Release 1.2.2.1

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2018-08-08 18:37

inno setup changes

    UltraVNC Viewer
    UltraVNC Server
    UltraVNC Launcher
    UltraVNC Viewer (Listen Mode)
    UltraVNC Viewer (Listen Mode Encrypt)
    UltraVNC Server Settings
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5790
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby Chrispy » 2018-08-08 19:37

Nice!

Regression testing 3 monitors win 10 same graphic card, 3 x 1920x1080, w/wo ddengine.

Everything OK
User avatar
Chrispy
40
40
 
Posts: 89
Joined: 2018-07-11 09:06

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby SkyBeam » 2018-08-09 18:35

I did a couple of regression tests too and found no critical additional issues except the ones already mentioned.

One thing I noticed:
Even when ddengine is obviously used (tray icon says "ddengine" and memory-leak on my ATi driver is there) the "Check the Mirror Driver" button in UltraVNC settings keeps telling me:

driver info: required version 1.00.22 (title bar)
Driver not found: Perhaps you need to reboot after install

But this is likely just a very minor issue and I recommend to prepare the official release.
Thanks as well for renaming the edit settings shortcut!
SkyBeam
8
8
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 2012-12-31 11:01

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby Chrispy » 2018-08-09 19:01

Actually, I believe, that button should not be shown for ddengine. Yup, just checked, on win 10, no button. What is your OS?
User avatar
Chrispy
40
40
 
Posts: 89
Joined: 2018-07-11 09:06

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby SkyBeam » 2018-08-09 19:50

Windows 10.

The button is not there if you right-click the UltraVNC icon in tray and select properties. But the button is there if you launch UltraVNC Settings from the shortcut ;).
SkyBeam
8
8
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 2012-12-31 11:01

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby Chrispy » 2018-08-09 22:43

SkyBeam wrote:"Check the Mirror Driver" visible

ok, fixed in r1154, but I fear this dialog is very out-of-date.
User avatar
Chrispy
40
40
 
Posts: 89
Joined: 2018-07-11 09:06

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2018-08-10 07:16

Added 1.2.2.2 to downloads via website and remove 1.2.2.1 ( to many bugs)
They reffer to the same files as the 1.2.2.2 forum page.

Latest build wil also be the download on the webpage until we move the number up.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5790
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby SkyBeam » 2018-08-10 16:49

I just noticed another small glitch regarding the EXE intaller.
I just noticed that in case only the UVNC Viewer is installed it is missing the encryption plugin. But it's installed along with the server component. Which makes little sense as the encryption plugin is optional to be enabled but it's required on server and client side as well. So I think the encryption plugin should be installed also in case only the viewer is deployed.
SkyBeam
8
8
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 2012-12-31 11:01

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby Skyfighter » 2018-08-11 07:08

I have a question regarding "UltraVNC_1_2_22_X86_Setup.exe": There are two different vncviewer.exe in it
1) SHA-1 5a00836f56cdd7ad7f1ee9b3674caad8a320d0f1 -> this one is the x86 viewer which is included in UltraVnc_1_2_22_ALL.zip, ok
2) SHA-1 443983be04e5437fcddc417d346901dba4c1dbb5 -> ??? seems to be v1.2.2.0 ??? (it is not the win2k version included in Ultravnc_w2k_1215.zip)

Edit: According to the Inno-Install-Script: 2) is installed from WinXP to Win7 and 1) from Win8 onwards. (?)
Skyfighter
40
40
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 2014-12-31 22:10

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2018-08-11 11:10

Correct, extra viewer should not be there.
Also added "UltraVNC_Viewer" as component for the plugins, so the plugins get installed when you only select the viewer.

SkyBeam, do you know a littel about inno setup...
I'm trying to find a way to set the password via the commandline

In the installer there is a tool
setpasswd.exe
*set random password when no password exist
*can be use setpasswd.exe fullpasswd [viewonlypasswd] as enrcypted password in the ini file.

Current
Code: Select all
[Run]
Filename: "{app}\setpasswd.exe"; Flags: runhidden; Components: UltraVNC_Server UltraVNC_Server_S

If we could use something like
Code: Select all
Filename: "{app}\setpasswd.exe"; Parameters: SOME_VALUE_VIA_INSTALLER_COMMANDLINE ; Flags: runhidden; Components: UltraVNC_Server UltraVNC_Server_S
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5790
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby Chrispy » 2018-08-11 11:39

Skyfighter wrote:2) SHA-1 443983be04e5437fcddc417d346901dba4c1dbb5 -> ??? seems to be v1.2.2.0 ??? (it is not the win2k version included in Ultravnc_w2k_1215.zip)


Rudi, I don't understand, why is number 2 not the same version as number 1, just x86?

wouldn't it be:
Same viewer and server for all versions of windows. then mirror for <= win7 and ddengine for >= win 8.
User avatar
Chrispy
40
40
 
Posts: 89
Joined: 2018-07-11 09:06

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby Skyfighter » 2018-08-11 13:23

@Chrispy
As far as I know your assumption (same viewer for all os versions) is correct...and Rudi got it:
Rudi De Vos wrote:Correct, extra viewer should not be there.
Skyfighter
40
40
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 2014-12-31 22:10

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2018-08-11 14:00

In de old setup we builded vnc with VS2010/VS2015 compilers, because VS2010 doesn't support all new WIN10 stuff and VS2015 doesn't proper support XP.

Now we only build the ddengine.dll with VS2015 this is loaded when the OS required it.

single exe for server and viewer that run on all OS's (XP-WIN10)
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5790
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby Chrispy » 2018-08-11 15:07

ok, thing that thru me off was the comment about 1.2.2.0.
User avatar
Chrispy
40
40
 
Posts: 89
Joined: 2018-07-11 09:06

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2018-08-11 18:57

added extra inno commanline
setup... /setpasswd=mypasswd
removed unwanted old vncviewer.exe

files updated
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5790
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby SkyBeam » 2018-08-12 01:49

Rudi De Vos wrote:SkyBeam, do you know a littel about inno setup...


Unfortunately not without reading the docs. I mainly used MSI and NSIS up to now. But as it looks you solved the problem already and a new silent argument is added.
Btw. the silent installation is a very crucial feature, however the setpasswd and other things could also be done as a post-install action (at least if you use deployment like WPKG) but specifying it directly at installation level is of course better.
SkyBeam
8
8
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 2012-12-31 11:01

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2018-08-12 12:54

ddengine bug:

cursor: let server handle cursor and ddengine:
right screen position, cursor clipped by screen edge corrupt image

Fix and online files updated
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5790
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby cyberstream » 2018-08-13 15:06

SkyBeam wrote:Nowadays nobody uses screensavers any more anyway and I haven't see any black-screen screensavers since years.


I'm going to have to respectfully disagree with you there. I work in a healthcare environment and auto-locking black screensavers are common on hundreds of systems.

Rudi, another issue with the latest 1.2.2.2 on a Windows 8.1 system is that the mouse cursor is gone. There is only a small dot. It's not a configuration file issue, because if I revert to 1.2.1.6, the mouse cursor comes back and works normally. Any ideas on what the issue could be?
cyberstream
8
8
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2018-06-08 19:27

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2018-08-13 15:13

The mouse can be configured in different ways.

What are you using for a capturing method ( ddengine, blit: server option)
What's the viewer option to send the cursor ( let server deal or local handling: viewer option)

Even when to config is the same, i need to know the setting to be able to repeat it.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5790
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby cyberstream » 2018-08-13 17:06

Rudi De Vos wrote:The mouse can be configured in different ways.

What are you using for a capturing method ( ddengine, blit: server option)
What's the viewer option to send the cursor ( let server deal or local handling: viewer option)

Even when to config is the same, i need to know the setting to be able to repeat it.


1.2.1.6 options: poll full screen (ultra fast), system hookdll, low accuracy (turbo speed), max cpu 40
1.2.2.2 options: poll full screen (ultra fast), legacy capture auto, system hookdll, desktop duplication

Let me know if you need more information or if you'd like me to test any specific settings. Thanks!
cyberstream
8
8
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2018-06-08 19:27

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby cyberstream » 2018-08-13 17:28

FYI, on the same issue, I also tried to change the legacy capture bubble to the other two options, but it always resets back to 'Auto' no matter what I choose.

Also, I tried with desktop duplication on and off (and rebooted in between each test) and neither option brought the mouse cursor back.
cyberstream
8
8
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2018-06-08 19:27

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2018-08-13 18:46

By selected all methods simultanious it's hard to tell what you are using
Lecacy is how it's done without ddengine ( or when ddengine fail to start)
Try icon tell the used metthod

ddengine
Image
Image
vnchook
Image
Image

winvnc.exe need to restart after switching capture settings, no reboot needed

viewer option tell how the cursor is send
*The server write it to the screen (let remote...)or the server just send position and shape(track local)

Image
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5790
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby cyberstream » 2018-08-13 19:53

Rudi De Vos wrote:By selected all methods simultanious it's hard to tell what you are using
Lecacy is how it's done without ddengine ( or when ddengine fail to start)
Try icon tell the used metthod

winvnc.exe need to restart after switching capture settings, no reboot needed

viewer option tell how the cursor is send
*The server write it to the screen (let remote...)or the server just send position and shape(track local)

Image


It's currently using ddengine. I have tried all three mouse options in the viewer and none of them give me a cursor. When I revert to the old server version, I do not have this problem.
cyberstream
8
8
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2018-06-08 19:27

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2018-08-13 21:17

I just uploaded a win8 pro for testing.
And installed latest 1222 from download.
I have a mouse in all cases...
tested it out of the box, didn't set any option except for the password.

Anyone else issue with win8 ?
Here we go again... trying to find the special VNC/OS setting why it doesn't work. :)

A fast test:
Just copy winvnc.exe from the install folder on the desktop.. No extra dll's...just winvnc.exe
Run it from desktop.
This will reate a new ultravnc.ini on desktop ( set server passwd)
Make a viewer connection, this is slower but vnc is full functional and mouse and updates should be visible.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5790
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby SkyBeam » 2018-08-14 12:56

cyberstream wrote:I'm going to have to respectfully disagree with you there. I work in a healthcare environment and auto-locking black screensavers are common on hundreds of systems.


Fair enough. Even if I likely won't ever understand why someone would do such stupid thing as displaying a black screen on LCD monitors while keeping the backlight on. It does not lower power consumption at all and does not provide any protection from backlight wear. So it's entirely useless.

I personally think even in this case a bad driver could be detected as usually when the user connects (except in view only mode) he's going to move the mouse. And if there is no screen update (still all black) after mouse movements were initiated, then for sure the driver is bad and a fallback could be done. Perhaps a simple counter would do it, after certain seconds with mouse activities but no screen updates it's clear the ddengine does not correctly provide updates.
SkyBeam
8
8
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 2012-12-31 11:01

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby Skyfighter » 2018-08-17 13:57

I've installed the latest Version (v1.2.2.2 - Build: Aug 15 2018 22:34:46 - ?r1155?) on a Win8.1x64 and a Win10x64 PC and afterwards the tooltip of the winvnc.exe claims to use vnchook: "WinVNC - <IP> - <PCNAME> - service - vnchook"
...but:
1) "System HookDll" is disabled (only DesktopDuplication and LowAccuracy are enabled - all other checkboxes on the server property page are unchecked)
2) according to the speed it uses ddengine
...and after a few reconnects the tooltip started to show "ddengine". Never saw such a "delay" in the tootip details before. Is it intended or a new bug?

Edit: Had a look at it once more and found out that after connecting the tooltip at first shows "vnchook" and a few seconds later the tooltip shows "ddengine" - as long as you connect to PC with a logged-in user. If you connect to a machine with currently no user logged-in, login a user and then check the tooltip it always claims to use "vnchook" (even minutes after starting the vnc session). The speed is always good; it definately uses the ddengine - only the tooltip details are occasionally wrong.
Skyfighter
40
40
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 2014-12-31 22:10

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2018-08-17 14:21

I also noticed that the tooltip is not accurate.

Ddengine only works on the default desktop. That could explain the difference with a logged or non logged user.

When ddengine is selected but fail or driver is detected as virtualbox grpahic, ddengine is disabled.
One of the changes is that vnchook+blit auto activate on this failure, to have at least someting faster then 1 FPS

Looks like the tooltip get confused when overwriting settings
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5790
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby Chrispy » 2018-08-17 20:51

I was thinking about the detection if ddengine is working correctly with the graphic cards or not (black screens).

you could check periodically if ddenging is sending black screens, if so then check it against a regular screen capture, if the regular screen capture has colors then there is something wrong withh ddengine and it should be disabled, if both ddengine and regulare screen capture are black, then do nothing.

For testing black you could do a random sampling for speed.
User avatar
Chrispy
40
40
 
Posts: 89
Joined: 2018-07-11 09:06

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby SkyBeam » 2018-08-19 08:55

Chrispy wrote:you could check periodically if ddenging is sending black screens, if so then check it against a regular screen capture, if the regular screen capture has colors then there is something wrong withh ddengine and it should be disabled, if both ddengine and regulare screen capture are black, then do nothing.


I like this and support this proposal. It would prevent having to maintain a blacklist within UVNC which will never be complete and accurate.
SkyBeam
8
8
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 2012-12-31 11:01

Re: Release 1.2.2.1

Postby cyberstream » 2018-08-19 23:13

Rudi De Vos wrote:I just uploaded a win8 pro for testing.
And installed latest 1222 from download.
I have a mouse in all cases...
tested it out of the box, didn't set any option except for the password.

Anyone else issue with win8 ?
Here we go again... trying to find the special VNC/OS setting why it doesn't work. :)

A fast test:
Just copy winvnc.exe from the install folder on the desktop.. No extra dll's...just winvnc.exe
Run it from desktop.
This will reate a new ultravnc.ini on desktop ( set server passwd)
Make a viewer connection, this is slower but vnc is full functional and mouse and updates should be visible.


Here are the results of my testing:

I copied winvnc.exe to the desktop and made a dummy ultravnc.ini on the desktop with just the password line. When connecting to the server, the viewer had a mouse cursor.

I closed the desktop copy in application mode and restarted the 'uvnc_service' service and tried connecting again. The mouse cursor was still there. This made no sense to me.

Long story short, the computer in question is a server computer that normally does not have a keyboard, mouse, or monitor attached to it. When there is no mouse attached, there is no cursor. If I plug in a USB mouse and reconnect, I have a cursor.

With 1.2.2.2, a mouse has to be plugged in for there to be a mouse cursor for the viewer.
With 1.2.1.6 and older, a cursor was still present for the viewer regardless of the computer having a mouse physically attached to it or not.

Hope this helps!
cyberstream
8
8
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2018-06-08 19:27

PreviousNext

Return to 1.2.2.x

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest