change the default port of the repeater

Any feature you'd like to see in Ultr@VNC? Just propose it here.

change the default port of the repeater

Postby ck2 » 2004-07-16 14:08

Both the server and the repeater default to 5900. This means you have to override the default of one of them if you are going to run both on the same box. Some minimal changes could remove that step. I can see 2 ways.

1. Default the repeater to 5901. In the client, if a repeater is specified, use 5901.

2. a. repeater: don’t blind to loopback by default (don’t know what it currently does)
b. when the server is run, if it sees that something (probably the repeater) is bound to 5900 of the external interface (the nic), only bind to loopback and allow connections to it.

It would make the instructions much simpler - pretty much just run it, no need to mention ports.

It would cause some people to modify their firewall rules if they want to use the defaults. For those that have used up their one firewall change per year quota, they can override the VNC defaults on the command line to make it behave as it currently does.

Carl Karsten
ck2
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2004-07-16 13:50

Postby mshill_ca » 2004-09-24 18:59

2nd the motion.

Having the repeater default to 5901 makes sense. BTW, this repeater works great - thanks for building it! Has solved my problem with getting thru a linksys router.
mshill_ca
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2004-09-23 22:47

related (repeater) question

Postby ACN » 2004-10-07 14:28

Hi,

I too would like to see an easier repeater setup.

In fact it would be nice if it had some kind of GUI (like the one for configuring the WinVNC server service) allowing you to set port(s) and to specify startup-options (ie. start with windows, run as service etc.)

Notably it would be very nice if either a service version of the repeater was made, or alternativly it came with some (easy, that is) way of having it run as a service (that is, so as to make it available whenever the WinVNC server service is running.) Something like repeater -install_service would do the trick I guess?


ACN
ACN
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2004-10-07 14:02

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2004-10-07 16:50

That part is already done....
gui
service

Current adding Allow/refuse options...
Viewer can only connect to thoose internal adresses.

Allow
192.168.20;192.168.21.24
refuse
192.168.22;192.168.23;
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5911
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Postby Guest » 2004-10-07 19:38

Once again, you appear to be way ahead of us Rudi ;)
Guest
 


Return to Feature requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest