How to disable password (or have a blank one)?

Here you will find help for frequently asked questions as well as for your specific question.

How to disable password (or have a blank one)?

Postby pdrolet » 2007-07-11 22:00

I can't disable the password or make it blank.

I know, I know... we should ALWAYS use a password, but I have a specific application where I need to be able to use JavaViewer and have a blank password.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

-Patrick
pdrolet
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2007-07-11 21:52

Re: How to disable password (or have a blank one)?

Postby redge » 2007-07-11 22:12

UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6817
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: How to disable password (or have a blank one)?

Postby pdrolet » 2007-07-16 20:54

I know about RealVNC, but I want UltraVNC (free, open source, better compression, file transfer and chat).
pdrolet
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2007-07-11 21:52

Re: How to disable password (or have a blank one)?

Postby mattice06082 » 2007-07-17 12:19

UltraVNC is based on RealVNC
mattice06082
Former moderator
Former moderator
 
Posts: 607
Joined: 2006-11-30 00:41
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: How to disable password (or have a blank one)?

Postby el_toro » 2007-07-31 13:06

on the orginal realvnc page is only the regkey "AuthRequired"=dword:00000000 set.

AuthRequired
By default, all WinVNC servers will not accept incoming connections unless the server has had its password field set to a non-null value. This restriction was placed to ensure that misconfigured servers would not open security loopholes without the user realising. If a server is only to be used on a secure LAN, however, it may be desirable to forego such checking and allow machines to have a null password. Setting this registry value to zero will disable null-password checking by WinVNC. Local machine-specific setting.

Is a Password key at HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\ORL\WinVNC3\Default needed?

At Real VNC 3.3.7 i had to set a blank password key. then it works.
But at Ultra VNC 102 i get the WinVNC Error

Warning: This Maschine has been preconfigured to allow unt-authticated connections. to be accepted and to prevent user from enabeling authentication.

What can i do to fix it? bthx
el_toro
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2007-07-31 06:31
Location: DE-Karlsruhe

Re: How to disable password (or have a blank one)?

Postby redge » 2007-07-31 16:37

AuthRequired
you need to add the key and set the value
then reboot

then set password, after the password is ignored.
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6817
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: How to disable password (or have a blank one)?

Postby el_toro » 2007-08-08 13:25

thx but that doesn´t work.

Password Auth is disabled but the Errormsg, at every Windows Startup exits always.

Warning: This Maschine has been preconfigured to allow unt-authticated connections. to be accepted and to prevent user from enabeling authentication.

;-(

Can i get this Warning Disabled or only removed with compiling my own uvnc?

One alternative could be to set a password an send it per batch parameter like.

"C:\Programm Files\ultra vnc\UltraVNC-Viewer-102\vncviewer.exe -password yourpassword"

(VNC viewer passwortdparameter)
el_toro
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2007-07-31 06:31
Location: DE-Karlsruhe

Re: How to disable password (or have a blank one)?

Postby YY » 2007-08-08 16:25

el_toro wrote:Password Auth is disabled but the Errormsg, at every Windows Startup exits always.

Warning: This Maschine has been preconfigured to allow unt-authticated connections. to be accepted and to prevent user from enabeling authentication.


This message is produced most likely due to the enable of "Forbid user to close down WinVNC"

Enable this option with an Null password will trigger this warning.
YY
200
200
 
Posts: 982
Joined: 2006-11-13 15:11

Re: How to disable password (or have a blank one)?

Postby el_toro » 2007-08-09 07:21

hi thx for help but doesn´t work i tried this days before.
el_toro
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2007-07-31 06:31
Location: DE-Karlsruhe

Re: How to disable password (or have a blank one)?

Postby YY » 2007-08-09 09:58

Oh! That's strange. :o

I also heard a case of using "AuthRequired" & checking "Disable client options in tray icon menu" option that produced the said message. Did you have this option checked? Or have the "Disable Tray Icon" checked?

But in my test, this is the ONLY condition (using the "AuthRequired=0" key and enable "Forbid user to close down WinVNC") that can produce the same error message you received.
YY
200
200
 
Posts: 982
Joined: 2006-11-13 15:11

Re: How to disable password (or have a blank one)?

Postby redge » 2007-08-09 16:34

restart windows
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6817
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: How to disable password (or have a blank one)?

Postby el_toro » 2007-08-21 07:48

thx redge but aber restart don´t work
el_toro
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2007-07-31 06:31
Location: DE-Karlsruhe

Re: How to disable password (or have a blank one)?

Postby ylmxlmclm » 2011-01-13 21:27

1. Go to the UltraVNC Directory
2. open ultravnc.ini
3. add the value "AuthRequired=0"
4. save
5. set a blank password in Ultra VNC's Admin Properties
ylmxlmclm
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2011-01-13 21:25


Return to General help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests