Authentication type is invalid. - error

Here you will find help for frequently asked questions as well as for your specific question.

Authentication type is invalid. - error

Postby spurspld » 2019-03-13 11:54

Hello,

I have used UltraVNC for years, without any issues. Since November I can't log to other computers and I receive an error "Authentication type is invalid" when I try to log in. I use UltraVNC in domain environment. I have nearly 30 PC's and this error appears in all of them.
Does anyone have met the same error ?
spurspld
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2019-03-13 11:43

Re: Authentication type is invalid. - error

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2019-03-13 20:09

Are you mixing ultravnc with real or tightvnc ?
Both flavors need to understand the same auth type
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5898
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Authentication type is invalid. - error

Postby spurspld » 2019-03-15 07:08

No, I use central deployment system and every host uses same version of UltraVNC 1.0.9.6
Since two week I am testing the newest available version 1.2.2.3 but the error remains the same
spurspld
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2019-03-13 11:43

Re: Authentication type is invalid. - error

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2019-03-15 20:46

1.0.9.6 use an older rfb protocl. (RFB 3.3)
1.2.2.3 use RFB 3.8
Looks like you are mixing rfb protocols
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5898
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Authentication type is invalid. - error

Postby spurspld » 2019-03-20 10:12

No, this problem begins on 1.0.9.6. All computer were with 1.0.9.6
What can I check for this Authentication ?
spurspld
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2019-03-13 11:43

Re: Authentication type is invalid. - error

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2019-03-20 18:57

Are you using a vnc password, mslogon with groups, user/passwd.

Take you own pc.
Download the zip 1224, and extract it to a temp folder.
Now start winvnc, it just ask to set a password ( all is stored in the same folder as winvnc.exe)
Run vncviewer on the same pc and connect to localhost, enter the passwd

I usual extract the zip on 2 usb sticks instead of a temp folder, then i can move and test the same config on all pc"s.

Next try between 2 pc's, both directions
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5898
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21


Return to General help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests