will find help for frequently asked questions as well as for your specific question.

(windows) Platform Timer Resolution set to 1ms

Postby drlava » 2018-09-04 22:08

Dev team,
Windows is reporting that UltraVNC is setting the platform timer resolution (timeslice resolution) to 1ms. This increases system/task switching overhead and increases CPU use, draining my battery. This is commonly set with a call to timeBeginPeriod().

How can I instruct UltraVNC to not set this fine time resolution, and keep the standard windows task switching timer in place?
drlava
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2018-09-04 16:00

Re: (windows) Platform Timer Resolution set to 1ms

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2018-09-05 08:46

It's not something you can put on or off. The compiler use this timer if a single high precision function is used.
This would require that we check the full source for the high precision functions. Disable code parts and vnc functions or replace them with alternative code and all in a switch statement tobe able to swicth it on or off.
Not for now, will put it on a todo list.

What the cpu gain you can get with it ?
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5739
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: (windows) Platform Timer Resolution set to 1ms

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2018-09-07 21:28

winvnc with low resolution timer hardcoded
https://www.uvnc.eu/download/1222/winvn ... 092018.zip
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5739
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21


Return to General help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

cron