Viewer with multiple monitors : cannot select my fav one

Viewer with multiple monitors : cannot select my fav one

Postby pjgfi » 2011-04-14 13:18

hello,

I just installed 1.0.9.6 and I see I can now select monitor from a dropdown list.

The problem is VNC windows always launches in the wrong monitor by default (which is on my right !), I just can't select permanently the one in front of me...

Any idea ?

Thanks.

PJ
pjgfi
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2010-06-18 08:35

Re: Viewer with multiple monitors : cannot select my fav one

Postby Teazle » 2011-04-14 16:44

I have yet to try, but will give it a shot later.

in the meantime, just to be clear: Have you selected the prefered monitor, then checked "save settings as default" before connecting?
Last edited by Teazle on 2011-04-14 16:46, edited 1 time in total.
Teazle
8
8
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 2011-02-26 20:11

Re: Viewer with multiple monitors : cannot select my fav one

Postby bitoclass » 2011-04-14 22:59

Teazle wrote:I have yet to try, but will give it a shot later.

in the meantime, just to be clear: Have you selected the prefered monitor, then checked "save settings as default" before connecting?


I have this same problem with VNC Viewer opening on the wrong monitor, and can confirm that yes, I have tried that, with no effect. It only seems to save all the other settings, not the monitor.

Thanks,
Paul
bitoclass
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2011-04-14 20:45

Re: Viewer with multiple monitors : cannot select my fav one

Postby bitoclass » 2011-04-14 23:17

OK, I have found a 90% good workaround. I tracked down where it was saving the options when I ticked the save settings box. It's here:

C:\Users\[my username]\AppData\Roaming\UltraVNC\options.vnc

If you open this in Notepad you can see it *does* save the screen choice, near the bottom of the file:

selectedscreen=2

However, it still opened on my screen 1, which I didn't want. I tried changing it to 1 and that made no difference. As a last resort I changed it to:

selectedscreen=0

This actually does have an effect: it causes VNC Viewer to treat both screens as one giant screen and open in what would be the centre of this. Because the screen I want it to open on is twice the size of the other one, this works out pretty well for me as it's almost entirely on the correct screen!

So I'm pretty happy with this but would rather the saved setting actually worked for opening it on my chosen screen properly :)

Hope this may help others in the mean time too!
Paul
bitoclass
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2011-04-14 20:45

Re: Viewer with multiple monitors : cannot select my fav one

Postby pjgfi » 2011-04-15 14:49

Thanks for your help.

I found the exact same settings, and I changed to 0 (the giant screen) but it stills opens on the rightmost monitor !! :cry:
Last edited by pjgfi on 2011-04-18 07:44, edited 2 times in total.
pjgfi
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2010-06-18 08:35

Re: Viewer with multiple monitors : cannot select my fav one

Postby redge » 2011-04-16 23:59

please check if this hot fix of ultra vncviewer 10961 solve your issue
10961 Beta
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: Viewer with multiple monitors : cannot select my fav one

Postby pjgfi » 2011-04-18 07:44

Yes it does !! :)

Many thanks for this quick fix !
pjgfi
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2010-06-18 08:35

Re: Viewer with multiple monitors : cannot select my fav one

Postby garyfritz » 2011-06-01 18:12

I'm trying to access my WIn7 system from an iPad, so I don't have the new display-switching option available. (But I have the same problem if I connect with the uvnc client.) What can I do?

I tried the instructions in this post (selecting secondary display) and that didn't seem to change anything. BTW netstat says uvnc is listening on both 5801 and 5901, but it doesn't respond to 5801, if that means anything...

My laptop display is to the left of my big screen. The big screen is the primary display. If I connect, it displays the right monitor, but the mouse gets slammed all the way at the left side of the (left) laptop display. If I change the Windows config so the laptop display is on the right, then it works properly. Unfortunately that doesn't work for my office layout. How can I get it to work with the laptop display on the left?
garyfritz
8
8
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2011-05-16 03:24


Re: Viewer with multiple monitors : cannot select my fav one

Postby kkalbaugh » 2011-06-30 15:59

I have the same problem but the selectedscreen=0 didn't work well for me (different resolutions on each monitor). I have a 23" 16:9 main monitor and a 20" 4:3 secondary monitor. When I connect to a dual monitor server it would be nice to see it on my wider screen instead of my smaller screen on the right.

I use the 64bit version on 1.0.9.1 didn't fix it. Any ideas?

Thanks!
kkalbaugh
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2011-06-30 15:54


Return to 1.0.9.6 (stable)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron