Stuck on "Negotiate protocol version"

Stuck on "Negotiate protocol version"

Postby joe avarage » 2011-03-24 16:21

One computer (XP) just refuses to connect and displays the "Negotiate protocol version". The are a lot of postings on that here. No silver bullet.

I've got three computer (all XP). The problem computer is on 192.168.0.13 (computer "C").
The router is told to use port 5600 on that. Computer "B" is on 192.168.0.11 and port 5700 and works ok. All runnin the 1.0.9.5 UVNC.
I am not using it as a service and I don't use any DSM plugins.

Ping works great to "C". I also tried PChelpware in "C" and it works great there. Since PCHelpware and ping work and I can access "C" otherwise my router/port/network/firewall settings should be OK. My firewall in all computers is Zonealarm.

What can I try next?
joe avarage
8
8
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 2007-08-16 18:32

Re: Stuck on "Negotiate protocol version"

Postby herpityderpity » 2011-03-25 15:49

I'm having the same problem on Win7 Pro x64 machines. The funny thing is, a few of them worked initially, then after another reboot they all quit.

I've tried with and without the mirror driver, I replaced the dsm plugin (though I'm not using it) with the driver from here: http://adamwalling.com/SecureVNC/, and I tried disabling the java port. No dice no matter what I do, and this is happening on maybe half a dozen boxes.

I'm using this inf to configure my install.

[Setup]
Lang=en
Dir=C:\Program Files\UltraVNC
Group=UltraVNC
NoIcons=0
SetupType=full
Components=ultravnc_server,ultravnc_viewer
Tasks=installservice,startservice,associate
RemoveAero=1
AuthRequired=0

[ultravnc]
passwd=hash
passwd2=hash

[poll]
EnableDriver=1
EnableHook=1

I am using UltraVNC 1.0.9.5 x64, though I've also had this issue with 1.0.8.2 x64. Please tell me I'm just doing something stupid! :)
herpityderpity
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2011-02-17 22:02

Re: Stuck on "Negotiate protocol version"

Postby herpityderpity » 2011-03-25 15:51

I should add that the Windows Firewall is disabled on all my machines and that nmap confirms the machines are listening on 5900 (and 5800 if the java port is enabled).
herpityderpity
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2011-02-17 22:02

Re: Stuck on "Negotiate protocol version"

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2011-03-25 16:36

activating the serverlog (options) could give more info.

viewer log can also be activated by starting
vncviewer.exe -loglevel 10 -console

"Negotiate protocol version" this are the first messages that are exchanged..
Without any log it's hard to see what's going on.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5440
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Stuck on "Negotiate protocol version" solved [

Postby joe avarage » 2011-03-25 17:12

After testing all sorts of workaround I tried setting changing the port forwarding. I got a connection to 192.168.0.13 (computer "C") when I port forwarded 5600 to "C" instead of computer "B". I gave "B" port 5600. Now "B" won't work and "C" does.

Is there something that some ports work and some don't?

I got port 5500 to work also but I need that for yet another computer!
joe avarage
8
8
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 2007-08-16 18:32

Re: Stuck on "Negotiate protocol version" [solved]

Postby joe avarage » 2011-03-25 18:34

Ok. I nailed it. I changed the "Auto" setting to manually listen to specifield port.
Now all puters work.
joe avarage
8
8
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 2007-08-16 18:32

Re: Stuck on "Negotiate protocol version"

Postby herpityderpity » 2011-03-28 16:27

Still no dice for me. Sorry, I should have included the server log initially.

Starting the service gives me these entries:

Mon Mar 28 11:24:50 2011
vncserver.cpp : authhosts set to ""
vncproperties.cpp : ***** DBG - Load User Preferences
vncproperties.cpp : clearing user settings
h:\ultravnc_195\ultravnc project root\ultravnc\winvnc\winvnc\vncPasswd.h : PASSWD : FromClear called
vsocket.cpp : VSocket() m_pDSMPlugin = NULL
--The system cannot find the file specified.
vncproperties.cpp : $$$$$$$$$$ ApplyUserPrefs - Plugin NOT enabled
vncsockconnect.cpp : started socket connection thread
h:\ultravnc_195\ultravnc project root\ultravnc\winvnc\winvnc\vncPasswd.h : PASSWD : ToText called
vncmenu.cpp : ########### vncMenu::AddTrayIcon - UserName = username
vncmenu.cpp : ########### vncMenu::AddTrayIcon - ADD Tray Icon call
vncmenu.cpp : ########### Shell_TrayWnd found 0
vncmenu.cpp : IsIconSet

While trying to connect, I get batches of these log entries ever 5 seconds

Mon Mar 28 11:25:40 2011
vncservice.cpp : @@@@@@@@@@@@@ GetCurrentUser - UserNAme found: username
vncmenu.cpp : ########### vncMenu::TIMER TrayIcon 5s hack
vncservice.cpp : @@@@@@@@@@@@@ GetCurrentUser - UserNAme found: username
vncmenu.cpp : ########### vncMenu::TIMER TrayIcon 5s hack call - Runningasservice
vncmenu.cpp : ########### vncMenu::AddTrayIcon - UserName = username
vncmenu.cpp : ########### vncMenu::AddTrayIcon - ADD Tray Icon call
vncmenu.cpp : ########### Shell_TrayWnd found 1
vncservice.cpp : @@@@@@@@@@@@@ GetCurrentUser - UserNAme found: username
vncmenu.cpp : ############### Usernames change: old="username", new="username"

I replaced my username with "username" obviously...though curiously, in that last line, the old= and new= username are both the samein the actual log.

On the client side, I get this:

fh is 3
Started and Winsock (v 2) initialised
bufsize expanded to 4352
Registered connection with app
Connected to MACHINE port 5901
DSMPlugin not enabled
Last edited by herpityderpity on 2011-03-28 16:39, edited 1 time in total.
herpityderpity
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2011-02-17 22:02

Re: Stuck on "Negotiate protocol version"

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2011-03-28 19:50

herpityderpity,

..nmap confirms the machines are listening on 5900 (and 5800 if the java port is enabled).

On the client side, I get this:
Connected to MACHINE port 5901

Are you using port 5900 or 5901 ?
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5440
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Stuck on "Negotiate protocol version"

Postby herpityderpity » 2011-03-28 20:40

Sorry, I had tried changing ports this morning. Edit: Nmap confirms it's listening on whatever port I set it to :)
herpityderpity
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2011-02-17 22:02

Re: Stuck on "Negotiate protocol version"

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2011-03-28 21:29

I propose to do the following

First try if you can connect when server and viewer run on the same PC

A)
1) copy 2 exe vncviewer and winvnc.exe on a usb stick
(only 2 files)

2) Run winvnc.exe from the usb stick
This open the properties to set the password ( ultravnc.ini is created on first run, in the same folder as winvnc.exe, in this case the usb stick)
Set passwd ( make sure to set a different for full and view only)
[v] Allow loopback ( needed to be able to connect server and viewer on the same pc)

3) Run on the same PC vncviewer.exe from the usb stick
connect to localhost ( 127.0.0.1)

This need to work, else all other tests fail.
If this works, the effect is a mirror, unless you have a dual monitor system and can place the viewer on the seond screen.
Anyway, it's only needed to see if you connect and get some image.

B)
Ideal, use a second usb with the vncviewer.exe on.
Plug this usb in your second PC
run vncviewer.exe
host= ip address pc running server
(else copy the viewer to the desktop)


** The reason for using a usb stick: If you download a zip and extracted the exe from the zip insite the iexplorer, Vista/win7 mark this file as unsecure and fail to set some permissions. Copy to usb FAT32, remove this bit.

If you get it working from the usb sticks, just overwrite the winvnc.exe and ultravnc.ini in program files with the files from the stick.
Last edited by Rudi De Vos on 2011-03-28 21:35, edited 4 times in total.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5440
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Stuck on "Negotiate protocol version"

Postby herpityderpity » 2011-03-29 22:33

Wow, I couldn't be less helpful to you in helping me solve my problem. I keep inadvertently leaving information out!

Apparently I never saw the balloon pop-up from the system tray when someone tries to connect - "Remote connection Could not connect to 1.0.0.0!" In my defense, I have three monitors on the rig I'm using to test this issue, and it disappears after a few seconds :) Unfortunately, putting that in to the forum search only seems to have turned up stuff about version 1.0.0.0 of UVNC.

I did try running the server and the client from a flash drive. Same results as above :(

It also dawned on me that my ISA firewall client could be messing with it, but I disabled it and there's no difference - and usually when we've had issues with the ISA client, it doesn't affect local-only traffic, anyway. We're also running Sophos Anti Virus, but disabling it hasn't helped, either.

Thanks for your help so far!
herpityderpity
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2011-02-17 22:02

Re: Stuck on "Negotiate protocol version"

Postby herpityderpity » 2011-04-05 21:52

Rudy, do you have any other suggestions? My guys have some 3D stuff they need to run that doesn't work over RDP...so I have monitors and keyboards attached to what would otherwise be headless machines... :(
herpityderpity
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2011-02-17 22:02

Re: Stuck on "Negotiate protocol version"

Postby l2onin » 2011-04-12 20:47

I am also having the exact same issue. Output from viewer.exe -loglevel 10 -console:

fh is 3
Started and Winsock (v 2) initialised
bufsize expanded to 4352
Registered connection with app
Clipboard changed
Don't send initial clipboard!
Connected to 172.16.3.72 port 5900
DSMPlugin not enabled

then on the server the output is:

Tue Apr 12 15:47:05 2011
vsocket.cpp : VSocket() m_pDSMPlugin = NULL
vncsockconnect.cpp : accepted connection from 0.0.0.0
vncserver.cpp : AddClient() started
vncclient.cpp : vncClient() executing...
vncclient.cpp : TEST 4
vncserver.cpp : AddClient() done
vncclient.cpp : client connected : 1.0.0.0 (1)
vncclient.cpp : failed to set socket timeout(10038)
--An operation was attempted on something that is not a socket.
vncclient.cpp : DSMPlugin Pointer to socket OK
vncserver.cpp : removing unauthorised client
--An operation was attempted on something that is not a socket.
vncserver.cpp : RemoveClient() done
vncclient.cpp : ~vncClient() executing...
vncclient.cpp : deleting socket
vsocket.cpp : closing socket
vncmenu.cpp : Reset 0
Tue Apr 12 15:47:07 2011
HideDesktop.cpp : Restorewallpaper 0


Just a little bubble pops up, Cannot connect to client 1.0.0.0
:(

Any help would be great!
l2onin
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2011-04-12 20:37

Re: Stuck on "Negotiate protocol version"

Postby viritha30 » 2011-11-24 12:40

Rudi De Vos wrote:I propose to do the following

First try if you can connect when server and viewer run on the same PC

A)
1) copy 2 exe vncviewer and winvnc.exe on a usb stick
(only 2 files)

2) Run winvnc.exe from the usb stick
This open the properties to set the password ( ultravnc.ini is created on first run, in the same folder as winvnc.exe, in this case the usb stick)
Set passwd ( make sure to set a different for full and view only)
[v] Allow loopback ( needed to be able to connect server and viewer on the same pc)

3) Run on the same PC vncviewer.exe from the usb stick
connect to localhost ( 127.0.0.1)

This need to work, else all other tests fail.
If this works, the effect is a mirror, unless you have a dual monitor system and can place the viewer on the seond screen.
Anyway, it's only needed to see if you connect and get some image.

B)
Ideal, use a second usb with the vncviewer.exe on.
Plug this usb in your second PC
run vncviewer.exe
host= ip address pc running server
(else copy the viewer to the desktop)


** The reason for using a usb stick: If you download a zip and extracted the exe from the zip insite the iexplorer, Vista/win7 mark this file as unsecure and fail to set some permissions. Copy to usb FAT32, remove this bit.

If you get it working from the usb sticks, just overwrite the winvnc.exe and ultravnc.ini in program files with the files from the stick.




Rudie, this is the case you explained when working in windows.
I am trying to access my server from linux through remote Desktop viewer.
Then also, similar log appears.

I have debugged the libvncserver (0.7.1 version) code and found that accept call is getting blocked.
this is due to select call return value in rfbCheckFds in sockets.c
When its return value is 0 its working fine by opening the remote screen.
When its return value is 1 its giving negotiating protocol dialog in windows with vncviewer.exe but nothing is displayed in linux when connected it with remote desktop viewer.
Can you please help me out? Its a bit urgent.
viritha30
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2011-11-22 13:24

Re: Stuck on "Negotiate protocol version"

Postby Cheval » 2011-11-24 23:30

I've also had this same problem with both 1.0.9.6 and 1.0.9.6.1 as explained here:

http://forum.ultravnc.info/viewtopic.ph ... 225601ec83

I've been thinking that my machine is running out of usable RAM, the it happened again last night and the RAM was only at 34% physical usage.

I'll try Rudi's suggestion the next time it happens as it's a certain number of hours of connection time before it hangs. So if I only connect for a few minutes each day, then it could take a month, but if I'm connected for hours then it could be a couple of days.
Cheval
20
20
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 2009-11-10 05:12


Return to 1.0.9.5 (stable)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest