Possible - Running VNC & IIS threw Port 80 ?

Test the syntax here, shout, do whatever (discuss about the forum if you want ...) but please behave ;) ... and spam is not welcome

Possible - Running VNC & IIS threw Port 80 ?

Postby iampedro » 2005-01-25 19:41

Is it possible to run VNC and IIS website threw port 80?
iampedro
8
8
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2005-01-24 15:34

Postby Ipsec » 2005-01-25 20:29

You can specify both of them to work on port 80 but both will not work..it will be one or the other.

Since they are both web servers, I think its the last service to listen to that port from the server which gets to listen... or it could be the first.

I dont know why you dont like the idea of specifying a different port?
Ipsec
Former moderator
Former moderator
 
Posts: 565
Joined: 2004-09-20 18:56

Postby iampedro » 2005-01-26 00:20

When I am at school.. I can only connect threw port 80... So I am limited what I can do..
iampedro
8
8
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2005-01-24 15:34

Postby RobH » 2005-01-26 15:39

It will work on 80 but like he said, can't run both at the same time. It will give you an error.
RobH
Former moderator
Former moderator
 
Posts: 114
Joined: 2004-05-03 18:04
Location: Chicago, IL

Postby Guest » 2005-01-26 16:12

I realize that but it is something to think about... I know that it is do-able..
Guest
 

Postby Ipsec » 2005-01-26 23:03

Anonymous wrote:I realize that but it is something to think about... I know that it is do-able..


Could you enlighten me on how one IP address on the internet can run two different services over the same port? And someone trying to connect to a service will automatically connect to one application over the other successfully?

the guys that wrote this rfc may want to know also -
http://www.faqs.org/rfcs/rfc333.html
search for "unique port" paragraph.

If I were you, I would check all ports and ensure they are closed. Sometimes FTP or Telnet ports are open for managment purposes... then you could run that as your VNC server port at home. Heck you could even check and see if you can go to SSL sites... thats port 443. - different then 80... but IM sure your network guy isnt blocking ssl.. thats not very smart.
Ipsec
Former moderator
Former moderator
 
Posts: 565
Joined: 2004-09-20 18:56


Return to Off topic posts (Sandbox)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron