Can't connect to my Vista64 VNC session

Can't connect to my Vista64 VNC session

Postby cypherx » 2009-07-16 14:39

Ok, I had 1.0.5 previously and that didn't work, so I uninstaller the service and installed Ultra VNC 1.0.6.4. It says Win32 server in properties but I dl the 64 bit version.

Now I try to connect to this vista machine from a Windows XP client. I've tried Ultra VNC and Real VNC, neither connect. Ultra VNC at least gives me more detailed information. Without the MSRC4Plugin.dsm activated, I get to enter my password but then I get "WriteExact: Socket error while writing."

With the MSRC4Plugin.dsm I don't even get to enter a password, the box in the upper right will hang on "Negotiating protocol version".

I don't have the vista firewall turned on (internal corporate network secured by a pair of Cisco ASA5500's, don't need it). I'm trying to simply connect from a Windows XP client on the same internal lan with no firewall in between.

I'm not sure what is stopping the communication.

Thanks for the help!
cypherx
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2009-07-16 14:33

Re: Can't connect to my Vista64 VNC session

Postby cypherx » 2009-07-21 11:17

I guess no one knows. Yeah really confusing when you check the obvious (firewall) and ensure that it's off.

Guess I'll have to try other remote solutions. Not RDP either because I want to control the local console. RDP is flawed as there's no option to control the local console, it logs the person off and logs the remote user in on a new session. WTF was M$ thinking? VNC is great on XP, just struggling to get it to work on Vista 64. Maybe it will work in Windows 7 64.
cypherx
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2009-07-16 14:33

Re: Can't connect to my Vista64 VNC session

Postby bigjohn » 2009-10-17 15:09

I am having this issue as well.
I have VNC32 installed on a couple of machines 1.0.6.4, i think.

I built the wife a new desktop, and installed Win7Ultimate RTM 64.

So, I figured I'd install VNC 64 (.6.5) on the new computer. I have the ARC4dsm plugin on all my machines, because i will access them remotely. Firewall is configured, loop back enabled, and everything in Admin looks like it should (compared to my laptop running .6.4 32bit).

I can get it to prompt me for the password, but then it fails.

Please advise!

(Rudi?)
bigjohn
20
20
 
Posts: 51
Joined: 2009-01-06 16:39

Re: Can't connect to my Vista64 VNC session

Postby redge » 2009-10-17 19:28

bigjohn and cypherx

> I have the ARC4dsm plugin on all my machines, because i will access them remotely

replace the msrc4plugin.dsm by securevncplugin.dsm
http://adamwalling.com/SecureVNC/
Last edited by redge on 2009-10-17 19:29, edited 1 time in total.
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: Can't connect to my Vista64 VNC session

Postby bigjohn » 2009-10-19 11:05

wow thanks! that works!
bigjohn
20
20
 
Posts: 51
Joined: 2009-01-06 16:39


Return to 1.0.6.X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest