Version 1.2.2.0

Re: Version 1.2.2.0

Postby AnotherUVNCuser » 2018-04-07 13:05

adriannla wrote:Rudi,

For me, it was obvious the v1.2.1.7 disconnect issue is viewer side, as I've been using it for a short while to connect to various clients on many different OS and several different vnc_server versions. As long as the viewer remained on top and had focus, there was usually no disconnect. Minimizing or even alt-tabbing to another app would result in the viewer disconnecting, at intervals anywhere from ~30secs to a couple minutes.

I've only just begun using the 1.2.2 viewer linked above, but so far have not experienced the issue.

P.S. you are aware of the google reCaptcha upgrade? New users signing up are getting a warning that the currently used captcha expires at eom.

And you use the 1.2.2.0 viewer with the same server version?
AnotherUVNCuser
20
20
 
Posts: 53
Joined: 2017-09-13 00:40

Re: Version 1.2.2.0

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2018-04-08 21:19

vnchook.dll and ddengine.dll
No regsrv needed
vnc does the loading

They just need to be in the same folder as the winvnc.exe
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5737
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Version 1.2.2.0

Postby flexy123 » 2018-04-13 00:58

I tested the last official release on my two Win10 machines (which disconnected often and generally were very sluggish), I am now testing this LAN version, both on server and client. I am seeing problems when I am sending CTRL+AL-Del to host (results in black screen, as if UNVC disconnects). And sometimes when I am logging in to the other machine I get a black screen in the beginning but I can get it display right when I redraw the screen. Otherwise it works "ok".

I am looking forward to a stable version for Win10, this is really the only VNC viewer I use.
flexy123
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018-04-13 00:53

Re: Version 1.2.2.0

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2018-04-13 14:41

Thanks for the feedback...

Was the test with vnc running as service or .
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5737
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Version 1.2.2.0

Postby flexy123 » 2018-04-13 20:38

server is always running/installed as a service.

I just did a quick test again, sending Ctrl-Alt-Del, it immediately stops responding when the gray screen on the other machine comes up. The server itself is still running, since I can always re-connect (it asks for password), I just can't do anything as long as the screen is up on the other machine. Will have to manually log-in again.
flexy123
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018-04-13 00:53

Re: Version 1.2.2.0

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2018-04-15 15:33

should be solved now...some last change was the cause.

*inital black screen : fixed
*desktop change crash: fixed
*capturing use less cpu
*added serversite mouse supported ( the server draw the mouse as a bitmap), required for Linux

We are able to run 25 FPS 7700k 1920x120 HD video ultra2 encoder


better use this version test4, on some slow Linux viewer the initial black screen was still there

https://www.uvnc.eu/download/1220/ultravnc1221_3264.zip (latest test version)
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5737
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Version 1.2.2.0

Postby szymon.nowak » 2018-04-17 19:27

Rudi De Vos wrote:should be solved now...some last change was the cause.

*inital black screen : fixed
*desktop change crash: fixed
*capturing use less cpu
*added serversite mouse supported ( the server draw the mouse as a bitmap), required for Linux

We are able to run 25 FPS 7700k 1920x120 HD video ultra2 encoder


better use this version test4, on some slow Linux viewer the initial black screen was still there

https://www.uvnc.eu/download/1220/ultra ... _test4.zip


A tested on Windows 7 64bit / Windows 10 64bit 1709 - form me connection is stable also in ssh forwarded with compression. Can You compiled XP version ?
szymon.nowak
20
20
 
Posts: 47
Joined: 2011-12-09 22:21

Re: Version 1.2.2.0

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2018-04-17 21:32

Doesn't it run on XP ?

From 1.2.2.0 the same exe run on XP->Win10.
All specific win8>= code is in the seperated ddengine.dll and loaded after winvnc check the OS.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5737
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Version 1.2.2.0

Postby szymon.nowak » 2018-04-18 08:20

Rudi De Vos wrote:Doesn't it run on XP ?

From 1.2.2.0 the same exe run on XP->Win10.
All specific win8>= code is in the seperated ddengine.dll and loaded after winvnc check the OS.



Ok, I did not know about it, I will test it today. Is the vnchooks.dll file needed?

I have one more question for what the rdpmode option is for?
szymon.nowak
20
20
 
Posts: 47
Joined: 2011-12-09 22:21

Re: Version 1.2.2.0

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2018-04-18 14:02

The vnchook.dll is option, it give vnc hints about the screenchanges for <win8
Not needed with the ddengine

rdpmode.

vnc run as pc with rdp on
console
#rdpsession with user A
#rdpsession with user B

Normal, vnc clone the console.
With rdpmode on, you get a preconnect window that request if you want to connect to the console or
one of the active rdp sessions.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5737
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Version 1.2.2.0

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2018-04-18 18:45

Prerelease build
32/64
vncviewer/winvnc/ddengine/vnchook

https://www.uvnc.eu/download/1220/ultravnc1221_3264.zip (latest test version)
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5737
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Version 1.2.2.0

Postby szymon.nowak » 2018-04-18 20:05

Rudi De Vos wrote:Prerelease build
32/64
vncviewer/winvnc/ddengine/vnchook

http://www.uvnc.eu/download/1220/ultravnc1220_3264.zip


Win10 1709 viewer -> XP winvnc as app and as service OK
Win10 1709 viewer -> Win7 SP1 64bit winvnc as app and as service OK
Win10 1709 viewer -> Win8.1 64bit winvnc as app and as service OK
Win10 1709 viewer -> Win10 1709 64bit winvnc as app and as service OK
Win 7SP1 viewer -> Win1709 64bit winvnc as app and as service OK
Tigervnc viewer -> Win1709 64bit winvnc as app and as service OK


There is a force close option in the file transfer - it kills the session completely - is it supposed to be?
szymon.nowak
20
20
 
Posts: 47
Joined: 2011-12-09 22:21

Re: Version 1.2.2.0

Postby AnotherUVNCuser » 2018-04-19 03:30

szymon.nowak wrote:There is a force close option in the file transfer - it kills the session completely - is it supposed to be?
I don't think so, because for me it closes or crashes the viewer.
AnotherUVNCuser
20
20
 
Posts: 53
Joined: 2017-09-13 00:40

Re: Version 1.2.2.0

Postby adriannla » 2018-04-26 06:33

AnotherUVNCuser wrote:
adriannla wrote:I've only just begun using the 1.2.2 viewer linked above, but so far have not experienced the issue.

P.S. you are aware of the google reCaptcha upgrade? New users signing up are getting a warning that the currently used captcha expires at eom.

And you use the 1.2.2.0 viewer with the same server version?


Haven't changed any of the server's versions yet... most are running 1.0.9.6.2 (at least a couple at 1.0.2, and there might still be a 1.0.8something? though I might have got all those moved up to 1.0.9.6.2 as well)
adriannla
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018-03-29 14:09

Re: Version 1.2.2.0

Postby AnotherUVNCuser » 2018-04-29 14:44

adriannla wrote:Haven't changed any of the server's versions yet... most are running 1.0.9.6.2 (at least a couple at 1.0.2, and there might still be a 1.0.8something? though I might have got all those moved up to 1.0.9.6.2 as well)
hmm, ok. Thanks for the info :wink:

Rudi De Vos wrote:Prerelease build
32/64
vncviewer/winvnc/ddengine/vnchook

http://www.uvnc.eu/download/1220/ultravnc1220_3264.zip
Is ddengine (Desktop Duplication Engine, elsewhere mentioned as a lightweight graphics engine written in C++ and Direct3D)
required to use WinVNC (i.e., does WinVNC rely on it), or is it basically included to optionally add (a better) optimization for screen performance and network traffic/bandwidth?
AnotherUVNCuser
20
20
 
Posts: 53
Joined: 2017-09-13 00:40

Re: Version 1.2.2.0

Postby OldNESJunkie » 2018-04-30 17:01

AnotherUVNCuser wrote:
adriannla wrote:Haven't changed any of the server's versions yet... most are running 1.0.9.6.2 (at least a couple at 1.0.2, and there might still be a 1.0.8something? though I might have got all those moved up to 1.0.9.6.2 as well)
hmm, ok. Thanks for the info :wink:

