AT&T 2 wire ADSL modem router

AT&T 2 wire ADSL modem router

Postby kenkorshin » 2009-10-22 16:11

I have not used UVNC for some time. I downloaded and installed the program. Since I last had it running my hardware has changed and I am using an AT&T 2wire ADSL modem/router.

I can connect locally.
I cannot connect remotely using my static IP provided by ATT.
All the proper ports are opened and confirmed open by PF port Checker.
In the past if I moused over the UVNC icon in the task bar it showed my public static ip, now it shows the local IP of my desktop.

I have searched everywhere for an answer. ATT was zero help, took remote control of my computer and even managed to knock my wireless printer out of the network.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

[mod]modified the title[/mod]
Last edited by kenkorshin on 2009-10-22 20:29, edited 1 time in total.
kenkorshin
8
8
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2004-08-04 20:23

Re: AT&T 2 wire modem

Postby redge » 2009-10-22 18:42

AT&T can't help except tell you read book and learning about Port Forwarding. is out of help. is network more complicate for explain by phone or by e-mail.

you need to port forward with your home router.
home, is internal private IP network (Local Area Network), outside of your router is public ip (WAN = Wide Area Network)
internal enterprise, is LAN with firewall and router. need more knowledge about network and security.

Port forwarding NAT/router/firewall for any VNC
http://www.simpleportforwarding.com/node/8
Last edited by redge on 2009-10-22 18:43, edited 1 time in total.
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: AT&T 2 wire modem

Postby kenkorshin » 2009-10-22 20:04

I have the ports open. Something in the router is preventing VNC from connecting to my WAN. Tell me what you need to know to help me. Here is the ipconfig:
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\KJK>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : dellxps
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : gateway.2wire.net

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82566DC Gigabit Network Connecti
on
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-19-D1-E4-81-1C
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d57b:fbbb:5b14:ca36%7(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.65(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, October 22, 2009 3:43:54 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, October 23, 2009 3:57:38 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 184555985
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-11-A4-D6-7A-00-19-D1-E4-81-1C

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.65%17(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled


The public ip is 65.xx.xx.xxx

Thanks for your help.
kenkorshin
8
8
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2004-08-04 20:23

Re: AT&T 2 wire modem

Postby redge » 2009-10-22 20:26

on your router, you need forward port 5900 to your internal private ip 192.168.1.65 (you need to reserve IP/hostname in the DHCP)
otherwise, if there another computer in your network can take your actual ip.

on computer where is installed ultravnc server up and running.
go to url below and check if success or fail
https://www.grc.com/x/portprobe=5900

if fail, is mean, you need to use another port.
your Internet Service Provider (ISP) block the default VNC port 5900
UltraVNC or any VNC or Remote Desktop is UNUSABLE over ADSL

if sucess,
you need to remember only your public static IP (if dynamic, you need to subscribe to a free/paid dynamic dns service provider and register your own favorite Fully Qualified Domain Name (FQDN)
example: tartempion.dynamicdns.org
then set register to your router or install dynamic dns software on the computer of ultravnc server. this will update your hostname with the new ip if change.
Last edited by redge on 2009-10-22 20:27, edited 1 time in total.
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: AT&T 2 wire ADSL modem router

Postby kenkorshin » 2009-10-22 23:25

I have a static isp. I can connect vnc via my local isp 192.168.1.65.

How do I connect from a remote computer? I cannot connect using my static isp?

>>then set register to your router or install dynamic dns software on the computer of ultravnc server. this will update your hostname with the new ip if change.<< I don't understand this. I have a static isp so I don't need dynamic isp software.
kenkorshin
8
8
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2004-08-04 20:23

Re: AT&T 2 wire ADSL modem router

Postby kenkorshin » 2009-10-22 23:27

I have a static isp. I can connect vnc via my local isp 192.168.1.65.

How do I connect from a remote computer? I cannot connect using my static isp?

>>then set register to your router or install dynamic dns software on the computer of ultravnc server. this will update your hostname with the new ip if change.<< I don't understand this. I have a static isp so I don't need dynamic isp software.

When I enter the static ISP on a remote computer I cannot connect.
kenkorshin
8
8
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2004-08-04 20:23

Re: AT&T 2 wire ADSL modem router

Postby YY » 2009-10-23 11:16

Hi! kenkorshin,

According to the info you provided, you pc is sitting behind NAT router. If you want to connect from internet, you must make a Port Forwarding setting on the router. Since uvnc server uses port 5900 (tcp) to accept connection, and the ip of that pc is 192.168.1.65, so what you need to do is having a setting on the router like:
forward 5900 (tcp) to 192.168.1.65

Again, from the info you provided, the NAT router is at 192.168.1.254.
You can use the I.E. to connect to it. Try to input:
http://192.168.1.254

However, some router may use a special port (in this case, you may to need to ask the equipment provider, AT&T). In such case, you need to know the port no., and at I.E. input:
http://192.168.1.254:xx


If the router prompt for the input of a password .... again you must get this info (equipment provider, AT&T) to proceed.

Once you can access the setting page, try to find out where you can configure the setting mnetioned above.
Last edited by YY on 2009-10-23 11:20, edited 1 time in total.
YY
200
200
 
Posts: 996
Joined: 2006-11-13 15:11

Re: AT&T 2 wire ADSL modem router

Postby kenkorshin » 2009-10-23 12:20

YY:

unless opening ports and port forwarding are different the ports are opened.
kenkorshin
8
8
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2004-08-04 20:23

Re: AT&T 2 wire ADSL modem router

Postby YY » 2009-10-23 15:23

They may be the same matter in one case, but may be not in another case.

It will be quite a lot to explain their difference.

For PFPortChecker to detect (accuratly) the status of a port, the first condition it requested you to do is:
Forward the port you want to test in your router to this IP address: xx.xx.xx.xxImage

Question:
1. Have you configured the required port forwarding at the router?
2. If not, do you think the test result is the fact you supposed to be?



If this was not done, in general situation you should got a result of PORT NOT OPEN

If the port forwarding at router is not properly configured, but PFPortChecker still reports a PORT OPEN, may be it is because you have another pc in your network that also had UVNC installed, and the 5900 is forwarded to this another pc.
Last edited by YY on 2009-10-23 15:59, edited 1 time in total.
YY
200
200
 
Posts: 996
Joined: 2006-11-13 15:11

Re: AT&T 2 wire ADSL modem router

Postby redge » 2009-10-23 16:07

I cannot connect using my static isp?


No,
private address space dynamic/static ip LAN, internal home/enterprise only
public address space dynamic/static ip WAN, Internet

so you MUST use static or dynamic ip for reach any remote computer
like i wrote tartempion.dynamicdns.com or public ip 62.65.112.27

these are 3 class cannot be used over Internet (no routing possible)

please read below.
http://www.idevelopment.info/data/Netwo ... pace.shtml
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: AT&T 2 wire ADSL modem router

Postby kenkorshin » 2009-10-23 19:02

WOW, it's working but I have no idea why. All I did, in frustration, was hard reset the modem, set up the port forwarding just as I had done. Sort reset the modem and voila!

Thank you all so very much for your time and patience.
kenkorshin
8
8
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2004-08-04 20:23


Return to 1.0.6.X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron