VNC Viewer will work with my dynamic address not my dyndns

VNC Viewer will work with my dynamic address not my dyndns

Postby ckozely » 2011-01-14 11:45

I am trying to access my work and finally figured out to get vnc to work for me. One strange thing I still can not figure is the following:

if I check on my Linksys router the current dynamiuc address and input it like: 123.50.91.152::5900 - it works fine as I redirected 5900 to my computer (80 did not work!)

Now in order to avoid having to check my IP, I wanted to use the dyndns and entered the corresponding address. This time it did not work for mycompany.dyndns.info::5900

If I swith back to the memorized ip address it works again. Any suggestion why?

I tried to use the NSC/NVC solution but only had time out in the debug window. So that did not work...

Any input would be nice...
ckozely
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2011-01-13 18:19
Location: French Polynesia

Re: VNC Viewer will work with my dynamic address not my dynd

Postby redge » 2011-01-14 20:35

NSC/NVC, forget it, don't count over it, was just experimental.

you need to see your manual of your router wish dynamic dns is accepted and subscribe and set it
look manual of your router.
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: VNC Viewer will work with my dynamic address not my dynd

Postby ckozely » 2011-01-15 18:52

Thanks for your reply but I believe my router is set properly as I can access the DNS address for other HTTP requests like viwing my cameras...
ckozely
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2011-01-13 18:19
Location: French Polynesia

Re: VNC Viewer will work with my dynamic address not my dynd

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2011-01-15 22:00

On viewer PC
open a cmd tool and use the nslookup command
to verify if your name can be resolved to an ip address.

Code: Select all
Microsoft Windows [versie 6.1.7600]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. Alle rechten voorbehouden.

C:\Users\rudi>nslookup
Standaardserver:  UnKnown
Address:  192.168.1.1

> mycompany.dyndns.info
Server:  UnKnown
Address:  192.168.1.1

*** UnKnown kan mycompany.dyndns.info niet vinden: Non-existent domain

> www.uvnc.com
Server:  UnKnown
Address:  192.168.1.1

Niet-bindend antwoord:
Naam:    uvnc.com
Address:  68.168.97.66
Aliases:  www.uvnc.com

>
>
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5751
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: VNC Viewer will work with my dynamic address not my dynd

Postby ckozely » 2011-01-15 22:51

Rudi,
I did not know about this nslookup command.
You made me discover something that is already bringing me a great solution: knowing the dynamic ip of my remote site in case my dyndns fails

So I tried your command and got a positive reply: the name of my dyndns along with below the IP address.

After that I tried accessing with my DYNDNS and it worked as well.

Try to explain that.

Very strange as I used the history of inputs. That same input did not work when I tested it before starting this trend while the dynamic address did work...

THANK YOU!!! We can close this trend now.
ckozely
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2011-01-13 18:19
Location: French Polynesia


Return to 1.0.9.5 (stable)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron