Update: UltraVNC 1.4.3.6 and UltraVNC SC 1.4.3.6: viewtopic.php?t=37885
Important: Please update to latest version before to create a reply, a topic or an issue: viewtopic.php?t=37864

Join us on social networks and share our announcements:
- Website: https://uvnc.com/
- GitHub: https://github.com/ultravnc
- Mastodon: https://mastodon.social/@ultravnc
- Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ultravnc1
- X/Twitter: https://twitter.com/ultravnc1
- Reddit community: https://www.reddit.com/r/ultravnc
- OpenHub: https://openhub.net/p/ultravnc

VNC over UDP

Any features you would like to see in UltraVNC? Propose it here
Post Reply
mloiaco
8
8
Posts: 10
Joined: 2009-06-01 15:36

VNC over UDP

Post by mloiaco »

Is there any way to force VNC to use UDP instead of TCP?
faali
Posts: 3
Joined: 2009-11-23 14:24

Re: VNC over UDP

Post by faali »

I am also looking for it???
kissson
20
20
Posts: 33
Joined: 2006-06-12 08:52

Re: VNC over UDP

Post by kissson »

would it be a speed burst ?
B
800
800
Posts: 2338
Joined: 2009-09-09 14:05

Re: VNC over UDP

Post by B »

Possible, but I doubt it in practice.

I don't know if the RFB protocol knows or cares whether it's transmitted via TCP or UDP, but of course with UDP you'll need higher level software doing the error checking for missed and misordered packets.

I think screen display and remote control is a little less error-tolerant than normal UDP uses like streaming video and audio.

Then again, considering how dreadfully slow most VNC connections are, anything would help!
Tangente
Posts: 3
Joined: 2010-08-13 14:23
Location: Bolivia

Re: VNC over UDP

Post by Tangente »

Greetings. My team and I are implementing UDP transport in UltraVNC.
Our idea, is to bind the vncSockConnect (TCP) to 127.0.0.1 and spawn a parallel vncUdpSockConnect thread that listens UDP traffic. When a new udp client try to connect (he send a HELLO packet to notify his intention), our vncUdpSockConnect creates a new tcp socket and connect it to the server socket, then all udp traffic from this client will be retransmitted to tcp socket in loopback.
We'll submit a patch soon (i hope).
B
800
800
Posts: 2338
Joined: 2009-09-09 14:05

Re: VNC over UDP

Post by B »

Sounds like a clever approach -- you're preserving the TCP path back to regular engine.

If you're going to be taking a while to do it, you might consider working with the new 2.x branch. There are a couple of developer discussions ongoing in the forum.

I guess the only part I don't understand is that, if this will require customizations at both client and server ends, as I assume it will, then why bother with the loopback approach, since UDP support could be handled directly within a new VNC?

Anyway... thanks for sharing!
Tangente
Posts: 3
Joined: 2010-08-13 14:23
Location: Bolivia

Re: VNC over UDP

Post by Tangente »

Mainly for multithread nature of Ultravnc: every client spawns a thread and to adapt it to udp will be difficult.
JohnPeter
Posts: 6
Joined: 2008-01-04 22:35
Location: Southern California

Re: VNC over UDP

Post by JohnPeter »

I have been looking at inexpensive routers, such as ones that end-users might install in their residences and small businesses. While it is common for them to pass TCP/IP, UDP is almost never mentioned in the specs. I know UDP is a simpler protocol than TCP; perhaps accommodation for UDP is universally understood... i.e., implied; but I am not a student of these details.

It seems that UltraVNC RELIES on TCP/IP and not UDP. Attempts to exploit UDP might encounter an obstacle, if routers will not cooperate.

Can anyone tell me if UltraVNC is, firstly, natively NOT dependent on UDP?

Can anyone tell me if routers, by and large, pass UDP?

Thanks!
Tangente
Posts: 3
Joined: 2010-08-13 14:23
Location: Bolivia

Re: VNC over UDP

Post by Tangente »

UltraVnc and protocol RFB relies in TCP.
We are working to implement UDP as alternative. First choice will be always TCP.
Paolo Malfatti
CIDIS CAMIRI - REGUE BUSIC
Post Reply