Missing server name in VNC windows

Any feature you'd like to see in Ultr@VNC? Just propose it here.

Missing server name in VNC windows

Postby FrankBerlin » 2019-06-10 06:11

Hello,

It is extremely inconvenient that there is no way to add either automatically or manually some information to the UltraVNC window that tells me to which server I am connected with (like server numer or name).

When having three or more connections open, this quickly gets very confusing.

Best regards
FrankBerlin
FrankBerlin
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2019-06-10 05:58

Re: Missing server name in VNC windows

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2019-06-10 09:08

The viewer just display the server info transmitted from server to viewer.
Your server need to send a string containing the data he want to display.

Code: Select all
7.3.2.  ServerInit

   After receiving the ClientInit message, the server sends a ServerInit
   message.  This tells the client the width and height of the server's
   framebuffer, its pixel format, and the name associated with the
   desktop:

RFC 6143             The Remote Framebuffer Protocol          March 2011


      +--------------+--------------+------------------------------+
      | No. of bytes | Type [Value] | Description                  |
      +--------------+--------------+------------------------------+
      | 2            | U16          | framebuffer-width in pixels  |
      | 2            | U16          | framebuffer-height in pixels |
      | 16           | PIXEL_FORMAT | server-pixel-format          |
      | 4            | U32          | name-length                  |
      | name-length  | U8 array     | name-string                  | <<< This is displayed on the viewer
      +--------------+--------------+------------------------------+
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5933
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Missing server name in VNC windows

Postby FrankBerlin » 2019-06-29 06:22

Hello,

pardon, but this is absurdly complicated: Even with my solid Unix experiance since 1986 I would not know how to convince my OpenSuse server to add such data. And there is no need to, either. In German we say: "Why simple, if there is also a complicated solution!?" That applies here.

This is the simple solution:

Every RDP window established with the MS RDP software shows a user-supplied window title that identifies the connection in the related window's title bar. This info is, of course, also shown in the icon repesenting this window. I often have 12-15 RDP connections open. If they were like UVC there'd be no chance to select the wanted connection.

So, of course, there is no need to show any identification INSIDE the UVC window. I would be fully sufficient to allow a user to add some server info to the WINDOW TITLE when opening a new connection. Even the IP Nr would be sufficient, although alone not optimal.

Regards
FrankBerlin
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2019-06-10 05:58

Re: Missing server name in VNC windows

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2019-06-29 21:54

All different vnc flavors use the same protocol to be able to connect to each other.
This way mac/unix/linux/windows from different developers can't talk to each other.

One of the protocol rules is that the server send his "displayName" to the viewer.
The viewer show this name.

If you are using ultravnc as server, you get the name displayed and indeed having 15 connections
open, you have 15 different names, just like RDP.

Normal each vnc server implementaion should follow the protocol.
Possible the vnc server you use has this option but you need to set in the config of the vnc server.

I"m sorry, the server need to send this string.
You can have multiple connections to the same external ip but forwarded to different internal
servers. You can use a repeater , then all connections have the same ip.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5933
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Missing server name in VNC windows

Postby FrankBerlin » 2019-06-30 21:17

Hello,

you are completely wrong and mistaken: There is definetely no need for the server to send anything for the window title!

Here how it can work:

  • The local VNC client application opens a window (just like in RDP).
  • The settings used for this VNC session and window are/can be taken from a *.vnc settings file (just like in RDP).
  • This settings must additionally contain a user-supplied server name and/or IP Nr (just like in RDP).
  • Which is shown in the top part of the created window instead of the meaningless and useless current text like "VNC manager" or "New session".

So where is your problem?

I really can't understand why such a simple feature had not been added centuries ago to such a frequently used program!

Regards
FrankBerlin
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2019-06-10 05:58

Re: Missing server name in VNC windows

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2019-06-30 23:21

This is how our viewer title looks
Image

The default viewer title is "VNCviewer" and this is replaced by the server identification string.
If your the viewer show "VNC manager" or "New session" then the server is actual sending this text to the viewer.

You are asking to overwrite the server identification string with some custom message because the server send meaningless and useless text. Why is the server sending this identification ? How can a software know when the provided identification string is bad.

It's also possible that a vnc manager software is actual doing a findwindow and setText to replace the viewer window title.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5933
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Missing server name in VNC windows

Postby FrankBerlin » 2019-07-01 19:08

Hello,

Either:
1) You did no read my last post
2) or you did not understand it
3) or I am simply too stupid to explain such a simple problem.

Whatever is true, I give up!

Reagrds
FrankBerlin
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2019-06-10 05:58


Return to Feature requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests