Provide HDMI screen quality and sound with VNC

Test the syntax here, shout, do whatever (discuss about the forum if you want ...) but please behave ;) ... and spam is not welcome

Provide HDMI screen quality and sound with VNC

Postby dan » 2015-05-03 23:11

Hello!

I have noob's question - is it possible to turn off the image compressing on VNC srver and pass video stream with high quality and minimal latency in the expence of traffic volume? I.e. the data stream will ask for example 50Mbit/s instead of current 1-2, but it will provide almost exact user experience as it is on host computer? (Like in HDMI over Ethernet)

This is needed for usage in local network with 100-300MBit speed.

And is it possible to pass the sound with video stream?

Tanks a lot for answers.
dan
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2015-05-03 22:59

Re: Provide HDMI screen quality and sound with VNC

Postby dan » 2015-05-05 00:28

Ok, I've found the answer to first question, just need to test it now -

The display side of the protocol is based around a single graphics primitive: "put a rectangle of pixel data at a given x,y position". This might seem an inefficient way of drawing arbitrary user interface components. But because we have a variety of different encoding schemes for the pixel data, we can select the appropriate scheme for each rectangle we send, and make the most of network bandwidth, client drawing speed and server processing speed.
The lowest common denominator is the so-called raw encoding, where the rectangle is simply pixel data sent in left-to-right scanline order. All clients and servers must support this encoding. However, the encodings actually used on any given VNC connection can be negotiated according to the abilities of the server, the client, and the connection between the two.

http://www.hep.phy.cam.ac.uk/vnc_docs/howitworks.html
dan
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2015-05-03 22:59

Re: Provide HDMI screen quality and sound with VNC

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2015-05-05 09:14

1920x1080 single frame = 8Mb
25fps = 200MB
To send a 200MB you need at least a 2GB connection. (byte /bit issue, 2GB network gives a max stream of 250MB "2000/8")

For static screens it wil work as the vnc only send updates when the screen change, but for video you need the u2 encoder and
play with the jpeg quality settings.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5370
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21


Return to Off topic posts (Sandbox)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest