server will not accept socket connections under win7

server will not accept socket connections under win7

Postby frustrated99 » 2011-05-05 20:00

I've wasted an entire day trying to get ultraVNC server running under windows7 64 bit. I used to run it under xp no problem. TigerVNC, TightVNC both work fine on my win7 box. The only reason I want UltraVNC is for the monitor switching.

Anyway, here's the bullshit I am dealing with:

-> "accept socket connections" under admin properties is perpetually unchecked. I check it, hit ok. try connecting. nothing. open admin properties, and it is still unchecked.
-> the drivers wont install, even when i run as administrator. I've read posts here about runing cmd as admin, and running the vista64 bat that way- does not work.

Is there any fucking way to get this working under windows 7 64?!
frustrated99
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2011-05-05 19:53

Re: server will not accept socket connections under win7

Postby Oliver » 2011-05-05 20:32

Dear frustrated99, perhaps you could refine the language you use, plus read this before wasting everybody elses time as well.

And last but not least, how much did you pay for UltraVNC?
Oliver

How to Report Bugs Effectively
My homepage | WinDirStat
PGP-keys:
  • Forum or UltraVNC-related: 0xA2DD1DBD, E18B 2E2F 4F3E D143 4ED4 3E2B E172 FB55 A2DD 1DBD
  • Other matters: 0x0E88590F, 38B5 5EBA A470 C0F7 0942 81B8 C779 D829 0E88 590F
User avatar
Oliver
Site-Admin
Site-Admin
 
Posts: 563
Joined: 2004-04-21 23:04
Location: Frankfurt am Main

server will not accept socket connections under win7

Postby frustrated99 » 2011-05-12 03:51

Dear Jerk,

No need to be an asshole. I paid with many hours of my time. There is a bug in the UI dialog, where you enter settings, hit save, and it resets them, as I reported.


Thanks,
Frustrated User
frustrated99
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2011-05-05 19:53

Re: server will not accept socket connections under win7

Postby Oliver » 2011-05-12 12:30

Stop this kind of offensive language or you'll be banned from this forum.

frustrated99 wrote:I paid with many hours of my time.
No you didn't. None of us ever received an additional amount of hours in turn. When you pay the other party receives something.

frustrated99 wrote:There is a bug in the UI dialog, where you enter settings, hit save, and it resets them, as I reported.
This is not a bug report, it's just an agglomeration of aggressive speech. Or are you perhaps just an ordinary troll?

Patches, as in many FLOSS projects, are welcome. If you know it so much better and are - as you implied - not a human that makes mistakes, send patches. All human-made software contains bugs and glitches, but that doesn't justify this language. Not even in a commercial setting.
Oliver

How to Report Bugs Effectively
My homepage | WinDirStat
PGP-keys:
  • Forum or UltraVNC-related: 0xA2DD1DBD, E18B 2E2F 4F3E D143 4ED4 3E2B E172 FB55 A2DD 1DBD
  • Other matters: 0x0E88590F, 38B5 5EBA A470 C0F7 0942 81B8 C779 D829 0E88 590F
User avatar
Oliver
Site-Admin
Site-Admin
 
Posts: 563
Joined: 2004-04-21 23:04
Location: Frankfurt am Main

Re: server will not accept socket connections under win7

Postby B » 2011-05-12 16:14

It's true, any time I've paid money for software it's worked flawlessly, read my mind, and performed all the work I wanted it to before I so much as lifted a finger to touch the keyboard. All commercial software works that way, as long as it has a price tag.

I am of course kidding.

Anyway this isn't exactly a bug. If your OS isn't prompting you for the necessary escalation, you can just stop the services and modify the INI file by hand. I think the relevant line is "SocketConnect=1".

It's also possible that your previous installations of other VNC variants is confusing the issue. You might want to uninstall everything, clear out any VNC directories and INI files, and cleanse the registry of ORL and other VNC hives.

That said, I too have often found TightVNC to be a better fit.
B
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: 2009-09-09 14:05

Re: server will not accept socket connections under win7

Postby redge » 2011-05-30 23:11

frustrated99 wrote:I've wasted an entire day trying to get ultraVNC server running under windows7 64 bit

replace uvnc 1.0.9.6 by 1.0.9.6.1 (bug fix)
http://forum.ultravnc.info/viewtopic.php?f=54
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva


Return to 1.0.9.6 (stable)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron