Bug: Server fails to switch to another repeater

Bug: Server fails to switch to another repeater

Postby YY » 2011-05-22 08:13

Once the server had been successfully connected to a repeater, all later instruction point to other repeaters (from "Add Client", or via cmdline) will be perpetually connecting to the one that it had been first connected, rather than the new repeater as specified.

This problem exists on 10961 (May 12), 1.0.9.x., 1.0.8.x .....
YY
200
200
 
Posts: 996
Joined: 2006-11-13 15:11

Re: Bug: Server fails to switch to another repeater

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2011-05-22 11:20

The behaviour is the same as for
winvnc -connect host1 -run
winvnc -connect host2 -run
2 connections.

For repeaters
wincnc -autoreconnect -ID:1234 -connect host1 -run
wincnc -autoreconnect -ID:1234 -connect host2 -run

winvnc is now connected to 2 repeaters (host1/host2)

Internal a -connect for a host or repeater is handled the same.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5562
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Bug: Server fails to switch to another repeater

Postby adrianio » 2011-05-22 11:57

Sorry for posting here, but i don't find where.

So, for WinVNC 1.0.9.6 started with:
winvnc -id:12345678 -autoreconnect -connect host -run
(I activated also SecureVNCPlugin)

All is good connection - reconnection stable.
But if I cancel the box when ask to enter password, the server lose its connection-autoreconnection with the repeater.
I have to restart the server and all works after that.
Last edited by adrianio on 2011-05-23 08:36, edited 1 time in total.
adrianio
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2011-05-21 10:20

Re: Bug: Server fails to switch to another repeater

Postby YY » 2011-05-22 16:03

Rudi De Vos wrote:The behaviour is the same as for
winvnc -connect host1 -run
winvnc -connect host2 -run
2 connections.

For repeaters
wincnc -autoreconnect -ID:1234 -connect host1 -run
wincnc -autoreconnect -ID:1234 -connect host2 -run

winvnc is now connected to 2 repeaters (host1/host2)

Internal a -connect for a host or repeater is handled the same.


That's not my point. I try to explain more detail of my problem.

In my test, the server is already running as service, and then


1. Run following command:

  winvnc.exe -ID:1234 -connect repeater-1
  (say: got connected with the corresponding viewer, and later the communication ended by user normally)


2. Later I run another command:

  winvnc.exe -ID:357 -connect repeater-2
  (It happened that the server still trying to connect to repeater-1 !!!)
YY
200
200
 
Posts: 996
Joined: 2006-11-13 15:11


Return to 1.0.9.6 (stable)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron