Issue when running "Smart Defrag v2" under XP.

Issue when running "Smart Defrag v2" under XP.

Postby xytsrm » 2011-04-13 02:57

I'm currently running version 1.0.8.2 server on an XP machine & the vierwer on a Vista machine. I had no major issues since Jan2010.

I installed "Smart Defrag v2" on the XP machine, it functions without issue and as long as I'm at the XP PC I can interact with the user-interface. However, the UI fails to display when viewed remotely via the UltraVNC viewer on the Vista machine. The Smart-Defrag icon is visable in the tray, and when clicked it is displayed in the taskbar, but the UI does not appear.

Does anyone have a solution?

Separate question: what's the latest stable version of UltraVNC? If I click "downloads" it shows links to 1.0.8.2, however the forum has references to "1.0.9.6 Stable".
xytsrm
8
8
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2008-10-10 13:42

Re: Issue when running "Smart Defrag v2" under XP.

Postby supercoe » 2011-04-13 14:09

Enable alpha blending in your server options, this fixes most software not displaying GUI components.

The website historically runs late, the builds on the forum are much better. ;)
http://www.chunkvnc.com - ChunkVNC - Free PC Remote control with the Open Source UltraVNC wrapper InstantSupport!
User avatar
supercoe
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 1735
Joined: 2009-07-20 21:27
Location: Walker, MN

Re: Issue when running "Smart Defrag v2" under XP.

Postby xytsrm » 2011-04-14 21:10

Thanks for the Info Supercoe. From you responce I would do well to upgrade from 1.0.8.2 to 1.0.9.6; perhaps that would also correct the GUI display problem.

X.
xytsrm
8
8
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2008-10-10 13:42

Re: Issue when running "Smart Defrag v2" under XP.

Postby xytsrm » 2011-04-14 22:08

Hi Supercoe,

I've got one for you to ponder.

Still using v1.0.8.2, I tried your suggestion and checked Enable Alpha Blending.

The "Smart Defrag" GUI still did not appear on the remote PC, and I lost the "Right Click" menu display on the remote PC.

I un-checked "Enable Alpha Blending" and checked "Capture Alpha Blending" - Still no GUI display, or "Right Click" menu.

I un-checked "Capture Alpha Blending" - now everything is back to the way a was before any changes. Guess what, not only did the "Right Click" menu return, but the "Smart Defrag" GUI displayed on the remote PC. What happened???

X.

Follow-up: When back and logged in again from the remote PC and again the GUI failed to display - something is really weird.
Last edited by xytsrm on 2011-04-14 22:13, edited 1 time in total.
xytsrm
8
8
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2008-10-10 13:42

Re: Issue when running "Smart Defrag v2" under XP.

Postby supercoe » 2011-04-14 22:56

Rudi will have to answer this question but I believe you'll want to disconnect the Viewer after changing a server setting like this.

I'm my experience with ChunkVNC enabling alpha blending made it much better at capturing various programs. An example would be the Office button in Word 2007, it wouldn't show up until this change was made.

Interesting findings, keep us posted and good luck. :)
http://www.chunkvnc.com - ChunkVNC - Free PC Remote control with the Open Source UltraVNC wrapper InstantSupport!
User avatar
supercoe
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 1735
Joined: 2009-07-20 21:27
Location: Walker, MN

Re: Issue when running "Smart Defrag v2" under XP.

Postby xytsrm » 2011-04-15 03:12

I did shutdown and restart the viewer between changes. I made the changes at the server PC.
xytsrm
8
8
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2008-10-10 13:42

Re: Issue when running "Smart Defrag v2" under XP.

Postby supercoe » 2011-04-15 04:29

I guess the solution would be to use the built in Windows defrag tool. :P

Side note, who still defrags their hard drives?
http://www.chunkvnc.com - ChunkVNC - Free PC Remote control with the Open Source UltraVNC wrapper InstantSupport!
User avatar
supercoe
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 1735
Joined: 2009-07-20 21:27
Location: Walker, MN

Re: Issue when running "Smart Defrag v2" under XP.

Postby xytsrm » 2011-04-19 16:26

Anyone with Vista or XP that wants their PC to run faster.
xytsrm
8
8
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2008-10-10 13:42

Re: Issue when running "Smart Defrag v2" under XP.

Postby supercoe » 2011-04-19 18:54

Dry humor doesn't work well on the internet, sorry. :(

I guess my point was that XP includes a defrag tool that works just fine, if you cannot get your tool to work correctly via VNC then I suggest you use the built in one.

Vista has background defragmentation built into the OS. This matched with it's caching ability with SuperFetch just makes me wonder why people even like tools like "Smart Defrag".

The whole thing reminds me of those "RAM Boosting" programs back in the day. :|

Either way, sorry about being dry. Good luck getting your program working.
http://www.chunkvnc.com - ChunkVNC - Free PC Remote control with the Open Source UltraVNC wrapper InstantSupport!
User avatar
supercoe
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 1735
Joined: 2009-07-20 21:27
Location: Walker, MN

Re: Issue when running "Smart Defrag v2" under XP.

Postby xytsrm » 2011-04-19 20:22

It's been my experience the "Smart Defrag" does a faster and more complete job. It also has more user controls.

Regarding XP, there's no background capability.
xytsrm
8
8
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2008-10-10 13:42


Return to 1.0.8.X (stable)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron