Win7 Inputs Not Working

Win7 Inputs Not Working

Postby dpvball » 2010-01-11 22:54

I recently installed 1.0.8.2 and the inputs stopped working on my box. I have checked the settings listed in the sticky post for the disabled inputs, running it as a service on win 7, and having a different view password. All the settings are correct but the inputs are not functioning. i can view the screen, but can't move the mouse or type. I previously had 1.0.5 version installed and everything was working fine. so i'm not sure why it stopped working on this version. any help would be appreciated. thanks
dpvball
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2010-01-11 22:51

Re: Win7 Inputs Not Working

Postby supercoe » 2010-01-11 23:01

Make sure the main password and view only password do not match.

Try deleting ultravnc.ini and recreate your settings.
http://www.chunkvnc.com - ChunkVNC - Free PC Remote control with the Open Source UltraVNC wrapper InstantSupport!
User avatar
supercoe
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 1735
Joined: 2009-07-20 21:27
Location: Walker, MN

Re: Win7 Inputs Not Working

Postby dpvball » 2010-01-12 00:36

thanks for the suggestion.

i double checked the passwords and they are different. i also tried deleting the ultravnc.ini file, but it did not create a new one even after i went through the edit settings program. Also if i delete the file and no file exists there when i restart the service, it hangs the service. i'm going to try to clean out that install folder and uninstall the app and then reinstall. see if that makes a difference.
dpvball
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2010-01-11 22:51

Re: Win7 Inputs Not Working

Postby dpvball » 2010-01-12 20:20

ok so this actually gets a little stranger. so i completely removed ultravnc and reinstalled the full install. So i tested both my view only and my non-view only password and they both work. The strange thing is if i am on the Windows 7 Logon screen to enter my password, my mouse and keyboard work and i can enter my password. Once it logs in and displays my desktop, my keyboard and mouse inputs stop working at this point and i can only view. I'm really at a lost for what is wrong and why the inputs work on the logon screen and not on the desktop. any help would be appreciated. thanks
dpvball
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2010-01-11 22:51

Re: Win7 Inputs Not Working

Postby dpvball » 2010-01-12 20:32

ok not sure why this works. but i removed ultravnc running as a service and ran it as an application. now everything works fine. not sure why this works since it's the exact opposite of what the other posts says. but it seems to be working now.
dpvball
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2010-01-11 22:51

Re: Win7 Inputs Not Working

Postby dpvball » 2010-01-19 20:37

after i restarted, it ran into the same problem again. anyways i give up on 1.0.8.2. i just downgraded back to 1.0.6.5 and voila everything works again. I guess i'll wait till the next version and hope these issues get resolved.
dpvball
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2010-01-11 22:51

Re: Win7 Inputs Not Working

Postby redge » 2010-01-22 22:58

what is the vncviewer version used with winvnc 1.0.8.2 ?
do you use saved information (template.vnc) for start vncviewer with preset for connect to ultravnc server ?

OS viewer and language ?
we not yet find where is the bug since nobody and me too did'nt find what happen.

without reproduce the bug, unpossible to fix !
what the settings of ultravnc.ini except the password ?
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: Win7 Inputs Not Working

Postby marcgistel » 2010-01-27 14:27

hi redge,

my information about this problem:

had this problem on win7 and xp.
tried to install serverdrivers on the machine(normal 1.0.8.2 full setup) then there comes up a error message that I have no permissions to install this drivers.
restarted the pc and it is working.
An other time I did install via 1082 fullsetup but unchecked the "server driver" and here no error message comes up but after the restart I culd not control the PC!

winXP:
Account with no Adminrights -> "execute as..." installed it with server drivers checked -> error message comes up titel: "5" and the path of the uvnc.ini in an temp folder of windows. seems that I could not change the config file and save the new password.
restartet the pc and let the user in front of the PC type in an other password because of I can only view and could not control the system. then said "apply" ->"execute as" comes up and I had to enter the adminpw. then the service freezes and I can not see any changes on the screen, if I reconnect my viewer is freezing on "Negotiate Protocol". -> restarted the PC again and then it is working fine!

I hope I could give you some infromation about this Problem.

regards marc
marcgistel
40
40
 
Posts: 72
Joined: 2008-03-26 09:07
Location: Ulm, Germany

Re: Win7 Inputs Not Working

Postby dpvball » 2010-02-02 23:06

sorry for the late reply, the vncviewer version i was using was also 1.0.8.2. Since i uninstalled everything and also removed all files from the install folder and then did a clean install, it should've put everything as default. I then did all the steps that should fix the view only issue like changing the password for view only etc...

Server:
Win 7 Ultimate
1.0.8.2

Viewer
Win 2003 Server Standard Edition
1.0.8.2

i tried tinkering with it for several days and then just gave up. i'm currently using the 1.0.8.2 viewer on my work computer but my server has been downgraded to version 1.0.6.5 and everything works fine.
dpvball
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2010-01-11 22:51

Re: Win7 Inputs Not Working

Postby vncROCKSkoks » 2010-06-17 21:08

So.. what the heck?

i have been installing 1.8.2 and it never lets me control the screen.

Basically i view with latest or 1.6.5 and to any version of server other than 1.8.2 and it works.. but with 1.8.2 i can see the screen.. but no input.. no CTRL + ALT + DEL.. no mouse movement..

but if i click the mouse buttons and move the mouse super fast on the remote machine while the VNC window is open .. then on the server the mouse icon turns to a hour glass for a split second.. as if it gets the command from the viewer but then forces the menu to not popup...

really wierd..

but its been so long and its not fixed with a UPDATE yet.. and i keep downloading and installing the latest version and it NEVER WORKS AS 1.8.2 SERVER ON WIN 7 MACHINES!@!@!@! NOT A SINGLE WIN 7 1.8.2 ULTRAVNC SERVER WORKS!!!

is ther a fix? or a known issue?

this thread just ends.. no updates on this?
vncROCKSkoks
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2010-06-17 21:04

Re: Win7 Inputs Not Working

Postby supercoe » 2010-06-21 16:17

Wow, no need to get hostile.

The reason there isn't a fix is because there isn't a known problem yet.
1.0.8.2 works fine for me and many others on Vista/7 32 and 64bit.

You'll have to be very specific about the viewer and server OS's, any extra security software used, etc... for us to figure out what the problem is.

Did you have a previous version of VNC before you installed 1.0.8.2?

Have you tried running the UltraVNC server as administrator?

Have you disabled UAC?
http://www.chunkvnc.com - ChunkVNC - Free PC Remote control with the Open Source UltraVNC wrapper InstantSupport!
User avatar
supercoe
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 1735
Joined: 2009-07-20 21:27
Location: Walker, MN

Re: Win7 Inputs Not Working

Postby dpvball » 2010-06-23 08:37

just so you know, the fix here worked for me. not the first post but the second post about replacing the file.

SUMMARIZED: view only

it definitely has to do with dual screens being the issue as i originally had just one monitor setup on this computer and everything would work fine and then once i enabled the second monitor, the view-only problem appeared. just curious, but any reason a patch wasn't released so that it is installed by default?
dpvball
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2010-01-11 22:51

Re: Win7 Inputs Not Working

Postby gsawiris » 2011-09-16 09:57

yeah i went through the same kind of thing...lost mouse control. problem started when i enabled a second monitor. so I disabled it rebooted, enabled it again and everything worked fine. its a minor issue, just need to know how to fix it.
gsawiris
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2011-09-16 06:49

Re: Win7 Inputs Not Working

Postby peppebytes » 2012-03-07 22:24

i have solved by uncheck "Disable viewers inputs"
peppebytes
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2012-03-07 22:19


Return to 1.0.8.X (stable)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron