[BUG] Win7 vncviewer Gray Screen w/1.0.9.6.1 - 1.0.9.6 works

Re: [BUG] Win7 vncviewer Gray Screen w/1.0.9.6.1 - 1.0.9.6 w

Postby DennisD » 2011-10-27 13:32

The problem came back this morning.

So I tried "vncviewer -keepalive 1" and now it is working again.

I don't need to specify -keepalive 1 except on the initial connection. After that it works fine.

I'll post here anything else I find out, although I'm seriously considering changing my shortcut to include -keepalive 1. :)
DennisD
8
8
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2011-08-15 19:55

Re: [BUG] Win7 vncviewer Gray Screen w/1.0.9.6.1 - 1.0.9.6 w

Postby rcooke » 2011-10-27 14:41

Keepalive is a good idea. Otherwise the socket will timeout and close on you. Your firewall may also close the NAT forward it dynamically creates when you first connect.

You should not need to use 1 second (thats a bit overkill). Try 3 or 15 or 30.
Regards,
Richard Cooke
User avatar
rcooke
40
40
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 2011-02-19 13:06
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: [BUG] Win7 vncviewer Gray Screen w/1.0.9.6.1 - 1.0.9.6 w

Postby DennisD » 2011-10-27 14:47

I added it to my shortcut and set it to 67. Hopefully if anyone else sees this issue they can try that, too and it may fix it for them.
DennisD
8
8
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2011-08-15 19:55

Re: [BUG] Win7 vncviewer Gray Screen w/1.0.9.6.1 - 1.0.9.6 w

Postby DennisD » 2011-10-28 13:29

Today (I shut down this laptop every day), I can't get 1.0.9.6.1 it to connect no matter which options I try. This is really strange.
DennisD
8
8
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2011-08-15 19:55

Re: [BUG] Win7 vncviewer Gray Screen w/1.0.9.6.1 - 1.0.9.6 w

Postby rcooke » 2011-10-28 13:58

Yes, but the good news - to me anyway - is it seems to be isolated to that laptop!

....sucks to be you though....

:mrgreen:
Regards,
Richard Cooke
User avatar
rcooke
40
40
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 2011-02-19 13:06
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: [BUG] Win7 vncviewer Gray Screen w/1.0.9.6.1 - 1.0.9.6 w

Postby rcooke » 2011-11-05 21:25

DennisD wrote:Today (I shut down this laptop every day), I can't get 1.0.9.6.1 it to connect no matter which options I try. This is really strange.


Dennis!

i have good news!! I am having a problem that might be related to yours on a Windows 7 Pro machine.

The "bad" news is I have had it work then not work on subsequent connection attempts. And I did not make any changes to Windows. Very interesting!

Curiously, when I can't get 1.0.9.6.1 viewer to connect, I CAN get the CHUNK VNC compiled viewer to work! That has to be a clue, but the Chunk I was testing is not using the latest VNC viewer, so it could be false lead.

Now I get to join in your fun. I'll make a new post with my details, since it is a little different than yours and link to it.
Regards,
Richard Cooke
User avatar
rcooke
40
40
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 2011-02-19 13:06
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: [BUG] Win7 vncviewer Gray Screen w/1.0.9.6.1 - 1.0.9.6 w

Postby DennisD » 2012-02-17 16:30

The same problem happens in 1.0.9.6.2 released yesterday.
DennisD
8
8
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2011-08-15 19:55

Re: [BUG] Win7 vncviewer Gray Screen w/1.0.9.6.1 - 1.0.9.6 w

Postby DennisD » 2012-09-12 15:29

The same problem happens in 1.1.0
DennisD
8
8
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2011-08-15 19:55

Re: [BUG] Win7 vncviewer Gray Screen w/1.0.9.6.1 - 1.0.9.6 w

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2012-09-12 18:10

Sorry, i was unable to repeat the issue.
It's even hard to tell if it's network related or pure vnc.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5766
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: [BUG] Win7 vncviewer Gray Screen w/1.0.9.6.1 - 1.0.9.6 w

Postby zero2012 » 2012-09-26 06:18

This happens to me too with 1.0.9.6.2 on Windows XP. I had 1.0.8.2 on server PC and 1.0.9.6.2 on the viewer PC. I had problems with screen refresh. I think it used to happen after launching command prompt window (cmd) on the server. I had to refresh everytime I typed some characters on the command prompt window (I could not see what I type). Then I replaced the server binaries with 1.0.9.6.2 binaries (they were provided as a separate download in a .zip). After upgrade I can see gray screen only :-(.
zero2012
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2012-09-26 06:10

Re: [BUG] also Vista64 + UVNCViewer/server 1.1.8

Postby poutnik » 2012-12-21 10:19

I may have got some hints about reproducible gray UVNC Viewer screen issue:

Scenario:

Windows Vista 64 Home Premium SP2, UAC active, normally run under limited account, having admin access too.
Comodo Internet Security suite ( SPFW + HIPS only, UVNC binaries set as system applications ), Avast Free AV
Computer with public IP and hostname.

Fresh UVNC 1.1.8 x64 default full install of 1.1.8 server+viewer, using mirror driver
UVNC Server running as service, UVNC Viewer running under limited account

Steps to reproduce:

Both viewer and server are running on the same machine, Viewer is connecting to server via machine public hostname or IP

Server is set to VNC 8char authentication - Connection and remote control works as expected.

Both Server and Viewer are set to use encryption plugin (64b) http://adamwalling.com/SecureVNC/, using 19char long PW pass-phrase and default AES 256b + 256b key settings
Connection and remote control works as expected.

Viewer is told to generate auth key pair and both V/S are provided by particular key.
*I think* for now worked as expected, but I have to verify, but not going to break things now, using it remotely.

Server is told to use MS logon authentification - new version ( type II ??) , In MS logon is verified both my admin account and limited account have set full access.
Logged in using limited windows account logon
Connection info says encrypted connection is established
Some hundreds of bytes passed by both directies, but than data exchange stops
Screen remains gray.

Screen remains gray, even if I revert configuration changes
- cancelling MS logon
- cancelling keys usage
- cancelling encryption plugin usage on both sides.

These steps to reproduce were originally noticed on UVNCViewer 1.1.8 on remote XP SP3 32bit, connecting to this Vista 64 computer.

Uninstalling + reinstalling UVNC - ( no extra manual cleaning), using basic configuration with VNC authentification fixed the problem.
Adding SecureVNC plugin with default setings + passphrase keeps it working too.

Dedicated thread for the following issue for 1.1.8
C2D E4700 / 6 GB RAM / Vista x64 HPremium SP2 / UAC active / Public IP / Comodo CIS ( FW+HIPS only) / Avast Free /
poutnik
40
40
 
Posts: 65
Joined: 2008-01-30 20:52

Re: [BUG] Win7 vncviewer Gray Screen w/1.0.9.6.1 - 1.0.9.6 w

Postby rcooke » 2013-03-11 17:51

Regards,
Richard Cooke
User avatar
rcooke
40
40
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 2011-02-19 13:06
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: [BUG] Win7 vncviewer Gray Screen w/1.0.9.6.1 - 1.0.9.6 w

Postby DennisD » 2013-05-02 14:50

It seems to be related.

v 1.1.9.0 seems to have fixed this problem, but I've only done very limited testing. The older versions would have been a problem by now, though.
DennisD
8
8
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2011-08-15 19:55

Previous

Return to 1.0.9.6.1 (stable)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron