CAD.exe in Windows7 and Vista

CAD.exe in Windows7 and Vista

Postby exillion » 2009-11-15 00:35

Hello,
Today I discovered what might be the reason for CAD being
so slow in Windows 2008, Vista or Windows7 when we are in
the Logon screen.

Please read carefully:

CAD.exe is signed by Rudi with a cert from Globalsign
E = rudi.de.vos@skynet.be
CN = uvnc bvba
O = uvnc bvba
C = BE


CN = GlobalSign ObjectSign CA
OU = ObjectSign CA
O = GlobalSign nv-sa
C = BE

Now, here is the interesting part:
If ou are behind a corporate proxy or something
that does not directly allow you to connect to
the Internet site of Globalsign ( 64.18.25.38 ), then
the process consent.exe is trying to check the validity
of the CERT and uses this site to see revocation lists etc.

This poses a great deal of SYN_SENT towards the site
to port 80 until the site web server responds with the
necessary data. Please check http://64.18.25.38

We can monitor this with TCPview from Sysinternals.

Until the site responds or the consecutive Web requests
return or timeout, CAD.exe is not getting executed.

After all unsuccessful requests timeout, CAD.exe is fired up
and Control Alt Delete is pressed...


Hope I helped .
Last edited by exillion on 2009-11-15 22:01, edited 2 times in total.
EXILLION - Extreme Value Technologies
makers of
Netgotiator - the Digital Mediator

http://www.netgotiator.com

Follow us on twitter : http://twitter.com/netgotiator
and FaceBook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Netgotiator/74552079557
exillion
20
20
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 2007-08-01 22:33
Location: Greece

Re: CAD.exe in Windows7 and Vista

Postby kondrich » 2009-11-17 11:21

I can confirm this being responsible for those delays. We are also suffering from this problem.

After reading this post I asked our network administrator to temporary allow direct access to 64.18.25.38:80 bypassing the firewall: Windows logon window appeared within a few seconds.
Of course he would be not happy with creating firewall exceptions due to this issue.

So is there a way to come around this check or any other solution?
kondrich
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2009-10-13 11:03
Location: Austria

Re: CAD.exe in Windows7 and Vista

Postby kondrich » 2009-11-19 09:34

Some more experiences with this workaround: It seems that a connection to 64.18.25.38:80 has to exist just once. Now when the firewall is closed again, CTRL-ALT-DEL is still processed withing a second. It seems that the CRLs are just downloaded once or the signature has to be valitated just once per machine.
kondrich
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2009-10-13 11:03
Location: Austria

Re: CAD.exe in Windows7 and Vista

Postby 9c1 » 2009-12-22 12:56

I can confirm this as well. We just started testing Windows 7 Pro in our AD 2003 environment and I found that when I hit CAD through the viewer, there was a significant delay. I opened up the firewall for the IP listed above and the delay vanished. I then closed the IP on our firewall and was still able to hit CAD without a delay. VNC Server and Viewer versions are 1.0.8.2.
9c1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2009-12-22 12:52

Re: CAD.exe in Windows7 and Vista

Postby santonoff » 2010-01-19 22:43

I have not been able to work around the CAD problem. I've read everything I can find about it with no resolution.

I have two Windows 7 machines, one is x86 (Ultimate), the other x64 (Pro). The symptoms are the same on both machines. I have MS Security Essentials running on both. I have disabled it with no change.

If I run 1.0.8.2 as a service, it runs fine but CAD doesn't work.

If I run 1.0.8.2 as an application, started as the local administrator, everything works UNTIL the system goes to the locked screen (uvnc disconnect, for example), then when trying to reconnect it says "server closed connection - the server running as application". Going the keyboard and reactivating (CAD/username/password) lets UVNC work again until the system goes to locked state again.

CAD.EXE is in the UltraVNC directory, as is schook.dll I have tried tagging cad.exe to "run in administrator mode" with no change.

One thing I noticed is that the certificate for CAD.EXE expired last April.

As a service, winvnc starts as the system user with access to the desktop.

Also, if a remote machine is connected and I go to the UltraVNC directory and run CAD from the local keyboard, there is no reaction on the system: no error message, nothing, the normal command prompt returns.
santonoff
8
8
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2005-07-13 14:01

Re: CAD.exe in Windows7 and Vista

Postby yutt » 2010-01-21 16:01

santonoff wrote:Also, if a remote machine is connected and I go to the UltraVNC directory and run CAD from the local keyboard, there is no reaction on the system: no error message, nothing, the normal command prompt returns.
You have exactly the same symptoms I did.

[Solved] Ctrl-Alt-Del not working at all in Windows 7
yutt
8
8
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2010-01-05 17:46

Re: CAD.exe in Windows7 and Vista

Postby kondrich » 2010-01-21 16:20

Exillion's work-around seems to be forgetful: Now our servers need 1-2mins again to show login screen. Seems that the certificate download is tried again after a period of time (30days, for example) and if the firewall is closed again: Wait.
kondrich
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2009-10-13 11:03
Location: Austria

Re: CAD.exe in Windows7 and Vista

Postby santonoff » 2010-01-21 16:25

Unfortunately, this is not the problem: I have never turned UAC off. I had it set to the default setting of dimming the screen when I started, then changed it to notify but not dim the screen (as recommended by UltraVNC forums). I get UAC notifications all the time.

yutt wrote:
santonoff wrote:Also, if a remote machine is connected and I go to the UltraVNC directory and run CAD from the local keyboard, there is no reaction on the system: no error message, nothing, the normal command prompt returns.
You have exactly the same symptoms I did.

[Solved] Ctrl-Alt-Del not working at all in Windows 7
santonoff
8
8
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2005-07-13 14:01

Re: CAD.exe in Windows7 and Vista

Postby javaerb » 2010-03-08 17:26

I am running on Windows 7 Ultimate x64. When I try to run cad.exe it says not compatible with this version of Windows. Never saw this mentioned in any posts, nor do I see how I can manually download cad.exe.
javaerb
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2010-03-08 17:23

Re: CAD.exe in Windows7 and Vista

Postby adamr » 2010-03-10 20:11

The problem is that there is no system proxy set up in windows, this command will fix the issue in vista and 7. You must use proxycfg in XP but that's not an issue since CAD is not needed.

NetSH WinHTTP Set Proxy proxy-server="proxyserver:8080" bypass-list="*.bypass.com"
adamr
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2009-04-13 17:43

Re: CAD.exe in Windows7 and Vista

Postby javaerb » 2010-03-10 20:16

If one uses the windows installer for x64, it seems, when it downlaods cad.exe, to install the 32-bit version. I had to use the bin package to get the right version of cad.exe.
javaerb
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2010-03-08 17:23

Re: CAD.exe in Windows7 and Vista

Postby javaerb » 2010-03-10 20:18

adamr wrote:The problem is that there is no system proxy set up in windows, this command will fix the issue in vista and 7. You must use proxycfg in XP but that's not an issue since CAD is not needed.

NetSH WinHTTP Set Proxy proxy-server="proxyserver:8080" bypass-list="*.bypass.com"


what does a proxy have to do with anything?
javaerb
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2010-03-08 17:23

Re: CAD.exe in Windows7 and Vista

Postby adamr » 2010-03-11 13:17

Sorry, was posting to the rest of the thread... about the CAD Delay. you may want to start a new thread regarding your issue.
adamr
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2009-04-13 17:43

Re: CAD.exe in Windows7 and Vista

Postby ChrisP » 2010-03-31 10:12

Hi,

First of all: I also had problems with cad.exe on Windows 7, tried different UAC-settings, tried to create a cad-service but nothing happened.no error - nothing.

I've noticed that on my PCs the certificate-chain for cad.exe cannot be followed back to the root. Later I found out that Windows 7 is no longer shipped with installed root certificates - so I applied KB931125 and gladly everything changed back to normal again.

Another question: Why is cad.exe signed and winvnc.exe unsigned?


Chris
ChrisP
8
8
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 2007-04-20 06:13

Re: CAD.exe in Windows7 and Vista

Postby redge » 2010-04-02 22:28

ChrisP wrote:Another question: Why is cad.exe signed and winvnc.exe unsigned?


winvnc.exe 1.0.8.2
built 6 december 2009 is signed
built 12 december 2009 is NOT signed
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: CAD.exe in Windows7 and Vista

Postby nazee_86 » 2012-04-25 08:16

Hi All,

Am using VNC2.35(Derived with thanks from Ultra@VNC Viewer 1.0.2) on my local network to connect client machines remotely. Here the problem is i can't pass CTRL+ALT+DEL screen on windows 7 Machines. Please assist me with your great advice.

Thanks..
nazee_86
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2012-04-25 08:02


Return to 1.0.8.X (stable)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests