CAD

CAD

Postby davidgrudek » 2011-01-20 22:28

I am using windows 7 in a domain with UAC off and I did no special group policy to make it work. What it did do was ask if I wanted to apply some registry fix for CAD to work when I pressed it the first time.

I want to know if someone can tell me what these registry keys are so I can apply this to my install script so 5000 users do not have to do this manuly.

A second problem I was having was with a silent install. I could not get around the download parts because our corporate firewall does not let the softwre go get these files so I made an install script. WHat it does is the following:

1. I installed UVNC to another machine
2. Then copied the UltraVNC folder from C:\Program Files to a server share.
3. My script copies that folder to the new machines C:\Program Files\ folder
4. Then I apply the reg key for the AD Authentication
5. Then I create my Start menu SHortcuts
6. Script over

I would like for it to add the CAD registry entries and to know if this is OK to install this way for XP or Win 7? What problems will arise?
davidgrudek
20
20
 
Posts: 53
Joined: 2008-02-11 05:46

Re: CAD

Postby davidgrudek » 2011-01-24 14:52

Any ideas here? This would be a great help.
davidgrudek
20
20
 
Posts: 53
Joined: 2008-02-11 05:46

Re: CAD

Postby redge » 2011-01-24 15:56

C:\> reg add HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System /v SoftwareSASGeneration /t REG_DWORD /d 1 /f

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System]
"SoftwareSASGeneration"=dword:00000001

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System[EnableLUA]


all tips from user B
CAD solution with UAC off

edit untick disable Smilies in this post
Last edited by redge on 2011-01-24 15:57, edited 1 time in total.
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: CAD

Postby davidgrudek » 2011-01-24 18:10

This worked. Thank you. Now our only problem left is that when we log off as one user to log on as a different user it kills the vnc connection. It will let you back in after the logoff process finishes but it is very annoying.
davidgrudek
20
20
 
Posts: 53
Joined: 2008-02-11 05:46

Re: CAD

Postby redge » 2011-01-24 18:53

try the update 1.9.5.1
update and restart computer
post #83242
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: CAD

Postby davidgrudek » 2011-01-24 19:34

I updated to the 1.0.9.5.1h and it still does the same thing. I tried checking the fast user switch fix too and still it does not work.

Does this have anything to do with multiple sessions in windows 7?
davidgrudek
20
20
 
Posts: 53
Joined: 2008-02-11 05:46

Re: CAD

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2011-01-24 21:42

Winvnc need to be running in the console session.

session0 = service
session1 = logon <<<<<<<<<<<winvnc start himself in session 1
session1 = user1
session1 = logon
session2 = user2 <<<<<<<<<<<winvnc restart himself in session2
session2 = logon
session1 = user1 <<<<<<<<<<<winvnc restart himself in session1

On a restart, winvnc loose the connection with the viewer and auto reconnect when session is switched.
The auto reconnect require to set a reconnect value ( viewer option)
to tell how many times to viewer try to reconnect.
The caption bar of the viewer show ( reconnect counter)
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5766
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: CAD

Postby davidgrudek » 2011-01-24 21:51

OK this makes sense. One last question for you. Is there a way to enable that by the command line (reconnection options )?

We use the encryption and I made a wise script that prompts for the pc name to connect to and launches the viewer with all the proper settings. This way the users do not get problems when connecting to others users computers. We did this because we use Uvnc for support stff as well as view only meeting connections.
davidgrudek
20
20
 
Posts: 53
Joined: 2008-02-11 05:46

Re: CAD

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2011-01-24 22:23

If you are using a settings file you can add it to this file.

Settings file options.vnc
[connection]
host=LOCALHOST
port=5900
proxyhost=
proxyport=1995569544
password=
[options]
use_encoding_0=1
use_encoding_1=1
use_encoding_2=1
use_encoding_3=0
use_encoding_4=1
use_encoding_5=1
use_encoding_6=1
use_encoding_7=1
use_encoding_8=1
use_encoding_9=1
use_encoding_10=0
use_encoding_11=0
use_encoding_12=0
use_encoding_13=0
use_encoding_14=0
use_encoding_15=0
use_encoding_16=1
use_encoding_17=1
preferred_encoding=16
restricted=0
viewonly=0
nostatus=0
nohotkeys=0
showtoolbar=1
AutoScaling=0
fullscreen=0
autoDetect=1
8bit=0
shared=1
swapmouse=0
belldeiconify=0
emulate3=1
JapKeyboard=0
emulate3timeout=100
emulate3fuzz=4
disableclipboard=0
localcursor=1
Scaling=0
scale_num=1
scale_den=1
cursorshape=1
noremotecursor=0
compresslevel=6
quality=6
ServerScale=1
Reconnect=5
EnableCache=1
QuickOption=8
UseDSMPlugin=0
UseProxy=0
sponsor=0
DSMPlugin=NoPlugin
ExitCheck=0
FileTransferTimeout=30
KeepAliveInterval=5
AutoAcceptIncoming=0
AutoAcceptNoDSM=0
RequireEncryption=0
PreemptiveUpdates=0


The defaults are save to
C:\Users\myuser\AppData\Roaming\UltraVNC\options.vnc

You can create your own and pass it to the viewer
You can start vncviewer.exe /config Myconfigfile
Last edited by Rudi De Vos on 2011-01-24 22:25, edited 2 times in total.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5766
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: CAD

Postby davidgrudek » 2011-01-24 22:29

No we launch it in a command line script like

c:\prgram files\ultravnc\vncviewer.exe /dsm......
davidgrudek
20
20
 
Posts: 53
Joined: 2008-02-11 05:46

Re: CAD

Postby davidgrudek » 2011-01-25 15:29

I did this and I removed the computer name from the line.

When I double click the file it works with all the desired settings.

If I launch it by command line like

vncviewer.exe /config default.vnc PCNAME

Then it fails to add any of the settings

Any ideas or when the -reconnect will be added to the command line?
davidgrudek
20
20
 
Posts: 53
Joined: 2008-02-11 05:46

Re: CAD

Postby redge » 2011-01-25 23:43

davidgrudek

don't add any server name on the command line if -config is in use.
it pop up vncviewer.

servername.vnc
Reconnect=5

"C:\Program Files\UltraVNC\vncviewer.exe" -config servername.vnc

bug confirmed,
just tested reconnect=n broken after switch user, 2nd reconnect fail and connection lost if QuerySetting enabled exist
Last edited by redge on 2011-01-25 23:59, edited 3 times in total.
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: CAD

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2011-01-26 15:14

Correct,

Fixed this bug yesterday but still testing if it don't add other :)

bug: if -config filename was used, vncviewer reset to default value's.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5766
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: CAD

Postby redge » 2011-01-26 22:30

ok, but if screen saver is active and locked screen or logon screen
QueryIfNoLogon is hidden or killed,
vncviewer auto rejected with QuerySetting=4 even and this happen without use any -config

this happen not at first query but the second query with screen saver on resume display logon screen
Last edited by redge on 2011-01-26 22:32, edited 1 time in total.
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: CAD

Postby Psycrow » 2011-01-29 17:46

davidgrudek wrote:I am using windows 7 in a domain with UAC off and I did no special group policy to make it work. What it did do was ask if I wanted to apply some registry fix for CAD to work when I pressed it the first time.

I want to know if someone can tell me what these registry keys are so I can apply this to my install script so 5000 users do not have to do this manuly.

A second problem I was having was with a silent install. I could not get around the download parts because our corporate firewall does not let the softwre go get these files so I made an install script. WHat it does is the following:

1. I installed UVNC to another machine
2. Then copied the UltraVNC folder from C:\Program Files to a server share.
3. My script copies that folder to the new machines C:\Program Files\ folder
4. Then I apply the reg key for the AD Authentication
5. Then I create my Start menu SHortcuts
6. Script over

I would like for it to add the CAD registry entries and to know if this is OK to install this way for XP or Win 7? What problems will arise?


--------- It could also be a policy setting ------------

A: Microsoft Windows has a policy called “Secure Attention Sequence”. This policy setting controls whether or not software can simulate the Secure Attention Sequence (SAS). If you enable this policy, it may fix the problem.

FYI,
This policy setting controls whether or not software can simulate the Secure Attention Sequence (SAS).

If you enable this policy setting, you have one of four options:

If you set this policy setting to "None," user mode software cannot simulate the SAS.
If you set this policy setting to "Services," services can simulate the SAS.
If you set this policy setting to "Ease of Access applications," Ease of Access applications can simulate the SAS.
If you set this policy setting to "Services and Ease of Access applications," both services and Ease of Access applications can simulate the SAS.

 Enable SAS simulation (Secure Attention Sequence)
 Click Start->Run...
 Open: gpedit.msc
 Click Local Computer Policy->Computer Configuration->Administrative Templates->Windows Components->Windows Logon Options
 Open the policy properties: Disable or enable software Secure Attention Sequence
 Select the option: Enabled
 Select the option: Services and Ease of Access applications
 Finally click OK
Psycrow
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2011-01-29 17:40


Return to 1.0.9.5 (stable)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest