UltraVNC stopped working altogether!

UltraVNC stopped working altogether!

Postby flexy123 » 2018-11-05 03:35

I just installed 1.2.2.2 on my two machines.

One is Win 10 x64 -1809 (client), and the remote machine is Win10 x64 - 1804 (basically last official updates).

I installed 1.2.2.2 multiple times, with the setup.exe, and then for testing also with the .MSI

What happens, I can connect, but I only get the remote screen and cannot interact with it at all, no mouse, no keypresses, nothing.
(On both machines I have IPV4 and IPV6. No idea what is going on, but there was also an issue with MS Edge on 1809 so I had to install IPV6 to get it to work, since MS did some changes that certain things now require IPV6).

On the server, when I go there manually, I see the client IP listed, but as said I can't do anything via the client machine.

Likewise, when I go to server admin properties, everything is reset/clear. (Eg. where you specify what pulling method, and systemhook dll etc.) I don't remember what the default settings for Win10 were, I remember "full screen pulling" was active before, but not sure about the other settings.

Unfortunately, I installed 1.2.22 without checking whether the other version I had on there (I think 1.2.21) worked, that is after I updated my client machine to Windows 1809.

** Edit: Ok, I now tested from my Win7 machine, same thing. So it has nothing to do with Win10 1809.

*** EDIT / UPDATE ***

For some inexplicable reason "disable viewer inputs" was checked. No idea why. Works with 1.21 now, reinstalling .22, so I guess this is was the problem
flexy123
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-04-13 00:53

Re: UltraVNC stopped working altogether!

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2018-11-05 09:44

For the future, to fast test something.

Just copy the winvnc.exe to a temp folder and run it from that folder.
When ultravnv.ini doesn't exist it create a new default ( you need to enter a passwd again)
If that's work, copy this ini file to the install folder.

The ini files are portable.
You can also copy a ini file from a working system
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5790
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: UltraVNC stopped working altogether!

Postby flexy123 » 2018-11-05 20:06

Could you post a default ini/settings for Win10 if there is such thing? I mean it works now, but still not 100% about all the options., eg. whether systemhook.dll is checked under Win10 or not. Ty!
flexy123
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-04-13 00:53

Re: UltraVNC stopped working altogether!

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2018-11-06 08:37

If no ini exist, winvnc.exe create a default.

If you copy winvnc.exe to a temp folder and run winvnc.exe you find a default in this folder.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5790
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21


Return to 1.2.2.x

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest