UltraVNC without any password - possible?

UltraVNC without any password - possible?

Postby negh_var » 2010-03-05 02:38

Is it possible to run UltraVNC without any server password?

I want to setup a VNC connection to another machine in small workgroup but not have to keep typing in a password. The pc's are only used by me and one other person and was just wondering if that can be bypassed.

I've trying unticking the Password required option under the config settings accessed via the start menu program group after stopping the service but still no luck, i'm prompted for a password. I've also tried leaving both password fields blank but it doesn't work.
negh_var
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2010-03-05 02:22

Re: UltraVNC without any password - possible?

Postby YY » 2010-03-05 04:57

Yes, you may leave the two password fields blank, and able to logon a UVNC server without authentication. Howvere, by default the UVNC server not allowing you to do so, unless the "AuthRequired=" option inside ultravnc.ini has been setted to 0 (zero)

Here is the procedure (Assume the UVNC has been installed and running as service)
1. Open the ultravnc.ini (at the installed folder of UVNC) with NOTEPAD, locate the option "AuthRequired=1", and change its value to 0 (zero).
  You need to do in this way, as this option is not accessable under UVNC's Admin Properties.
2. Restart the UVNC service.
3. When UVNC started again, open the Admin Properties, change the two password fields as blank, then save & exit.
4. From now on, when access this server, it will not prompt for a password anymore.
YY
200
200
 
Posts: 996
Joined: 2006-11-13 15:11

Re: UltraVNC without any password - possible?

Postby mmachado » 2014-08-29 13:27

Hello,

I need to use UltraVNC without a password, i followed your instructions and i dont find the ultravnc.ini, I even performed a windows search and nothing..

I am using UltraVNC 1.0.2

thanks for your comments
mmachado
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2014-08-29 13:23

Re: UltraVNC without any password - possible?

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2014-08-29 20:03

to allow a zero passwd
ultravnc.ini
AuthRequired=0

and set a zero passwd ( need to be done in the file, fields need to be empty)
[ultravnc]
passwd=
passwd2=
see
http://www.uvnc.com/docs/uvnc-server/69 ... ncini.html
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5370
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: UltraVNC without any password - possible?

Postby YY » 2014-08-30 08:21

mmachado wrote:I need to use UltraVNC without a password, i followed your instructions and i dont find the ultravnc.ini, I even performed a windows search and nothing..

I am using UltraVNC 1.0.2


You are using 1.0.2, which is a very old version of UltraVNC.

This version follow the original VNC design, which having all setting saved in the registry.

The later versions change the design by using "ultravnc.ini" to keep all setting.

If for any reason you just want to keep on using this old version, you can still make it by changing the setting in the resistry.

Open the registry, and goto the location:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\ORL\WinVNC3\

Double click the key "AuthRequired", and change its value to 0.

After that open the UltraVNC Admin Property, and clear the VNC password, and Apply.

From now on, you can VNC to this server without prompting for a password.
YY
200
200
 
Posts: 996
Joined: 2006-11-13 15:11

Re: UltraVNC without any password - possible?

Postby mmachado » 2014-09-02 12:28

In the registry i just have default, AllowEditClients, AllowProperties, AllowShutdown,

what version gives the option of the ultravnc.ini

is it better to use VNC or UltraVNC?

thanks...
mmachado
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2014-08-29 13:23

Re: UltraVNC without any password - possible?

Postby YY » 2014-09-02 14:49

If the key "AuthRequired" doesn't exist, you can creat it manually.

It is a DWORD, and give it a value of 0, will result the UVNC server accept No Password configuration.


UltraVNC abandoned the use of registry for holding its setting since ver.1.0.4.
See this post for a detail technical background.
http://forum.ultravnc.info/viewtopic.php?t=12471
YY
200
200
 
Posts: 996
Joined: 2006-11-13 15:11

Re: UltraVNC without any password - possible?

Postby Bonji » 2014-09-02 15:31

Remember that MSLogon security still does use the registry, though.
-Ben
Bonji
100
100
 
Posts: 325
Joined: 2008-05-13 14:54

Re: UltraVNC without any password - possible?

Postby mmachado » 2014-09-03 17:59

Hello,

I tried adding AuthRequired in the registry of UltraVNC 1.0.2 and that didnt work,

then i searched UltraVNC 1.0.5 to change the ultravnc.ini variable and i dont have this file in the folder,

can you please send me a link where i can find a version that has the ultravnc.ini in the folder so i can change the variable

thanks
mmachado
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2014-08-29 13:23


Re: UltraVNC without any password - possible?

Postby mmachado » 2014-09-04 15:26

Hello,

which version have you tested that has the ultravnc.ini file and dont request password once that changes have been done?
mmachado
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2014-08-29 13:23


Return to 1.0.8.X (stable)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest

cron