Rudi De Vos wrote:Prerelease build
32/64
vncviewer/winvnc/ddengine/vnchook

http://www.uvnc.eu/download/1220/ultravnc1220_3264.zip
Is ddengine (Desktop Duplication Engine, elsewhere mentioned as a lightweight graphics engine written in C++ and Direct3D)
required to use WinVNC (i.e., does WinVNC rely on it), or is it basically included to optionally add (a better) optimization for screen performance and network traffic/bandwidth?

ddengine and vnchooks.dll are both optional. Neither one is required for the server to function, but it has better performance when using them.
OldNESJunkie
8
8
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2017-05-22 21:40

Re: Version 1.2.2.0

Postby Sainsuper » 2018-05-02 10:54

I'm testing this nwe version and i have seen this new config in properties
Image

what is the difference?
Sainsuper
40
40
 
Posts: 81
Joined: 2008-04-02 10:47

Re: Version 1.2.2.0

Postby MorrisonR » 2018-05-02 13:27

Anyone have any issues with 1.2.2.0 (happened as well with 1.2.1.7 but not 1.2.1.5) where if there is a background (like the ones built into windows 7) that the viewer will crash. I've tried multiple types of encoding/format/jpeg (tight) - Quality settings that none seem to help. I changed the colored to black and white and it will finally stop dropping. I have VNC on about 3000 devices and only PC's with backgrounds seem to be having this issue. Taking off the background option seems to stop it. Again, this also happened with 1.2.1.7. Using vncviewer 1.2.1.5 with 1.2.1.7/1.2.2.0 client still has the issue. Using any version of viewer but 1.2.1.5 client does not have the issue. Viewer is running off Windows Server 2012 R2.

Image

Client: Windows 7
Server: Windows Server 2012 R2
Plugin: SecureVNCPlugin

1.2.1.5: Worked
1.2.1.7: Not
1.2.2.0: Not
MorrisonR
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-05-01 20:48

Re: Version 1.2.2.0

Postby ddbivens » 2018-05-13 18:01

I have this problem over a slower VPN network at work when connecting to a remote site and when calling in from home through my DSL (when our ISP is throttling me to near dialup).
I get the best results using:
ZYWRLE 256 color.
and sometimes using:
TIGHT 256 color.
I hope this helps.
ddbivens
40
40
 
Posts: 76
Joined: 2015-12-26 14:53
Location: Tellico Plains, TN 37385 USA

Re: Version 1.2.2.0

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2018-05-14 10:23

I'm testing this new version and i have seen this new config in properties


Overwrite capture method for win7<=

auto: default
Pixel: use getpixel capture
Blit: use bitblit capture

Pixel can be faster on video cards with slow memcopy video->system ( old cards)
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5737
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Version 1.2.2.0

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2018-05-14 10:32

MorrisonR

Is it also on a slow network ?

That is works on 1215 and not on 1220 is already a good hint.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5737
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Version 1.2.2.0

Postby OldNESJunkie » 2018-05-14 12:31

I've been testing with 1.2.2.0 since the pre-release build and I have to say that, personally, I have had MUCH better performance with this version and no issues so far (knock on wood). Great work as usual Rudi 8)
OldNESJunkie
8
8
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2017-05-22 21:40

Re: Version 1.2.2.0

Postby MorrisonR » 2018-05-14 14:06

Some networks are slow, some are quick.

I had the issue on a 3mb down/1mb up while the other machine I have in my lab that also did it has 42mb down and 7mb up. So I deal with a wide range of speeds.
MorrisonR
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-05-01 20:48

Re: Version 1.2.2.0

Postby Skyfighter » 2018-05-16 09:48

I've tested the prerelease-build (dated 2018-04-18) on multiple Win10 1703 PCs and Laptops (server always running as a service) and for me it is much slower than v1.2.1.7; sometimes it is almost unusable. Not sure what's going wrong... Windows often don't show up (e.g. context menu of the start menu) or a don't go away (partial or complete, e.g. properties window of the winvnc.exe) --> only a manual screen refresh updates the viewer-screen to the actual remote screen (for this moment).
Normally I check the performance by clicking on the desktop and moving the mouse around (drawing the rectangle which is used to select multiple icons): at the beginning of a v1.2.2.0 session it is super fast but after a few seconds (e.g. after opening a explorer window) the rectangle is not even showing up anymore + the whole screen-updates don't happen anymore or are extremely sluggish.

I've tested with my normal encodings: Tight and u2; Server properties (as recommended): Only DesktopDuplication and LowAccuracy enabled, LegacyCapture=Auto. I've tried to enable "Poll Full Screen (UltraFast)" and that seems to help a little. All tests were done with SecureVNCPlugin64.dsm enabled (disabling doesn't change anything) on a Gigabit LAN.

The Tooltip of the uvnc Icon shows "... - service - schook" - is that correct? I'm almost sure v1.2.1.7 showed "w8hook", too. (Should the tooltip show something like "ddengine"?) My guess is that the desktopduplication does not work as intended but I have no idea what I could do to investigate that any further. (I've renamed ddengine.dll in winvnc.exe folder, restartet the service and couldn't find any difference in the following remote sessions!?)
EDIT: removed schook64.dll from the winvnc.exe folder and now the tooltip of the uvnc Icon shows "... - service - vnchook".

Output of test_ddengine.exe
Code: Select all
Initialize MonitorManager
Initialize OneDesktop
stopOneDesktop
StartOneDesktop
UpdateDesktop
UpdateDesktop
BLIT apdaper 0 monitor 0  left=0 top=0  right=1920 bottom=1080
UpdateDesktop
BLIT apdaper 0 monitor 0  left=157 top=370  right=1117 bottom=387
BLIT apdaper 0 monitor 0  left=157 top=387  right=1134 bottom=833
BLIT apdaper 0 monitor 0  left=157 top=833  right=1117 bottom=850
UpdateDesktop
BLIT apdaper 0 monitor 0  left=157 top=370  right=1117 bottom=387
BLIT apdaper 0 monitor 0  left=157 top=387  right=1134 bottom=833
BLIT apdaper 0 monitor 0  left=157 top=833  right=1117 bottom=850
UpdateDesktop
BLIT apdaper 0 monitor 0  left=157 top=370  right=1117 bottom=387
BLIT apdaper 0 monitor 0  left=157 top=387  right=1134 bottom=833
BLIT apdaper 0 monitor 0  left=157 top=833  right=1117 bottom=850
UpdateDesktop
BLIT apdaper 0 monitor 0  left=157 top=370  right=1117 bottom=387
BLIT apdaper 0 monitor 0  left=157 top=387  right=1134 bottom=833
BLIT apdaper 0 monitor 0  left=157 top=833  right=1117 bottom=850
UpdateDesktop
BLIT apdaper 0 monitor 0  left=157 top=370  right=1117 bottom=387
BLIT apdaper 0 monitor 0  left=157 top=387  right=1134 bottom=833
BLIT apdaper 0 monitor 0  left=157 top=833  right=1117 bottom=850
BLIT apdaper 0 monitor 0  left=0 top=1040  right=1920 bottom=1080
UpdateDesktop
BLIT apdaper 0 monitor 0  left=157 top=370  right=1117 bottom=387
BLIT apdaper 0 monitor 0  left=157 top=387  right=1134 bottom=833
BLIT apdaper 0 monitor 0  left=157 top=833  right=1117 bottom=850
UpdateDesktop
BLIT apdaper 0 monitor 0  left=157 top=370  right=1117 bottom=387
BLIT apdaper 0 monitor 0  left=157 top=387  right=1134 bottom=833
BLIT apdaper 0 monitor 0  left=157 top=833  right=1117 bottom=850
UpdateDesktop
BLIT apdaper 0 monitor 0  left=157 top=370  right=1117 bottom=387
BLIT apdaper 0 monitor 0  left=157 top=387  right=1134 bottom=833
BLIT apdaper 0 monitor 0  left=157 top=833  right=1117 bottom=850
stopOneDesktop
UpdateDesktop
BLIT apdaper 0 monitor 0  left=157 top=370  right=1117 bottom=387
BLIT apdaper 0 monitor 0  left=157 top=387  right=1134 bottom=833
BLIT apdaper 0 monitor 0  left=157 top=833  right=1117 bottom=850
stopOneDesktop
please enter 'e' to exit


Any idea what I could try?
Skyfighter
40
40
 
Posts: 80
Joined: 2014-12-31 22:10

Re: Version 1.2.2.0

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2018-05-16 20:03

you are correct, my mistake

Looking at the schook64 name
I forgot to rename the ddengine.dll in the 64 subfolder of the zip to ddengine64.dll... The 64 bit version search for this dll.

winvnc 64 looks for ddegine64.dll
winvnc32 looks for ddegine.dll

testing using the 32bit version gonna work
testing with the 64bit -> rename the the ddengine dll (322k), it's the correct dll but with the wrong name

Strange that you are the first to see it... many downloads and no complains :(
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5737
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Version 1.2.2.0

Postby szymon.nowak » 2018-05-16 21:35

Rudi De Vos wrote:Strange that you are the first to see it... many downloads and no complains :(


Most use the multiplatform version of 32 bit
szymon.nowak
20
20
 
Posts: 47
Joined: 2011-12-09 22:21

Re: Version 1.2.2.0

Postby Skyfighter » 2018-05-17 16:07

winvnc 64 looks for ddegine64.dll
testing with the 64bit -> rename the the ddengine dll (322k), it's the correct dll but with the wrong name

Ok... renamed the dll, restarted uvnc service and: wow, that's fast & fluid! :o :D :thumbs:

Thank you very much Rudi! Looks like like v1.2.2.0 will be an amazing release!
Skyfighter
40
40
 
Posts: 80
Joined: 2014-12-31 22:10

Re: Version 1.2.2.0

Postby Skyfighter » 2018-05-17 17:21

I think I found a little flaw: the cursor shapes aren't updated correctly. For example: trying to resize a window is not that easy; the cursor shape is changed only with a big delay, if any. It kind of lags behind because if the cursor shape changed (e.g. to "horizontal resize") it stays that way a very long time (although it should have returned to the normal cursor shape already). I see this behaviour with
- viewer & server (service) x64 @ Win10 1703 x64
- viewer setting "Track remote cursor locally" ---> "Let remote server deal with my mouse cursor" solves the problem (as a workaround)
(- server setting: "System HookDll" disabled or disabled doesn't matter; left it disabled...)
(- a screen refresh does not update/correct a wrong cursor shape)
(- encoding doesn't seem to matter; tested tight,u2, ZRLE)

If I connect to a v1.2.1.7-x64 server @ Win7-x64 (using v1.2.2.0-x64 viewer @ Win10-x64) the cursor shapes are updated as intended (viewer setting "Track remote cursor locally") and I can't reproduce the flaw. Seems to be on the server side?
Skyfighter
40
40
 
Posts: 80
Joined: 2014-12-31 22:10

Info Message - Server closed connection

Postby Chaka » 2018-05-19 16:26

I use VNC-Viewer v1.2.2.0 to connect to different UltraVNC-Servers (v1.2.x.x) over a (stable LTE) mobile connection. During a vnc sessions I get sometimes/often disconnected with the following Info Message:
Server closed connection
-Manual closed
-Network disconn

Is this regular behavior when using mobile connections or is it a bug?


Btw: @Skyfighter and @Rudi - Thanks for the ddengine64.dll hint ;-) The Screen looks great and feels fast by little data consumption, nice.
Chaka
8
8
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2014-04-11 18:01

Re: Version 1.2.2.0

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2018-05-20 21:12

MorrisonR was able to repeat it.

using clumsy ( bad network simulator)
-setting high Lag and throttle
-manual setting encoder zrle

manual setting u2 encoder works fine


Possible related to some slow network disconnects reports
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5737
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

PreviousNext

Return to 1.2.1.x

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron