VNC + DLink Router Problems

Test the syntax here, shout, do whatever (discuss about the forum if you want ...) but please behave ;) ... and spam is not welcome

VNC + DLink Router Problems

Postby emmanuel » 2004-08-09 23:36

Hey Guys...

I have a small problem I'm sure that some of you use VNC remote communications. Now mine was working great over the Internet browser until I installed a Dlink router. I have a cable modem and of course they change the ip address every now and then which I solved using Keep me posted and I get an email every time my ip changes so I still have a http://25.24.0.28 ip but now since I have this router each machine has an ip like http://192.168.0.100 and http://192.168.0.102 in which case I have no way of going into any one of my two pc's. I don't know how to configure my VNC or maybe my router so I can use the Internet explorer like before to get to my pc's. Do you know if there is a way of doing this? I'm sorry but I'm kinda new to this router business.

Thank You in advance,
emmanuel
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2004-08-09 23:08

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2004-08-10 07:37

Perhaps this page can be of some use
http://ultravnc.sourceforge.net/nat3/nat3.htm
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5739
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

port changes

Postby lenisham » 2004-08-10 09:35

you will need to change the ports on one of the systems to be able to connect to it, or use the repeater on one of the systems.
lenisham
40
40
 
Posts: 104
Joined: 2004-06-24 07:00

http://www.no-ip.com/

Postby joefu » 2004-08-10 14:13

Instead of getting a email every time your ip address changes why don't you use no-ip.com.

http://www.no-ip.com/

Its a free service you can sign up for. On this web site you create a free domain name, they have many you can choose from. Then you install a agent on one of your pc's. This agent will go out to their web site an update your address. This any all you have to do is connect into your domain name.

Example domain name. joefu.hopto.org.
joefu
20
20
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 2004-06-07 19:55

Postby Guest » 2004-08-10 18:41

Lenisham,

How can I change ports on the dlink router? I got as far as using dhcp to create static ip address to each of the computers which is working good. but still I have no access from the outside. Inside the lan it works great I can access one pc from the other and vice versa. I saw something on one of the forums that says to use the same ip like http://25.28.35.xx:5800 and add a +5900 or something like that. Do you know something about this?

Thank you in advance,

Emmanuel
Guest
 

Postby emmanuel » 2004-08-11 02:07

Thank you for all of your suggestions, I'm sorry but I'm kinda new to the vnc and also I'm not that network smart but I will try all of your suggestions. If anyone of you have a simple way of just configuring this please feel free to send the info because I feel very unsecure about this configuration I'm doing. Oh and to "joefu" thanks for that no-ip site it is good but then again I don't think that this could solve the problem because I just don't have access to the network IP the external ip http://25.24.0.xx:5800 is working fine and that ip rarely changes the problem starts when I install both computers on the router. I saw one thing though and it is on the configuration of the router as per applying ports for applications. I will try that today. Also I got to the point of using DHCP and now both my computers have static ip 192.168.0.150 and 192.168.0.151.

If any suggestion jumps to mind pla let me know.

Thanks for all your help so far,

Emmanuel
emmanuel
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2004-08-09 23:08

The way I use it so far...

Postby Erjin999 » 2004-09-21 12:39

On both computers, set up the ip addr as static, not from DHCP. The ip address should never change. Give both machines different port numbers (5900, 5901 ?) in VNC.

In your router, you will find some kind of menu for port forwarding/port redirection...

You need to setup the same ports forwarded as you setup in VNC in your router.

E.G. Computer 1, IP=192.168.0.1, port 5901
computer 2, IP=192.168.0.2, port 5902

Router port forwarding:
Port 5901 -> 5901 @ 192.168.0.1
Port 5902 -> 5902 @ 192.168.0.2

You should now be able to access either of these machines from outside using your Viewer, external IP::5901, or for computer 2, External IP::5902.

If you want to use the java viewer you will need to forward port 5801 and 5802 as well as 59xx ports.

In case I have made any mistakes, I should say that I used my knowledge of TightVNC, so it is probably a difference of features.

I am still trying to figure out what the repeater does !
Erjin999
 


Return to Off topic posts (Sandbox)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests