1.2.1.0 release installers online

1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2016-01-19 21:09

latest changes
(web pages wil be updated next week, last week to request some latest issue's)

*server deadlock fix ( thanks S..ns)
*UVNCLaunch, long html text fix
*repeater+plugin, add text that encrytion is requested, else you get unencrypted until connection with the server
All other issue's from the pre-release

UVNCLaunch manual, just something fast made, added word doc, so if someone feel to make correction or extra info
i wil gladly change it.
http://www.uvnc.eu/download/1210/UVNC_Launch.docx
http://www.uvnc.eu/download/1210/UVNC_Launch.pdf
server options manpages, possible full english error :) i'm not a doc writer.
Word doc is also available, feel free to correct or add things.
http://www.uvnc.eu/download/1210/server_options.docx
http://www.uvnc.eu/download/1210/server_options.pdf
Repeater
http://www.uvnc.eu/download/1210/Repeater.docx
http://www.uvnc.eu/download/1210/Repeater.pdf

From 1-1-2016 some OS require Sha256 authenticode signing
exe and installers dual signed with sha1 and sha2
Repeater/uvnc_launcher added to the installers

Please test

setup
X86 http://www.uvnc.eu/download/1210/UltraV ... _Setup.exe
X64 http://www.uvnc.eu/download/1210/UltraV ... _Setup.exe
addon
X86 http://www.uvnc.eu/download/1210/UltraV ... Addons.exe
X64 http://www.uvnc.eu/download/1210/UltraV ... Addons.exe

bin zip ALL
http://www.uvnc.eu/download/1210/Uvnc_1210_bin.zip
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5442
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: 1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby Nick_od » 2016-01-20 09:01

Hi
during testing
I discovered the problem.
testing:

UltraVNC server 1.2.1.0 + 2.4.0.0 SecureVNCPlugin64.dsm
Windows 10 x64

last (Repeater.exe)


when explorer.exe enabled UltraVNC server is stable (normally reconnects to repeater)
but when explorer.exe disabled UltraVNC server (bad work not normal reconnects to repeater)
This is as it should be?
Nick_od
40
40
 
Posts: 82
Joined: 2013-09-04 06:42

Re: 1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2016-01-20 10:07

explorer.exe disabled ??? Are you running without a shell !
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5442
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: 1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby Nick_od » 2016-01-20 10:39

explorer.exe disabled ??? Are you running without a shell !

yes :mrgreen:
Nick_od
40
40
 
Posts: 82
Joined: 2013-09-04 06:42

Re: 1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2016-01-20 11:38

The service need the some exe to find the console session.

Normal we enumerate all explorer.exe and request the session they run in.
The service then use this explorer.exe process settings to start uvnc.

If explorer.exe doesn't exist you need to set something else, usual your custom shell.

Code: Select all
[admin]
alternate_shell=myshell.exe
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5442
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: 1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby Nick_od » 2016-01-21 11:04

hi
I do not quite understand you.
I need to set the option as:
Code: Select all
[admin]
alternate_shell=myshell.exe

or need to specify a specific file
but what exactly?
I set the settings as you have written above but it seems that is not working.
Nick_od
40
40
 
Posts: 82
Joined: 2013-09-04 06:42

Re: 1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2016-01-21 12:31

myshell.exe is the shell you use as explorer replacement.

The service need a exe name, so the service can check de process properties of it.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5442
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: 1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby Nick_od » 2016-01-22 12:17

If I do :
Code: Select all
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon]
"Shell"="eShell.exe"

but in reality there is no such file "eShell.exe"

Then I need to set in "ultravnc.ini":
Code: Select all
[admin]
alternate_shell=eShell.exe


I understand you correctly? :|
Nick_od
40
40
 
Posts: 82
Joined: 2013-09-04 06:42

Re: 1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2016-01-22 15:07

it need to be an existing process, possible eshell is just some fake shell to start with a blank screen.

Open taskmgr and see all processes running in session(1)

If you have a rdp server, you could check with taskmgr what processes are running in a session(2) before you logon.

You could try
winlogon.exe, this always exist, but user is SYSTEM. vnc could get more permissions then requied.
dwm.exe, does it already exist before logon?
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5442
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: 1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby ddbivens » 2016-01-23 01:31

I upgraded all the 1.2.1.0 pre-release installs to 1.2.1.0 release installs. I verified that the 4 previously identified items still exist. Plus it seems that some extra screen refreshing may have returned. And the black screen on initial connection seems to be back. At first I though it was because I was connecting a 1.2.1.0 viewer to a 1.2.0.9 winvnc. After more testing I found it was happening with 1.2.1.0 on both ends. If I get the black screen I found that I can disconnect and then try to reconnect immediately (without waiting 20 seconds).
--
I have noticed the following items:
1) When I disconnect from a system, I can't reconnect to that system for about 19-20 seconds. This seems consistent. When I disconnect from one system, I can connect to a different system immediately, so it appears to be on the remote end (winvnc.exe).
2) When the remote PC has multiple screens, it seems that I always have to click the "Show Full Desktop/Switch Monitor" button two times for it to work. Once it works I can click once and it will switch between both/one monitor view.
3) The new "Save position" feature is great. I am not certain it is fully compatible when the "Viewer size/pos Auto" and/or "Scale server to window" options are in use. I have one system that won't save the position and displays a 1024x768 single monitor as a wide screen, the icons are stretched. If I turn off Viewer Size Auto" and turn off "Scale server to window" and move the edge of the window, it snaps to the correct shape and saves correctly when close/open is repeated. If I turn off the "Save Position", it opens/closes/opens to the correct size repeatedly.
4) When I use the switch /loadinf="path\ultravncx32.ini, sometimes it does not honor the path line (path=C:\Program Files\UltraVnc) and instead installs to the default path of C:\Program Files\uvnc bvba\UltraVnc.
I hope the feedback helps some.
ddbivens
20
20
 
Posts: 50
Joined: 2015-12-26 14:53
Location: Tellico Plains, TN 37385 USA

Re: 1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2016-01-23 10:11

1) Reconnect, i guess the timout comes from the new rdpmode setting. It allow to connect to console and rdp sessions.
If this is on, on disconnect we need to reset back to select mode, this take time. It can be disabled by setting rdpmode=0
ultravnc.ini
[admin]
rdpmode=0

2)First time you need to click 2x. We know, but didn't found a solution that don't beaks the 3 states when using the mirror driver
( prim/sec/both)

3)It's not compatible.
we save x,y,w,h and reuse on start.
Other parameters (scaling auto size) also modify x,y,w,h
want save: is options.vnc writable for that user, positions are saved in this file

4)I need to check the inno setup manpages,
default install path is " C:\Program Files\uvnc bvba\UltraVnc" unless uvnc was prvious installed, then he use the old path.

Run installer with /SAVEINF="filename" to get options.

Code: Select all
[Setup]
Lang=en
Dir=C:\Program Files\uvnc bvba\UltraVNC
Group=UltraVNC
NoIcons=0
SetupType=custom
Components=ultravnc_server,ultravnc_repeater
Tasks=

Looks like Dir need to be used.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5442
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: 1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby Skyfighter » 2016-01-23 12:46

Rudi De Vos wrote:1) Reconnect, i guess the timout comes from the new rdpmode setting. It allow to connect to console and rdp sessions.
If this is on, on disconnect we need to reset back to select mode, this take time. It can be disabled by setting rdpmode=0
ultravnc.ini
[admin]
rdpmode=0

For me that solved the reconnect-problem after disconnecting. Do you plan adding that option/setting to uvnc_settings.exe?
Skyfighter
20
20
 
Posts: 57
Joined: 2014-12-31 22:10

Re: 1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby Skyfighter » 2016-01-23 14:07

ddbivens wrote:3) The new "Save position" feature is great. I am not certain it is fully compatible when the "Viewer size/pos Auto" and/or "Scale server to window" options are in use.

Rudi De Vos wrote:3)It's not compatible.
we save x,y,w,h and reuse on start.
Other parameters (scaling auto size) also modify x,y,w,h
want save: is options.vnc writable for that user, positions are saved in this file

Although you say it's not compatible: while testing I've found only one issue using these viewer settings:
Code: Select all
SavePos=1
AutoScaling=1
Scaling=0
scale_num=1
scale_den=1
directx=0

That works as expected (viewer position will be saved on close and restored on open)...but if a viewer connect fails (error message on connect, viewer doesn't show remote screen) it overwrites the saved viewer position in options.vnc with wrong x,y,w,h values.

That always happens if the server uses rdpmode=1 and the viewer tries to connect too fast after a previous disconnect (ddbivens mentioned 19-20 seconds in his/her No1 in which a viewer connection fails). I've seen these viewer message on connect -> afterwards the x,y,w,h values in options.vnc are wrong (e.g. it always seems to set w=1440 with these messages!?):
Code: Select all
VncViewer Message Box
Server closed connection
-The server running as application

VncViewer Message Box
Connection failed - Error reading Protocol Version
Possible causes:
- You've forgotten to select a DSMPlugin and the Server uses a DSMPlugin
- Viewer and Server are not compatible (they use different RFB protocols)
- Bad connection


I am not sure if this SavePos + AutoScaling issue could be solved in a sensible way, but I think using SavePos=1 the x,y,w,h values shouldn't be saved in case the connection fails [at the beginning (before the viewer even shows the remote screen)]. ....perhaps x,y,w,h should only be saved in options.vnc if the connection is "normally" closed/terminated (e.g. ALT+F4 / x-button of the viewer window / close-connection-button of viewer toolbar / viewer menu -> close)?
Skyfighter
20
20
 
Posts: 57
Joined: 2014-12-31 22:10

Re: 1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2016-01-23 18:49

rdpmode gui entry added a few hours ago, new files are already online
(winvnc.exe and uvnc_setttings.exe)

Failed connection should not save , correct
Let's see if i can fast fix this before annoucing release on webpages.

server options manpages, possible full english error :) i'm not a doc writer.
Word doc is also available, feel free to correct or add things.
http://www.uvnc.eu/download/1210/server_options.docx
http://www.uvnc.eu/download/1210/server_options.pdf

update: save position only when close is pressed by user.
vncviewer exe updated in installer and zip
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5442
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: 1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby Skyfighter » 2016-01-24 11:17

Thanks for the two enhancements, Rudi! :thumbs:
(SavePos tested -> couldn't reproduce the messed-up x,y,w,h values after error-message anymore.)

Skyfighter wrote:
Rudi De Vos wrote:1) Reconnect, i guess the timout comes from the new rdpmode setting. It allow to connect to console and rdp sessions.
If this is on, on disconnect we need to reset back to select mode, this take time. It can be disabled by setting rdpmode=0
ultravnc.ini
[admin]
rdpmode=0

For me that solved the reconnect-problem after disconnecting. Do you plan adding that option/setting to uvnc_settings.exe?

Sorry to bring it up again...after doing further tests: I'm not sure anymore if rdpmode=0 really improves/reduces the "dead-time-window" after disconnecting a vnc session. Here are my findings with rdpmode=0 (server running @Win8.1x64Pro):
1) vnc session is connected -> log off windows user: there are ~10 secondes from viewer-disconnect until viewer is automatically reconnected (looks really good to me!)
2) vnc session is connected, but no windows user logged in @ remote machine -> logging in a windows user: there's no viewer-disconnect (wow! :thumbs: )
3) vnc session is connected, remote machine shows desktop -> close vnc viewer...and restart viewer to reconnect to server: most of the time i get error messages of the viewer (the ones i posted above for the savepos-issue) and need at least two, most of the time three starts of the viewer. Then I'm reconnected after 20-40seconds (most of the time: ~35s). Looking at the remote machine: after viewer disconnect the winvnc.exe will be closed (takes ~1-5seconds?), then it is restarted...but it takes still time (~10-15 seconds?) until the viewer is able to establish a new connection. Did previous UltraVNC versions act the same way (closing winvnc.exe after viewer disconnect)?
Skyfighter
20
20
 
Posts: 57
Joined: 2014-12-31 22:10

Re: 1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2016-01-24 12:30

Did previous UltraVNC versions act the same way (closing winvnc.exe after viewer disconnect)?
No, now it should be like this
rdpmode on -> closing winvnc.exe...... in rdpmode winvnc is restarted in rdp select mode.
rdpmode off -> winvnc.exe stay active ( like previous version)

If this is not the case, then it looks like the rdpmode value is not pushed.
causing this effect
+the winvnc app doesn't know the change -> winvnc close
+The service also read the value on start -> if winvnc is restarted in the same session, there is some timeout.

Looks like a last change is needed "push the rdpmode value". For the running app this should be easy, but to make
a service aware that some app change a value is harder.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5442
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: 1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby Skyfighter » 2016-01-24 12:51

Rudi De Vos wrote:rdpmode off -> winvnc.exe stay active ( like previous version)

That is definitely not the case. My tests where done after a) stop service & all winvnc.exe processes b) install the newest addons and setup, c) stop service & all winvnc.exe processes, d) renaming/removing old ultravnc.ini, e) starting uvnc_settings.exe as admin and set it up, f) verify setting rdpmode=0 in newly created ultravnc.ini, g) reboot the machine...start testing.
After your post I verified it once more: rdpmode=0 OK, connect viewer, write down process ids, disconnect, wait, reconnect viewer -> one process id is different. And I saw the ultravnc trayicon disappearing after disconnect...and coming back after a few seconds. (according to sysinternals process explorer the winvnc.exe instance with commandline "-service_run" is restarted)

Rudi De Vos wrote:If this is not the case, then it looks like the rdpmode value is not pushed.
causing this effect
+the winvnc app doesn't know the change -> winvnc close
+The service also read the value on start -> if winvnc is restarted in the same session, there is some timeout.

Looks like a last change is needed "push the rdpmode value". For the running app this should be easy, but to make
a service aware that some app change a value is harder.

Now you speak of changing the rdpmode-setting while the service is running? (If I got it right: That can't be the reason because of my reboot after applying rdpmode=0!?)

Thank you very much Rudi!!
Skyfighter
20
20
 
Posts: 57
Joined: 2014-12-31 22:10

Re: 1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2016-01-24 18:15

looks like some rdpmode stuff wasn't correct. after loading the var i used another set to on.

New test bins ( winvnc.exe, build for Visa> x86/x64)

http://www.uvnc.eu/download/1210/winvnc_test2401.zip
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5442
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: 1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby Skyfighter » 2016-01-24 18:52

Tried to replace the winvnc.exe in my install folder: after (re)starting the uvnc_service I can't connect (Viewer: "Failed to connect to server"). Looking at the processes there is only one "winvnc.exe -service" running (consuming 25% cpu right from its start). x86 and x64 show the same behaviour...any idea what's going wrong?

EDIT: I'm testing using x64 (Windows 8.1 Pro x64)

EDIT2: Next test: tried to start the test-winvnc.exe in the install folder by double-click ("start as application"?). This way I can connect with a viewer but all inputs (mouse and keyboard) are ignored...I see screen updates but can't do anything.
Removed the test-winvnc.exe from install folder and switched back to previos winvnc.exe (from installer): all back to normal.
Skyfighter
20
20
 
Posts: 57
Joined: 2014-12-31 22:10

Re: 1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby Nick_od » 2016-01-26 06:25

Rudi De Vos wrote:it need to be an existing process, possible eshell is just some fake shell to start with a blank screen.

Open taskmgr and see all processes running in session(1)

If you have a rdp server, you could check with taskmgr what processes are running in a session(2) before you logon.

You could try
winlogon.exe, this always exist, but user is SYSTEM. vnc could get more permissions then requied.
dwm.exe, does it already exist before logon?


hi
I installed the setup and testing:
Code: Select all
[admin]
alternate_shell=dwm.exe


UltraVNC server 1.2.1.0 + 2.4.0.0 SecureVNCPlugin64.dsm
Windows 10 x64 (explorer.exe OFF)

last (Repeater.exe)


Test 10 servers UltraVNC
After rebooting all servers connected to Repeater all OK
After 5 hours work. Four servers have been lost and were not connected to Repeater
and does not reconnect to Repeater
After 12 hours work. Ten servers have been lost and were not connected to Repeater
and does not reconnect to Repeater

something is not working properly.
Nick_od
40
40
 
Posts: 82
Joined: 2013-09-04 06:42

Re: 1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby ddbivens » 2016-01-26 11:58

[Setup]
Lang=en
Dir=C:\Program Files\uvnc bvba\UltraVNC
Group=UltraVNC
NoIcons=0
SetupType=custom
Components=ultravnc_server,ultravnc_repeater
Tasks=


Thanks for the information. I am using this in my install process now. I did change it a little and I removed the ",ultravnc_repeater" portion for our normal clients. However, it seems like the repeater is still installed and the shortcut is created in the 'start' button list. I did not know if that is by design...
ddbivens
20
20
 
Posts: 50
Joined: 2015-12-26 14:53
Location: Tellico Plains, TN 37385 USA

Re: 1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2016-01-26 13:11

try to run the setup with
/SAVEINF="filename"
And set all required setting you want with the inno setup GUI.
Then check what's saved in the "filename", using this as input you clone the manual install options.

If this doesn't work then i will make an installer update, just give me a few days. Release was placed online yesterday
and want to wait a few days to see if no other issue's popup.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5442
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: 1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby Kirck » 2016-01-27 12:57

Thanks Rudi, can you provide us an url to download the bin addons in zip?

Thanks
Kirck
20
20
 
Posts: 53
Joined: 2005-06-16 08:41

Re: 1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2016-01-27 21:13

There are only addons installers, i don't have a zip. To complex for a mirror driver todo it manual.

What addons files should be in the zip.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5442
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: 1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby browncoat » 2016-01-28 07:38

Hello,

Previous UltraVNC version were released with MSI installer. Are there plans to release MSI installer for this version? If yes, then when it might be available?

Thank you very much.
browncoat
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2016-01-28 07:25

Re: 1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby Kirck » 2016-01-28 10:14

Rudi De Vos wrote:There are only addons installers, i don't have a zip. To complex for a mirror driver todo it manual.

What addons files should be in the zip.

I modified your inno scripts to create two single installers, one for ultravnc_x86_x64 and another one for addons_x86_x64
If you want I can send you the script with spanish language added.

I think I found a mistake in inno script with number version assign for Windows 8, the correct value is 6.2 instead 6.02

Thanks
Kirck
20
20
 
Posts: 53
Joined: 2005-06-16 08:41

Re: 1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2016-01-28 11:04

We use the 2 installers to avoid GPL discussions.
Some people claim that all software in a single installer need to be GPL, while outher say you can mix them.

Internal you can make a single installer and replace the dummy ultravnc.ini with your presets.

I will verify the 6.02 and 6.2..... isn't that the same ?
I remember that certain inno setup versions used 6.02 via the gui.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5442
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: 1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby Kirck » 2016-01-28 13:57

I still use two installers one for ultravnc and one for addons. but I use the same installer for both architecture: x86 and x64

Example:
UltraVNC_1.2.0.9_X86X64_Setup.exe
UltraVNC_1.2.0.9_X86X64_Addons.exe

Thanks
Kirck
20
20
 
Posts: 53
Joined: 2005-06-16 08:41

Re: 1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby jjurkus » 2016-01-28 20:54

browncoat wrote:Previous UltraVNC version were released with MSI installer. Are there plans to release MSI installer for this version? If yes, then when it might be available?


Why not simply use the innosetup installers? The customisation is easier/quicker than with a MSI installer. (If you can only use an MSI installer you need a better tool).

Anyway, thanks for this release, the previous version (1.2.0.9) was broken on XP x64.
User avatar
jjurkus
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2016-01-28 20:39

Re: 1.2.1.0 release installers online

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2016-01-28 22:25

working on the msi installers, not ready.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5442
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Next

Return to 1.2.1.x

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest